Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

131 Reg Cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,929 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Quick, everyone run out and buy a new car...
    Concern has been expressed about the number of older cars on Irish roads.

More than half of all cars on the road are now at least eight years old and are more likely to suffer mechanical problems

Road safety chiefs are reminding motorists to service and maintain their vehicles regularly.
    From here

The last line in that is about the only bit that makes sense. My 06 is hardly "old" and has been serviced at a dealer on-time from day 1 and is still going strong with over 230,000 km on the clock with nothing really having gone wrong that wouldn't be considered wear and tear with that sort of mileage or a fact of life with a modern diesel (DMF, injector recall etc)

Maybe the new 131 reg's aren't moving as quickly as they hoped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,268 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Just spotted my first one on the road 131-LK-XX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    I saw 131 D 88 on a BMW 3 series this morning. I was thinking why the hell would anyone pay a grand for 88. Then I noticed the driver was Chinese and I remembered from my time in Australia that the local Chinese population coveted certain lucky numbers. Maybe they should auction certain numbers rather than the flat 1,000 fee.

From Wikipedia:
    And hence why sales of the Alfa 164 failed miserably in Hong Kong, literally translated in Cantonese it meant Road to Death.
    The later versions incorporated an 8 in the name:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

recyclebin wrote: »
    Has JJ Kavanagh given up buying new buses with the number 1 reg?

I think he's only buying the first plate for counties that he operates that have a chance if winning the all ireland ie. Kilkenny, Tipperary. Or he's saving the extra cash, a grand in the hand is better than a grand in the exchequer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Actually scrap that last post. Seems JJ is saving his money this year

131TS1 is a Kia Sportage
    131KK1 is a Toyota Avensis
    131CW1 is a Toyota Avensis
    131KE1 is a Skoda Octavia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Saw my first one today, a Volvo S40(I think) in Wexford. Like last year they seem to be starting at 1 rather than 200 like they used s I dint know if paying the grand is still an option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,654 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Saw 131-OY-5 (base spec Golf :rolleyes: ) earlier, the plates just look odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I sold a car with 6328 on it years ago, owner paid €350 or so extra. Downside was he had to wait 5 months for 6327 to be registered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I sold a car with 6328 on it years ago, owner paid €350 or so extra. Downside was he had to wait 5 months for 6327 to be registered.

Not as sad as the people who pay to reserve 318 for their BMW.
    Look at me! I'm a contradiction of extravagance and frugality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

All this talk of paying to reserve numbers reminds me of my old man requesting a specific number back in 84. My mother owned UZG 33 and he got YZG 33. No extras, no charges, nothing. Our taxing masters obviously copped on. Which makes me wonder why I can't buy the reg DUBTONY or similar.

Surely there'd be people quite happy to spend a couple of grand to get a truly personalised reg. Even an annual fee could be introduced and a further charge to transfer the reg to a new car later on. I mean in these days of auster .... blah blah blah!

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭david....

i saw one today 131-c-46. :D

Will the new system work for two-letter county imports that start at 120,XXX ?

e.g. 131-KE-120000 is a lot of digits to fit on a plate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Will the new system work for two-letter county imports that start at 120,XXX ?

e.g. 131-KE-120000 is a lot of digits to fit on a plate

KE imports dont start with 120000, thats just D imports.

Every county has a different numbering sequence for imports.

Also, if the car is 2 years old or younger it doesnt get an "import" number. It just gets the next number from the original sequence.

Besides, I think they are doing away with the whole import number thing anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

ION08 wrote: »

Besides, I think they are doing away with the whole import number thing anyway.

Really? I wish they'd make up their minds - its not that long introduced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭positron

I think I will buy a car in the second half next year - 142-n-42, finally I will know the meaning of life and the universe and everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I can't believe they actually went through with this. Spineless government doing what SIMI want:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

North Tipps effort

image_zps80bad7e9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

How come the majority of Irish reg plates have 1's that look like lower-case L's

I've come across very few that have a proper "1", the vast majority seem to be "l"

ba_barabus wrote: »
    North Tipps effort

image_zps80bad7e9.jpg

candidate for the obnoxious parking thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭positron

It's probably the font. I wonder if there's an official number plate font?

candidate for the obnoxious parking thread?

Rear wheel was over the line but to be fair the made the effort not to double park at the door in the council office like two other cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,654 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

positron wrote: »
    It's probably the font. I wonder if there's an official number plate font?

German font looks a bit better...

2hnuo0n.jpg

German font looks a bit better...

2hnuo0n.jpg

9dc0d9c43c35c869087ae637dfdd_grande.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Am I alone in thinking that eventually, 131-TS-Whatever will eventually evolve into B1TS Whatever when the custom crowd get their hands on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭NobodyImportant

131-D-100 - Silver Honda Accord.

Pity Fiat no longer make the 131 Mirafiori

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,462 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Am I alone in thinking that eventually, 131-TS-Whatever will eventually evolve into B1TS Whatever when the custom crowd get their hands on it?
    And 131 G will be BIG.
    131 D will be BID

And best of all kildare will have BIKE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Carson10

131-SO-4 Toyota Avensis
    131-LM-19 Audi A4
    131-S0-8 Mini Cooper One (white with hubcaps) :-O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,293 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Pity Fiat no longer make the 131 Mirafiori
    Was going to say '' I can afford a 131!''

''Yeah! A Fiat Mirafiori!! :P :P

20 yoyos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Will the Lord Mayor of Dublin have two new cars each year now? i.e. 131-D-1 and 132-D-2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,293 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

There was a Fiat 132 as well. Was it Fiat 132 Argenta?

We'll Save that line for July! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Saw my first 131 yesterday, a Skoda Octavia no less!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭vickers209

Just wondering will the count go back to 1 in july or will it continue on till year end

eg

131 ww 1 and will there be a 132 ww 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

First two 131's today LK and C reg in Cork - both Hyundai xi35

colm_mcm wrote: »
    There was no 12 KY 13, in fact I think they skipped 13 on all plates since they brought in the starting at 1 instead of 201 thing

Show plate sadly

Is this true? Can anyone provide link to this?

My sister used to have 92 TN 13 on an old Nissan Micra

You can request them according to various threads on here. Very difficult to find anything "official" about it, or even a newpaper report or anything other than what's been said on discussion forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,248 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

I think the 131 and 132 system is bizarre but I'm not overly bothered about it.

What bothers me more is the guy/gal who bought my "new" car first day. He/She spent €46,770 on the car and an extra €1,000 on the numberplate. He/She also specced the car with a tape deck.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 EM87

Mc Love wrote: »
    Saw my first 131 yesterday, a Skoda Octavia no less!

That's my Daddy's car!!! Did you see it in Kilkenny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Still haven't seen one apart from pics!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

furtzy wrote: »
    Are they still charging for that? See 131 KE 16 out here.

They only charge if you want a specific number. You can also take your chances and hope you get it.

BMW campaigned for a change to the licensing system. I hope they choke on it now that a number of counties won't hit the 530/730 mark in the licensing period. People who want those types of plates would certainly make it a consideration in their choice of vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

58 131 Reg Audi A6's for the Irish EU presidency!
    A_3RscxCIAAyeCE.jpeg

713350181.jpg?key=25921552&Expires=1357439525&Key-Pair-Id=APKAIYVGSUJFNRFZBBTA&Signature=dJtLo5mcMHq-IvvsyAwY0Lo~TXP~nmnZc8veBW~-zdwS3TdjfJs4h2auz0ucB4~KdYW2EpYuUOYuZ2mmhLGrc3YBwb5fPMtVDFsn~HznAvQrmqGTZQA86XtKXsF~oAMUZRszuSMIT74O0dX9exECjwWE5YPwCLfmjbkJ6ye3o1w_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

What engines have they got? I hope they're V6s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

What engines have they got? I hope they're V6s?

They are TDI's, not sure of the engine size though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

CoDy1 wrote: »
    They are TDI's, not sure of the engine size though.

It looks like they've stopped doing the manual V6, so it's probably the 2.0 -- it'll probably be guards driving them so automatics would only confuse the poor fellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

saw my first 2 yesterday in Macroom, Co. Cork - no flipping recession around here boyos! a focus and a fiat (a model that's so dull, I don't even know what it was)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Lutecia

CoDy1 wrote: »
    58 131 Reg Audi A6's for the Irish EU presidency!

Who is paying for these beauties ? Angela approved that ? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Lutecia wrote: »
    Who is paying for these beauties ? Angela approved that ? :D

According to a few thousand idiots on facebook , its coming directly from paying for the care of sick and dying kids and to suggest otherwise makes you a fool or a government plant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

According to a few thousand idiots on facebook , its coming directly from paying for the care of sick and dying kids and to suggest otherwise makes you a fool or a government plant.

Audi Ireland is sponsoring the presidency.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1224/1224328152458.html

http://www.eu2013.ie/ireland-and-the-presidency/about-the-presidency/our-sponsors/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,585 ✭✭✭✭vectra

131-c-3
    White Insignia in Fermoy this morning