Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off Topic **This Thread Now Closed For Business**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Question: So it's Good Friday. Atheists go a bit mental about pubs being closed. I know it's nice to have a Friday pint after a long working week. But it's house-party night, you have years of notice beforehand to get booze and it's one night a year.

Dunno if I get the whole OUTRAGE :mad: :mad: over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Atheists go a bit mental about pubs being closed
    Why single out athiests? I would be sure plenty of Christians, and people of other faiths are opposed to the principle of this ridiculous law. Why not ban the sale of meat too? I thought that was more of a concern to religion, or does the bible specifically call out alcohol on good friday?

I am surprised the policitians have not scrapped it, they have done & proposed several things to help their publican mates before.

Speaking to the barman in my local the vast bulk of their trade is on friday & saturday, the weekly trade pales in comparision. And then christmas & new years eve trade greatly outweigh a normal friday or saturday. Seeing as many people are forced to take good friday off I imagine it would be in the top 4 most profitable days for publicans, up with st patricks, christmas eve & new years eve.

I don't see the typical punter getting upset/moaning over having to drink at home, they are moaning more about the principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,286 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

I don't understand why people who may only go for 1 or 2 on a Friday seem to feel the need to stock up like pubs and off licences are closing for a month?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I guess I'm atheist (though I don't like that word too much, has a bad rep with the self righteous ones), and I couldn't care less that the pubs are closed. I rarely drink on a Friday, so it doesn't matter to me in the slightest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

You can go on the beer at the train station apparently as long as you have the cheapest possible ticket!

rubadub wrote: »
    Why single out athiests? I would be sure plenty of Christians, and people of other faiths are opposed to the principle of this ridiculous law.
    Cuz Atheists give out about it more than anybody else in my experience. Also usually the "closed pubs debate" is never far from the "made up God" stuff.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Cuz Atheists give out about it more than anybody else in my experience. Also usually the "closed pubs debate" is never far from the "made up God" stuff.
    On the religious thing, I'm of the thought that I don't believe there is a God, but if others do believe in one then I have no reason to berate them. Belief is down to the individual, you shouldn't force your beliefs on others.

Everybody can believe what they want. Totally agree. Not a believer of a specific religion meself but wouldn't force it on anybody if I was. And I get that most Atheists and other religions feel that Good Friday is infringing on their rights but it's just a few pints on a Friday in a pub (legally but there's always pissups in pubs for the staff and if ya know somebody you can get in).

Also the point about Christians hating the day is true but they wouldn't be outspoken about it.

Eh, I guess sometimes people will just go out of their way to complain about stuff. It's one day of the year, I don't get the big deal.

Heh, I was talking to a friend of mine, and someone invited him out to go drinking tonight, he asked what the occasion was.

"Sure it's Good Friday!"
    "Yeah, and?"
    "You know... Pub's closed, ya have to drink!"
    "But...why?"

Sorta continued on like that for a while.

Its the outdated law thats the problem not the Church.

I agree with DB that the outrage over one day is pretty lol. Back in the day the Good Friday all day sofa drinking session was one of the highlights of the boozing calendar anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Angron wrote: »
    On the religious thing, I'm of the thought that I don't believe there is a God, but if others do believe in one then I have no reason to berate them. Belief is down to the individual, you shouldn't force your beliefs on others.

That's very true and one shouldn't force their lack of belief on others either.:pac:

AH's is like a feeding frenzy today with hardcore atheists trying to one up each other with reasons on why Christians are morons. It's gets tiresome after a while, very immature and petty behaviour imo.

That's very true and one shouldn't force their lack of belief on others either.:pac:

AH's is like a feeding frenzy today with hardcore atheists trying to one up each other with reasons on why Christians are morons. It's gets tiresome after a while, very immature and petty behaviour imo.
    Well the lack of belief is a belief in nothing, so it's included in what I'm saying :pac:

And stuff like that is why I don't like calling myself an atheist, it's just ridiculous.

Tiresome, immature and petty behaviour is what AH is for.

AH is a great read on Good Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Cuz Atheists give out about it more than anybody else in my experience.
    I hear lots of friends & colleagues comment on how ludicrous it is, I know many had their kids christened so I am guessing they are not ticking no religion on the census form. In after hours I see many moaning, but I do not see many saying what religion they are. I DO see a lot of presumption that they MUST be atheists though, I see a lot of that.

Quote from the mayor of limerick when they got the right to open in 2010
    "I don't see why Ireland discriminates against its own people. If people want to go to the pub and have a drink of watch a sports match, they should be allowed to do that. Even the Vatican city doesn't have this ridiculous law.

"The law was last amended in 1928, and it is about time it is reviewed, because we are living in the dark ages."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

the internet is generally a contentious place, throw in religion or politics and no real-word reprimands and it's a power-keg of arguments and trolling waiting to go off. Pity those poor mods!

Oh yeah, I'd imagine being a mod of AH would suck, especially with the volume of posting there.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,602 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Its the outdated law thats the problem not the Church.

I agree with DB that the outrage over one day is pretty lol. Back in the day the Good Friday all day sofa drinking session was one of the highlights of the boozing calendar anyway.

Bingo with the first part. I'm a non-drinking agnostic, but even I think it's a stupid and outdated law. While I would like to see the country's drink problem tackled, the day in question shouldn't cause drink-related closures.

I was in Tesco last night though, and it was shocking to see the bulk buying that was going on. Can people really not live a single day without booze? It's not even a day without booze, just a day where it's harder to get. You'd swear the end of the world was nigh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

The amount of Drink I do see bought in Lidl makes even my own liver hurt, trolleys full of bottles and cans.
    Where I live too there has been a load of puke stains on the footpaths a lot the last week and even 1 on a car's rear windshield.
    As far as the Church and outdated I ain't touching that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

I find the whole discussion about the Irish pubs and their opening hours a bit sad (in ever sense of the word)

The supermarkets and off licences being thronged yesterday somewhat proves that the country is a slave to alcohol.

Is it tonight clocks go forward or next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

Tonight

And good job too. Americans I have meetings with went forward a few weeks ago so my 1:30 meetings were moved to 12:30 and cutting into lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

It's bad because it means having to stay up an hour longer for Wrestlemania next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,504 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

So full of road rage, the amount of cyclists and tractors I meet today and none had any consideration for the motorists behind them :mad: I thought cyclists had to be in a single file anyways happy easter all ;)

happy_easter_glitter_graphics.gif?a174f2

Cyclists, for the most part, are very selfish when they cycle in groups. Sometimes triple-file on narrow roads in rush hour out my way. They don't go very fast either.

Is it tonight clocks go forward or next week?

Tonight.

MON finally found out at Sunderland. Not before time.

Cyclists, for the most part, are very selfish when they cycle in groups. Sometimes triple-file on narrow roads in rush hour out my way. They don't go very fast either.

Shower. Unbelievably inconsiderate road users.

Also the biggest crime is the amount of male arse on show. Sort yerselves out cyclists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

My dad cycles, nearly got killed a few weeks back by a truck thankfully he was walking with the bike and not cycling. He asked me should he bring the bike to the garage despite it being bent into a U.
    My dog is fair annoying me tonite, took her to her 'boyfriend' during the week and its like she doesn't forgive me that I had to leave her there overnight.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭Joe24

GTR63 wrote: »
    My dad cycles, nearly got killed a few weeks back by a truck thankfully he was walking with the bike and not cycling. He asked me should he bring the bike to the garage despite it being bent into a U.
    My dog is fair annoying me tonite, took her to her 'boyfriend' during the week and its like she doesn't forgive me that I had to leave her there overnight.

:P

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSgnakBgDYR2a_txc42iQnuZsp7g6L5WyFjAFFBLykTP6vt-OTW
    Angry_Santa%2527s_Little_Helper.png&w=1171&h=890&ei=JSpYUdDjC4Km0QWenoCoDA&zoom=1&ved=1t:3588,r:25,s:300,i:79&iact=rc&dur=622&page=13&tbnh=166&tbnw=210&ndsp=28&tx=133&ty=132

Big game in Walsh Park Diabhal et al.

Hon Deise.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I went out with my old secondary friends last night. It's amazing how people change, I'm only 24 but they seem like completely different people, a weird collection of go getter's and losers.

Is it wrong to eat half your niece's chocolate egg and blame her brother :o

Big game in Walsh Park Diabhal et al.

Hon Deise.

I ****ing hated Walsh Park. Maybe the coldest I've ever been at a match.

Its an awful kip. Id say the result kept you warm though.

There's far worse grounds but it's a bad spot to be on a cold day. Even had a nagin of Paddy's to keep us warm. Great result though. At least ye got 4th spot. Always love seeing Moran and Brick in the flesh. They're superb. Ref was awful though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

I blamed the dog :D

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Only if you get caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,157 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Goodfellas or Casino?

Which one lads?

Goodfella's for me, but rewatched Casino tonight, Sharon Stone wow, every possible sense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭glenjamin

Casino narrowly. Both amazing films. Love Joe Pesci.

Come on Ballabriggs and Becauseicouldntsee in the Grand National today, betting fever taking over again :o

Cappa Blue all the way :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

I know sweet F all about horse racing, but I put money down for Imperial Commander and The Rainbow Hunter just for their great names!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,063 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Joncol, Chicago grey, treacle, swing bill and soll for me

Cappa Blue all the way :P

Snatched second. E/w pays off :P

Hey where can I order some good hot wings in Dublin city Centre? (delivery preferably)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

jaykhunter wrote: »
    Hey where can I order some good hot wings in Dublin city Centre? (delivery preferably)

Pizza hut do nice ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Hashtag_HEEL

jaykhunter wrote: »

I believe that Pizza Hut delivery do fairly good wings. The two I know of in Dublin (but not the city centre) are Lesson street and Nutgrove.

Stocking up for tonight I suppose?

not tonight but Tuesday. I'll check 'em out. Cheers lads.