Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Post pics of your watches ***Please NO QUOTING PHOTOS***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

TAG Heuer f1 for the other half
    Handy for the holiday

391557.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,148 ✭✭✭893bet

Trying to consider if there is room for both of these in the box. I don't think I can let the omega go!

391867.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

893bet wrote: »
    Trying to consider if there is room for both of these in the box. I don't think I can let the omega go!

2 super looking watches, keep them both. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

You're seriously struggling with that Omega! Not surprised, it's quality

Bateman wrote: »
    You're seriously struggling with that Omega! Not surprised, it's quality

First world problems. Only have the Rolex a week and I love it.....but at wedding today and the Omega got the wrist...…!

391888.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

My wife thinks you should have worn the Rolex:cool:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    My wife thinks you should have worn the Rolex:cool:

It's in the car outside....but my better half don't know about it yet!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭dinorebel

Where are you parked;)

dinorebel wrote: »
    Where are you parked;)
    In an insured for all risks location

Judging by your taste in watches, I reckon the car must be pretty good too.

lol 11 year old Corolla with a tow hitch count!

Picked these up last week, time to take a break from TAG Heuer for a while
    Omega needs a dip in the ultrasonic and a polish and good to go for the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭emo72

Picked these up last week, time to take a break from TAG Heuer for a while
    Omega needs a dip in the ultrasonic and a polish and good to go for the summer

Damn. Planet ocean. Nice. The orange one too. I hope that's not your beater watch!

Fancied an ocean for a while and found a bargain so I had to have it
    Seamaster should clean up nicely with a bit of tlc
    Amazing the dirt on some used watches
    The ocean is spotless luckily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

lol 11 year old Corolla with a tow hitch count!

So, a watch man

Mixing it up a bit, horology and smithing :cool:

392367.jpg

Augeo wrote: »
    Finally got my hydro conquest….

........ 3 months on I've gone from wearing it once a week ish to every day. I've it on now since the 08th July, set it to 22 seconds fast and it's still that :D

Really delighted, I now hanker after nothing more in the watch dept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

Never expected to see one of those on here. Care to tell us a bit more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Mitch Buchannon

Cool. That wouldn't have been a cheap. The bezel isn't original but other than that it looks good. I'm far from being an expert though. The two people that I would talk to would be Mike Wood and Haywood Milton. Both are well known Rolex Milsub experts in the UK. I think they have the guts of 50-100 of them between them.

I'm delighted for him getting that in a pawn shop. But seriously... Get him to contact the two people I mentioned. It could work out better for him in the long run.

Edit to add: both are members in tz-uk.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Posts are missing because poster requested their removal. Sorry.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Posts are missing because poster requested their removal. Sorry.

Hope it wasn't because of something I/we said. Just offering the poster a bit of advise. Anywat, congrats to his brother on the lucky find. It's great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

Hope it wasn't because of something I/we said. Just offering the poster a bit of advise. Anywat, congrats to his brother on the lucky find. It's great to see.

ah lads...what did I miss?

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

This arrived today, need some serious cleaning - wonder was the last owner a coal miner lol it's filthy

392834.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭paulanthony

Arrived by post a couple of days ago. Really happy with the purchase.

392882.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Winterlong wrote: »
    You got to love the oldies!
    Here is what is on my wrist today. A late 1940's Swiss Chrono. Not a particularly expensive one, it was banjaxed and filthy when I bought it but a little love has brought it back to life and it runs like a dream.

There is a new crown on the way so should be fitting that later this week hopefully.

IMG_20160607_090410_1.jpg

Did a bit of work on this one. Not for the purists, but its hard to avoid flootin around withe these yokes.

IMG_5488.jpg

Some ppl would want to hang you for such sacrilege. Did you clean the dial? Blued hands look good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Some ppl would want to hang you for such sacrilege. Did you clean the dial? Blued hands look good.

They would, but in fairness this is not a 'good' watch with any pedigree!

Yes, gave the dial a good clean, windowlene via cotton bud.
    And a lot of elbow grease in trying to get the case back to some sort of shine.
    Toothpaste on the crystal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭CarltonBrowne

I think you've done the watch a favour - looks far better with those blued hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

I've had this for little over a week and today I managed to see the blue lume for the first time in daylight. Sorry for the poor quality photo.

393031.jpg

@ox!!!!

393229.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,426 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

29lh8yc.jpg

It's been a long time since I posted my collection. Apart from the Aqua Terra Annual Calendar I posted a year or so ago, I did not buy another watch until this week. It's quite a dramatic change from the others but fulfills its function in these dangerous times and climes.

393235.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭fulladapipes

Two things of (hopefully) potential interest. Firstly I was in Zagreb yesterday where a lot of the shops put watches on their mannequins. I've never noticed that anywhere else before. The second thing is that I recently sat beside the Minister for Public Reform in the pub in Donegal. He was wearing this - I prefer the index version myself but still very nice:

Screenshot_2016-08-01-21-16-22_zpshbym9m7x.png

...and just before anyone says / thinks it, my life is nowhere near as glamorous as that last post makes it sound. . !

The bould Paschal wears a Rolex and represents an inner city deprived community? I hope it's a fake, that way he can get arrested the next time he goes to France.

Personally I have always coveted a DateJust but it would have to have a fluted bezel and jubilee bracelet. Unfortunately they always seem lost on my wrist so I have never been tempted. The DJII seems somehow to have wrong proportions.

I suspect it was real - couldn't see him donning a fake.

The new datejust 41 has a jubilee bracelet option, although only in two-tone for now. They're probably introduce the bracelet in the stainless steel models next year. Looks OK to me.

maxresdefault_zpslrlybeay.jpg

How much is that Swatch Rio watch? No price on their official site and Arnotts don’t seem to stock it.

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭CDBWhoop

A very modest start to the collection!!

Replaced the stock nylon stap with a soft leather one making it a very comfortable watch to wear.

zu5MGTj.jpg?1

Bateman wrote: »
    How much is that Swatch Rio watch? No price on their official site and Arnotts don’t seem to stock it.

I bought it in NY en route to Rio; it was $75. It can be denounced from the strap to clip on if you want. There is a chronograph in the Rio 2016 but the hand sweep is so clunky that it would drive me scatty, hence the 2 hand watch!

Christ, I just looked at my Rio watch in the official store. It's R$585 which is bout USD180, more than double the USD75. I know there's a 100% import tax but tHat is horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

My latest SRP777KI

Waiting for new Rubber Strap to arrive, so on my NATO for the moment

thumb_IMG_1774_1024_zpskx7b27fd.jpg

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

Marcusm wrote: »
    Christ, I just looked at my Rio watch in the official store. It's R$585 which is bout USD180, more than double the USD75. I know there's a 100% import tax but tHat is horrendous.

If I can track one down over here, I know which extreme it will be closer to :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭simdan

Just got my first Steiny! Titanium strap and interchangeable bezels. Here's pics of the black and stainless bezels.

I thought it might be a bit large, but think it actually suits my wrist. :)

393611.jpg

Last edited by Wibbs; Today at 22:07. Reason: pic was tweaked and introduced… :)

Cheers!

393627.jpg

Congrats dan, is the back see through?

Yep, cheers! Really pleased :)

393628.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭emo72

Me Sunday best lads

393821.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭Homer

Collected earlier today and couldn't be happier with it.

Stowa-2-2.jpg

Stowa-4-2.jpg

Stowa-13.jpg

Stowa-11.jpg

Stowa-6.jpg

Stowa-4.jpg

Stowa-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Lovely Homer