Did you see anything interesting today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

I've seen nothing yet as I've yet to go out today
    I'm leaving my dinner settle for another 20 min before heading out for a 4 mile jaunt.
    Who knows what I will see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭aero2k

That's pretty minor by runner standards as far as bodily functions are concerned ;):pac:
    It's the possibility of a malfunction that worries me!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Nialloooo

a little bit of topic but i "heard" today, some fella fart as he passed me in the IMRA race this evening... talk about adding insult to injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

People jumping out of a low flying helicopter in the middle of the curragh, oh with parachutes. Looked like the army training and pretty dangerous at that :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭tyler71

Was out for a run by the water and saw two guys rowing with a horse on a lead swimming behind them. Looked pretty comfortable, seemed to be enjoying itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Uk 1500m runner Hannah England and Swedish 800m runner Mattias Claesson ran past me today in the parc de cuitedella in barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Saw two guys paragliding when I was runnning up keeper yesterday. I rekon they have a great idea for relaxing. Looked peaceful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭5h4mr0(k

Saw a sign
    "Kilmurry Harvest Festival. August 15-22. A Great Weekend For All the Family"

Either there's a few very dodgy days in it, or they like their long weekends!

:confused: you've put the last nail in to this coffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

While out on the country roads last night saw a couple out for a walk with their baby in a pram, its a 4 mile loop so when I came around again they were sitting in a ditch and she was breastfeeding, the dog that had followed them down the road then came with me for the next 2 loops/8miles, he was great company on the hills!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Lionel Messi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,113 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Magnet wrote: »
    While out on the country roads last night saw a couple out for a walk with their baby in a pram, its a 4 mile loop so when I came around again they were sitting in a ditch and she was breastfeeding, the dog that had followed them down the road then came with me for the next 2 loops/8miles, he was great company on the hills!!

Nice of them to set up a nutrition stop for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭opus

Lots of baby rabbits (is there some name for those?), a few horses from the local traveller site and then lots of real runners looking like they were effortlessly gliding around the UCC running track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭MaroonTam

Mark Kenneally in Celbridge this afternoon (pretty sure anyways.) Was cruising along at a nice easy pace... Me that is :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Doing laps in Phoenix park tonight. On the first lap, we past this dodgy looking bloke on military road. He looked suspicious. Second lap and we came across the same bloke with two other guys sitting on top of him, holding him down. "You're not going anywhere", they were saying to him. Guards came then. I wonder what he was up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Doing laps in Phoenix park tonight. On the first lap, we past this dodgy looking bloke on military road. He looked suspicious. Second lap and we came across the same bloke with two other guys sitting on top of him, holding him down. "You're not going anywhere", they were saying to him. Guards came then. I wonder what he was up to.

lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭deRanged

Followed by a seal who was trying to get in on the action in the Lee swim.

a bit late, but if that's the seal that was at the start line, he was reported to the gardai!
    (seriously, a lady wanted the gardai to take him out of the water as it was "the wrong kind of water for a seal").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭Peterx

I saw a man wearing headphones giving a dog a haircut in the Phoneix Park today. I did wonder if the headphones were giving audio instructions on the operation :)
    The Park is brilliant at this time of the year with loads of folk out doing their marathon plan long run. Great to see so many runners there.

I took part in the banna triathlon today as pat of a relay team. It was my first time to see a triathlon in action. was good to see all the top guys sort out their transion gear. The whole day was an eye opener, really enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Actually this was last Wed. evening. Saw a restricted breed dog - some sort of bull terrier. He was being swung around by his owner. At first I thought he was being swung by his lead, but as I got closer - they were about 20 feet off the path I was running on - I saw that he wasn't on a lead but was gripping a stick between his teeth and being swung round by this :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Just giving this thread a bump as more people are likely to see this post here than in my log. Unfortunately it's not as nice a thing to see but still counts as 'interesting'...

Coming to the bottom of the Khyber this evening came across a woman standing beside a car with the alarm going off. Getting closer I saw that the front drivers side window was smashed... She was quite upset about it but managed to calm her down and luckily phone and wallet were still in the car. Just a horrible thing to see happen to a fellow runner.

So, just a heads up to be careful where you choose to park in the Phoenix Park. Particularly late in the evening - it was just about to get dark when I was going past, around 8pm, and it was the only car parked there. It's going to be dark earlier from now on so stick to the main roads for parking. Obviously this can happen anywhere, but pretty unexpected in a place that a lot of us use so frequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

xebec wrote: »
    Just giving this thread a bump as more people are likely to see this post here than in my log. Unfortunately it's not as nice a thing to see but still counts as 'interesting'...

Coming to the bottom of the Khyber this evening came across a woman standing beside a car with the alarm going off. Getting closer I saw that the front drivers side window was smashed... She was quite upset about it but managed to calm her down and luckily phone and wallet were still in the car. Just a horrible thing to see happen to a fellow runner.

So, just a heads up to be careful where you choose to park in the Phoenix Park. Particularly late in the evening - it was just about to get dark when I was going past, around 8pm, and it was the only car parked there. It's going to be dark earlier from now on so stick to the main roads for parking. Obviously this can happen anywhere, but pretty unexpected in a place that a lot of us use so frequently.

Saw 3 cars in a row with smashed windows last saturday morning in the park, guards standing around taking notes, so make sure you leave nothing visible any time of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

sideswipe wrote: »
    Saw 3 cars in a row with smashed windows last saturday morning in the park, guards standing around taking notes, so make sure you leave nothing visible any time of day.

Very true, can happen at any time. Some people just don't care about anyone elses property...

On a better note, met her while out running today and everything was fine and she was getting the car sorted...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭smithwicks

Yesterday i seen a standing stone circle not far from Ashford castle. It was like a mini stonehenge (minus the top stones)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Running along the Wicklow way near Tinahely through a group of horses roaming free in the countryside. A wonderful sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

Running in the hills today, there were loads and loads of people collecting blackberries... the berries looked really good too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

Yesterday I saw lots of green thick forest. And I got all excited when I found these small orange and white triangle shaped kites... I had fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,535 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Forgot to mention, last Wednesday week while running in the park in the dark (I'm a poet and I know it) I saw a low flying meteor fragment. Don't think it could have landed further than a couple of hundred metres away from me. It was the same day that a meteor was spotted in the midlands. Sent the info on to astronomy.ie, but I don't think they're too interested. I was in the middle of a very tough interval, so soon forgot about it, but at the time it was an incredible sight to behold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Was doing my usual route for my run yesterday and in one of my fields (yes I think they are my fields) there was a dog show on, now I don't usually like meeting dogs on a run so this was a shock to see about 200 dogs in the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

A horse standing in the river with its owner holding its reins. The equilavent of an ice bath for a horse perhaps?

4 wild deer running alongside the road in the forest verge while I cycled past. A wonderful sight.

A bridge closed off and near destroyed due to floods last week on the Ow river near Aughavanagh. Goes to show the destructive power of nature some times. Photos: here :(