Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
31-01-2012, 00:23   #46
kearneybobs
Registered User
 
kearneybobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chelmsford, Essex
Posts: 3,261
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schorpio View Post
Anybody else notice the English motto on the ainol website?

"Enjoy life Enjoy ainol"
You missed this I presume then?
kearneybobs is offline  
Advertisement
31-01-2012, 10:14   #47
Fresh Pots
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,427
Just got an email from focalprice with this tablet on offer, anyone know whether its worth buying? Its another ainol!

http://www.focalprice.com/CE0028B/ai...1205NR_CE0028B
Fresh Pots is offline  
31-01-2012, 10:21   #48
Mr E
Administrator
 
Mr E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 30,442
From the comments, it looks like the Ainol Novo 7 Paladin.
More or less the same price on pandawill.
Mr E is offline  
Thanks from:
31-01-2012, 11:55   #49
jayteecork
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom
Posts: 5,941
works out at about 80 euro delivered on focal price.
jayteecork is offline  
31-01-2012, 12:21   #50
Paddy_man
Registered User
 
Paddy_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Galway
Posts: 162
Send a message via MSN to Paddy_man Send a message via Yahoo to Paddy_man Send a message via Skype™ to Paddy_man
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTechGuy View Post
Just got an email from focalprice with this tablet on offer, anyone know whether its worth buying? Its another ainol!

http://www.focalprice.com/CE0028B/ai...1205NR_CE0028B
The picture of the box indicates its the Paladin, which has a different processor (MIPS).

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalmonk View Post
This uses the MIPS Xburst CPU. There are some reports of compatibility issues with apps as most are compiled for ARM CPUs.

"and there are question marks over the compatibility of the MIPS chipset with some Apps"
So if your not bothered by that and just want it for browsing, movies, pictures, it should be fine.. dead cheap
Paddy_man is offline  
Advertisement
31-01-2012, 15:24   #51
ephelan24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Make sure to use code RMN10D with Focalprice for 10% discount. Brings price to just over 74 Euro.
ephelan24 is offline  
(2) thanks from:
31-01-2012, 18:22   #52
M cebee
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayteecork View Post
works out at about 80 euro delivered on focal price.
will they work with a broadband dongle?
M cebee is offline  
31-01-2012, 18:31   #53
purkit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Hi can anyone advise me, I am looking for a tablet that can take my 3g dongle as I've got no wifi. I am looking at this one, any Opinions please? or does anyone have one. thanks

http://www.retailgadgets.co.uk/SA8-A...FQFC4Qod9GARtw
purkit is offline  
31-01-2012, 19:14   #54
jayteecork
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom
Posts: 5,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by purkit View Post
Hi can anyone advise me, I am looking for a tablet that can take my 3g dongle as I've got no wifi. I am looking at this one, any Opinions please? or does anyone have one. thanks

http://www.retailgadgets.co.uk/SA8-A...FQFC4Qod9GARtw
I don't think so. The dongles are usually designed for windows, not Android. You could, if you have a laptop, set up internet connection sharing, and that should work to get internet onto the tablet but it defeats the tablets portability really
jayteecork is offline  
Advertisement
31-01-2012, 19:43   #55
Amalgam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Dublin
Posts: 4,711
Send a message via MSN to Amalgam
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayteecork View Post
I don't think so. The dongles are usually designed for windows, not Android.
Just to point out, all the Ainols, indeed, most of the Chinese Android slabs, like the Herotab etc.. have a plug and surf 3G compatibility with a very very limited selection of Huawei (China) stick modems, along with one or two ZTE (China) stick modems.

The Huawei E173 is often mentioned. I don't have a specific list handy, but 3G dongle use is mentioned, in relation to the Paladin.

I don't think there's any compatibility with recent HSPA+ hardware, you're dealing more with fairly long in the tooth stick modems, that have been available for a good while.

You're also going to have a better chance of the stick being recognised, if it is using 'run of the mill' Huawei firmware, not something locked down or modified heavily by the likes of O2 or Vodafone.

Just to show: Discussion of 3G use on an Ainol 7 Advanced. There's also threads for Novo 8 and Paladin. A Spanish review mentions 3G use on the Paladin. (YouTube)

http://www.slatedroid.com/topic/2715...-dongle-works/

---

My order is 'on hold', with Pandawill.. bah.

Last edited by Amalgam; 31-01-2012 at 19:58.
Amalgam is offline  
Thanks from:
01-02-2012, 12:05   #56
jayteecork
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom
Posts: 5,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by ephelan24 View Post
Make sure to use code RMN10D with Focalprice for 10% discount. Brings price to just over 74 Euro.
That code didn't work but I went ahead and ordered anyway. Worked out at 83 delivered via paypal.

Now let's hope I don't get caught for customs.
jayteecork is offline  
01-02-2012, 12:57   #57
ephelan24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Used code yesterday and worked for me. Perhaps finished although worth googling to see if any other codes available
ephelan24 is offline  
01-02-2012, 13:20   #58
jayteecork
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom
Posts: 5,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by ephelan24 View Post
Used code yesterday and worked for me. Perhaps finished although worth googling to see if any other codes available
Probably was for January.
It's ordered now though and paid via paypal so I doubt I could start again without too much hassle.
jayteecork is offline  
01-02-2012, 13:26   #59
M cebee
Closed Account
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,394
do these tablets have to be ordered from china to get a bargain price?

is free delivery ok from these places?
M cebee is offline  
01-02-2012, 13:30   #60
jayteecork
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Mushroom Kingdom
Posts: 5,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by M cebee View Post
do these tablets have to be ordered from china to get a bargain price?

is free delivery ok from these places?
Well you might get caught for customs charges.
jayteecork is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet