Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline thread 28/09/16 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

foggy_lad wrote: »
    You lost for words hearing our Joey compared to the great Jimmy Saville?
    Just trying to match de waistcoat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

It reminds me of the way that everybody was afraid to say anything about Jimmy Savile.

Reminiscent, but different. In my travels around the UK, I knew three or more people who, as youngsters, were groped and/or actually assaulted by JS. They were vocal enough about it later, but nobody outside their circles of friends would listen to them. Everybody in the media knew he was a dirty old man, and had been a dirty younger wan too, but he became too powerful to criticise.
    He was very crafty, as well as being a nasty old perve.
    Joe, otoh, is as we see and hear him - a bit of a hypocritical bullchitter, with a penchant for quaintly old-fashioned clashing styles and enjoys being a 'success' in his own mind. His ghoulish fascinations and over-paid fee structure aside, we could do worse. Of course, we could do better, for a quarter of the price.
    He's a twat, but moderately harmless, and I don't feel like chucking him under a bus, unlike Savile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

snubbleste wrote: »
    Just trying to match de waistcoat..

Ya know the way some uppity priests wear red socks because the bishop wears a lot of red and they want to feel superior to the rest of us plebs?

That's our Joey right there, a sanctimonious prig who feels superior to the working and middle classes, he drinks and dines with the bishops and politicians and pat Hickeys of the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭iamnotme

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Jesus Christ Butters, get onto a solicitor now, that lad got a weeks wages for that.

No! Talk to Joe. Then he can get the Indo on too, and we'll all be confused.

You'd think they could at least put on a "best of" show on a bank holiday, instead of this rubbish. Joe vs the Brazilian copper; Joe and "I'll calm down if you calm down"; Joe "will that be your main holiday this year Mary"; Jameson/Guinness or Marie who lives in a nice area.

iamnotme wrote: »
    You'd think they could at least put on a "best of" show on a bank holiday, instead of this rubbish. Joe vs the Brazilian copper; Joe and "I'll calm down if you calm down"; Joe "will that be your main holiday this year Mary"; Jameson/Guinness or Marie who lives in a nice area.
    Or a Joe Duffy tribute..

Expunge, Caller! You'll be giving them ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

iamnotme wrote: »

Be careful what you wish for. We could end out with a "Best of Funny Friday ".

I'd rather turn the crap we had on today off, rather than turn "FF Gold " off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

sligojoek wrote: »

Saw it late last night, ironically as I sat down to write "Me Weekly Column, by me, Joe Duffy so to speak". Don't really know what to say so to speak. It's not even remotely subtle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Saw it late last night, ironically as I sat down to write "Me Weekly Column, by me, Joe Duffy so to speak". Don't really know what to say so to speak. It's not even remotely subtle.

Any chance you could call Liveline to complain to Joe Duffy of the plagiarism?

C'mon Butters, don't get distracted. I never thought for a second that you were actually Eilis O'Indo.

Any chance you could call Liveline to complain to Joe Duffy of the plagiarism?

If my name or phone number come up on De Lahv Lahn desk they hit the Defcon 1 button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

To be fair, so to speak, this is not a new thing to her. She does a different person every week. Bertie, Gerry Adams, etc. Having said that, I'm sure she's been trawling through the forum for "inspiration".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,503 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

If my name or phone number come up on De Lahv Lahn desk they hit the Defcon 1 button.

Purchase a burner phone so to speak :pac:

Joey: Ah here get that bleedin budgie outa my salubrious dressing rooms, I specifically and especially demanded a canary and what bleedin joker brought the fuppin pidgeons?!

Ah Butters me auld pal...........Terrib....al lahne tuday Butter.........sSuky, but I'm not havin a canary so I'll calm down etc etc you know how it goes at this stage!

To be fair, so to speak, this is not a new thing to her. She does a different person every week. Bertie, Gerry Adams, etc. Having said that, I'm sure she's been trawling through the forum for "inspiration".

Inspiration is one thing, there are parts of that piece that are more than "inspired" by the thread, and my own creative "work" so to speak.....

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Joey: Ah here get that bleedin budgie outa my salubrious dressing rooms, I specifically and especially demanded a canary and what bleedin joker brought the fuppin pidgeons?!

Ah Butters me auld pal...........Terrib....al lahne tuday Butter.........sSuky, but I'm not havin a canary so I'll calm down etc etc you know how it goes at this stage!

There's many things I'm sure Joe has called me when he's reading my complaints (I'm not naive enough to think the complaints process is formal in RTE, I'd be fairly sure the staff pass them around and just laugh at them as they clearly have no impact on the host or content), but I doubt "me auld pal" is one of them.

For dose of youz dat did expect Me Weekly Column, by me, Joe Duffy so to speak. it will return next week after a short hi-8-us so to speak as Noel & I review our legal options so to speak regarding a disgraceful article in a rival newspaper. You'd never get dat type a ting in De Daily Fail says I. Tune in tomorrow for de death and dat; don't wurry, it'll be about de death no mater wat pre-tens I lure de callers onto de show wit and dat so to speak. Keep de faith.

GDY151

For dose of youz dat did expect Me Weekly Column, by me, Joe Duffy so to speak. it will return next week after a short hi-8-us so to speak as Noel & I review our legal options so to speak regarding a disgraceful article in a rival newspaper. You'd never get dat type a ting in De Daily Fail says I. Tune in tomorrow for de death and dat; don't wurry, it'll be about de death no mater wat pre-tens I lure de callers onto de show wit and dat so to speak. Keep de faith.

Looks like a quiet night for the fibergade, the youth of today don't be having the backbone to be collecting the materials so to speak for making de big fires, they be spending their days on their Ex Boxes and Eye Phones instead, sad state of affairs to to speak.

https://twitter.com/DubFireBrigade?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

Well what a surprise....

The comment I posted in the indo comments section never made it online. Here's what I posted:

I wonder where you got the inspiration for that original piece Eliis?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=100826202
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=100899177
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=101006387
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=101086406
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=101143536
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=101231093
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=101299912
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=101366141
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showt...hp?p=101439113

I suspect as my name is ButtersSuki there too it didn't help.....

Anyone interested in posting something pouting Eilis' source material?

The comments section is at the bottom of the piece but you can only post comments for 48hours, that's prob until midnight tonight:
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/comment/my-week-joe-duffy-35172899.html

BS, Anybody can do it for one week. Only you can do it every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

BS, Anybody can do it for one week. Only you can do it every week.

Steady on - he'll be getting pink ears with such praise.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Steady on - he'll be getting pink ears with such praise.

Joe: and wat colour are deeze pink ears you mention caller?

There's many things I'm sure Joe has called me when he's reading my complaints (I'm not naive enough to think the complaints process is formal in RTE, I'd be fairly sure the staff pass them around and just laugh at them as they clearly have no impact on the host or content), but I doubt "me auld pal" is one of them.

I didn want to use what he usuaully calls you as it would get me banned off the airwaves like the bomber shinners durin the troubdles and banned from the internets waves.

Well I got the one you wished for.....unfortunately the show is only 75mins long.:pac:

GDY151

Seosamhs topics...
    Irish fella killed in hospital in New York by a dementia patient...(pure gold topic for himself)
    Free for all Friday, no gardaí on duty this Friday so to speak, de airport, car accidents what will happen?
    Dublin Fibergade, from the fibergade maps it looked like the whole of Neilstown was on fire.

Dimen see a.
    Free for all Friday.

De fiber-gade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

more Death with a splash of dementia

Free for all Friday

Fiber Gade busy night in North Clondalkin