Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motorists encouraged to buy electric

• 12-04-2010 8:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 78,312 ✭✭✭✭

While this will hopefully do something for local air pollution, is it merely replacing one problem with another?

There will still be the same amount of congestion, the electricity needs to be generated somehow (mostly gas in Ireland's case) and the amount of material used in making the car is about the same, although there may be some shift in what materials are used.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0412/cars.html
    Motorists encouraged to buy electric
    Monday, 12 April 2010 07:45

Financial incentives to encourage motorists to purchase electric cars are expected to be unveiled today.

The details come as some of the electric vehicles that will soon hit the Irish market are showcased.

The Government wants Ireland to become an effective test site for electric cars, with the goal that 10% of all vehicles here run on electricity by 2020.

Last year the Government signed a strategic deal with Nissan Renault and this morning, Renault will showcase its new electric vehicle, the Fluence.

The ESB has already committed to installing 1,500 charging points across the country before the end of next year.

Today Energy Minister Eamon Ryan is expected to announce financial incentives that will help offset the cost of the expensive electric batteries.

Electric vehicles are far cheaper to run than their petrol or diesel equivalents. Motorists will be keen to find out whether Government grants and no VRT makes the purchase price competitive too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Tht green fanny Eamon Ryan is diverting more of his communications budget into stupid green ideas I see.

The current generation of electric cars cannot make it to Galway and back to Dublin on a charge, they should not incentivise any electric car with a sub 300 mile range and that is that.

Won't stop Ryan babbling crap about it and wasting money though, or Cuffe :(

Renault are about to release a 'range' of electric cars next year. They will have a range of 160km on average thanks to an "evolution" . It was 100km . Ryan has been heard babbling Ryan style about how wonderful they are.

Galway - Dublin is 200km FFS :( The shaggin renaults will not be able to do any inter city journey in Ireland and starting in Dublin bar maybe Dublin - Waterford and then they will probably be stranded down there :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Sooner we go electric and get rid of the dependancy on the middle east the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,262 ✭✭✭markpb

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    The current generation of electric cars cannot make it to Galway and back to Dublin on a charge, they should not incentivise any electric car with a sub 300 mile range and that is that.

For plenty of people, travelling across the country isn't a necessity.

These things have fuk all range. They will have fuk all range for another 8-10 years minimum.

We SHOULD be incentivising the creation of CHARGING POINTS at this time. If I get a grant to put a charging point in my yard I should have it connected to BB 24/7 and let people book a charging slot in it online and use that. If it generates its own electricity ( eg wind) it should get priority in the booking system when someone is looking for a charging slot.

No car parks should be allowed minus charging points, you should be able to book a car park and charging slot BOTH , online. Every time you leave the house you will be planning the next charge for the damn think anyway.

That is where the money needs to be spent. But Ryan is much too thick to conceive of a charging architecture matrix and too busy babbling his meaningless green sh1te to care.

Charging the feckin things with their 120km real world ranges and their 160km nominals is the key, once people know they wont be caught short they will adopt the things...up to a point anyway. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Plenty of people never need to go to Galway. These would be great for urban use and commuting. Especially since they can be charged off night rate, or better again solar on your own roof.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

After having watched "Who Killed the Electric Car", I'm wondering how long this will last? Hopefully it takes off nicely.

Also, I'm hoping GM start making electric cars, so that they can use the advanced battery technology that they own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

other factors will lead to your range being decreased significantly such as the many hills in ireland and winds working against you and also even carrying something as simple as a bit of luggage for a weekend away can decrease your range enough that you may be staying in a thomastown B&B rather than a waterford hotel!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

don't we generate a lot of our power using oil, coal and peat? How much CO2 are we really saving with this? (I'm not channeling J Clarkson here, I genuinely don't know the answers).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

old_aussie wrote: »
    Sooner we go electric and get rid of the dependancy on the middle east the better.

Most of our electricity is generated by oil burning electric power stations, anyway so charging electric cars from the national grid is still going to use vasts amounts of oil.
    We need to build a proper neuclear power infrastructure to decrease our carbon emmisions, and if there is going to be a serious upturn in electric cars and trains etc then we need to stop fooling ourselves by continuing to using oil to generate electricity.

Most of our generation capacity is Hydrocarbon and will be for the next 20 years given how policy is formulated here ( it is not :( ) . There has been a shift from oil to gas in recent years, that is all.

Wind is too intermittent to be considered 'capacity' . We can go from 1000Mw at best to 20Mw at worst with the exact same wind plant.

Nor do we allow "spillover" where surplus electricity is fed back to the grid from your solar ( if available :) obviously ). We need a very sophisticated approach to charging points but the greens are too thick to come up with it and refuse to admit the problem because they are green.

EG

1. Cars have feck all range, if you go to Connemara for the weekend you will need a charge or two enroute and while there .

2. As there are feck all charging points in Connemara there should be a bidding system for slots on the charger.

3. Based on the market price highest bidder gets the slot, the rest are dynamically queued. If they increase their bids they get bumped up. How do you tell the others they are outbid, there is bugger all mobile infrastructure in Connemara and data prices are too high on mobile networks :(

4. If charging points in Connemara are a nice earner because of bid prices for a slot then that incentivises the installation of more capacity based on a MARKET for them.

5. A car will charge in 3-4 hours but the night rate lasts 8-10 hours, should one car be allowed to tie it up all night when it could charge 3 cars ?? Should 3 cars park and plug in and bid for these night slots and be charged in sequence. When should the slots be allocated, by 8pm or 10pm ?? Should dynamic queuing based on bids for NIGHT slots have a cutoff of 7pm so that people can plan ???

6. Should there be a rebate on the meter standing charge for night time electricity if you have a car charging station AND are on the bidding and queing national grid matrix ??

7. What about insurance and liability, should there be a legal exemption from house insurance for cars on your charger BUT also on your property albeit ONLY to be charged ??

8. Should you have to pay coproration tax or income tax on any windfall profit, you could make a lot of profit if you had a charger during that feshtival in July ???

etc etc etc etc

None of this has been considered by our thicko greens and yet it is all most logical :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭ocokev

Most of our generation capacity is Hydrocarbon and will be for the next 20 years given how policy is formulated here ( it is not :( ) . There has been a shift from oil to gas in recent years, that is all.

Wind is too intermittent to be considered 'capacity' . We can go from 1000Mw at best to 20Mw at worst with the exact same wind plant.

Nor do we allow "spillover" where surplus electricity is fed back to the grid from your solar ( if available :) obviously ). We need a very sophisticated approach to charging points but the greens are too thick to come up with it and refuse to admit the problem because they are green.

EG

1. Cars have feck all range, if you go to Connemara for the weekend you will need a charge or two enroute and while there .

2. As there are feck all charging points in Connemara there should be a bidding system for slots on the charger.

3. Based on the market price highest bidder gets the slot, the rest are dynamically queued. If they increase their bids they get bumped up.

4. If charging points in Connemara are a nice earner because of bid prices for a slot then that incentivises the installation of more capacity based on a MARKET for them.

5. A car will charge in 3-4 hours but the night rate lasts 8-10 hours, should one car be allowed to tie it up all night when it could charge 3 cars ?? Should 3 cars park and plug in and bid for these night slots and be charged in sequence. When should the slots be allocated, by 8pm or 10pm ?? Should dynamic queing based on bids have a cutoff of 7pm ???

6. Should there be a rebate on the meter standing charge for night time electricity if you have a car charging station ??

7. What about insurance and liability, should there be a legal exemption from house insurance ??

etc etc etc etc

None of this has been considered by our thicko greens :(

We can just wait to see what England do and copy them!

ocokev wrote: »
    We can just wait to see what England do and copy them!

England allows spillover and we never copied that :(

Nor do we allow "spillover" where surplus electricity is fed back to the
    We do, for just over a year now.
    Cars have feck all range, if you go to Connemara for the weekend you will need a charge or two enroute and while there .
    Very simple solution: don't travel to barren or remote places then.
    As there are feck all charging points in Connemara there should be a bidding system for slots on the charger.
    Am I missing something about Connemara?
    there is bugger all mobile infrastructure in Connemara
    I must go to Connemara. Feels like I'm missing somthing.
    If charging points in Connemara
    Do GoBus serve Connemara? What time's the next bus?
    A car will charge in 3-4 hours but the night rate lasts 8-10 hours, should one car be allowed to tie it up all night when it could charge 3 cars ??
    Car, like its owners, is usually at home at night.
    Should there be a rebate on the meter standing charge for night time electricity if you have a car charging station ??
    You're already getting half price electricity.
    None of this has been considered by our thicko greens :(
    I don't think Connemara is high on their agenda.

JHMEG wrote: »
    I don't think Connemara is high on their agenda.

It is, but only for shaggin bicycle safaris :(

This is allegedly a national plan but rural Ireland is meant to subsidise this technology in urban areas where the green TDs are. And yet the greatest opportunity for green charging is in the windy west.

Dublin charging will be carbon based :( Not green at all .

This is allegedly a national plan but rural Ireland is meant to subsidise this technology in urban areas where the green TDs are. And yet the greatest opportunity for green charging is in the windy west.
    No, I think you'll find it's the other way around. There are more tax payers in urban areas, who subsidise roads, schools, and services in general in rural areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭RichieO

When you think of the first cars, with a guy walking in front waving a flag, then look at where we are now and bear in mind the American guzzlers of the last 50 years, some were only getting a few mpg, only their massive fuel tanks (filled with dirt cheap petrol) allowed them to make a decent run...
    Compare this to where we are now, with some cars getting 50 - 60 mpg and more.
    Now imagine the EV with a similar line of evolution, you can begin to see the potential, but they need to be there in large numbers and many different types, then you will see them evolve into what is needed/demanded...

The bigger the bucket of milk, the more cream rises...

JHMEG wrote: »
    No, I think you'll find it's the other way around. There are more tax payers in urban areas, who subsidise roads, schools, and services in general in rural areas.

We would soon see how smart and green Ryan was if Wickila started to charge for ITS water that Dublin takes off it :D

These vehicles are clearly only limitedly fit for purpose in urban areas like Dublin and it follows that the whole electric car scam is an urban subsidy unsubtly cloaked as a green initiative.

More smart green drivel from Eamon Ryan. The batteries and the waste will obviously be dumped in rural areas, of course, same as always :( .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭gpjordanf1

Please have a look at www.spiritofireland.org all of the above has been rectified very simply and will be coming soon, fingers crossed.

Yes we do I actually read it here last year, dont have a link but I'm sure you can search.

I presume you will be there longer than 5 minutes? Can you not charge it up?

ESB to provide 1500 charge points by end of year nationwide
    3. Based on the market price highest bidder gets the slot, the rest are dynamically queued. If they increase their bids they get bumped up. How do you tell the others they are outbid, there is bugger all mobile infrastructure in Connemara and data prices are too high on mobile networks :(

What?

5. A car will charge in 3-4 hours but the night rate lasts 8-10 hours, should one car be allowed to tie it up all night when it could charge 3 cars ?? Should 3 cars park and plug in and bid for these night slots and be charged in sequence. When should the slots be allocated, by 8pm or 10pm ?? Should dynamic queuing based on bids for NIGHT slots have a cutoff of 7pm so that people can plan ???

Also the ESB will put in a home charge point for the first customers to avail of these cars. Why would you queue to charge your car overnight? Do you do the same with your phone?

Also alot of these cars will be capable of a 80% charge from these ESB charge points in 10 minutes or less. So how is that any different to pulling in to a petrol station filling up your car, going into shop, get a sambo, paper coffee and pay and away you go. There isn't much in it?

Anyway I'm looking forward to this new tech, in a few yearswe'll wonder what all the fuss was about. Here's hoping anway?

gpjordanf1 wrote: »
    Also the ESB will put in a home charge point for the first customers to avail of these cars. Why would you queue to charge your car overnight? Do you do the same with your phone?

Also alot of these cars will be capable of a 80% charge from these ESB charge points in 10 minutes or less.

Now that is different. If they can be topped up usefully in 10 minutes they start to make sense. Yet I believe this is impossible. I also believe that chargers will be incompatible between cars save for SLOW charging over many hours and will be car specific for fast or fast(ish) like mobile chargers are and always have been.

The Renault Fluence will allow an ultra quick charging option. You will swap a FULLY CHARGED battery INTO the car and leave the old one behind at the charging point. They call this "Quickdrop".

This "Quickdrop" is what Ryan is announcing today, it is pure bollox. They weight a ton FFS and require a contraption UNDER the car for removal and insertion :( Look at this video, and LAUGH!!!!

I am very sceptical that anyone will be cable to rapidly charge to 80% in any less than 1 to 3 hours and a full charge will take 8-10 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,262 ✭✭✭markpb

These vehicles are clearly only limitedly fit for purpose in urban areas like Dublin and it follows that the whole electric car scam is an urban subsidy unsubtly cloaked as a green initiative.

Perhaps the reason it will have an urban bias is because it's easy to provide the infrastructure there? One charging station in Dublin will serve tends of thousands of people. One charging station in Connemara will serve a few hundred. Also there are more cars and more pollution in an urban environment so changing some of them to electric will have a bigger impact (assuming reducing pollution is the goal). Do you think car based airbourne pollution is a big problem in Connemara?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

The ironic thing is that if we had a high quality broadband network to every home in Ireland and incentivised companies to let their employees work from home (where possible), starting with the civil servants, we would vastly reduce pollution more then by this sham.

markpb wrote: »
    Perhaps the reason it will have an urban bias is because it's easy to provide the infrastructure there? One charging station in Dublin will serve tends of thousands of people. One charging station in Connemara will serve a few hundred. Also there are more cars and more pollution in an urban environment so changing some of them to electric will have a bigger impact (assuming reducing pollution is the goal). Do you think car based airbourne pollution is a big problem in Connemara?

You know Mark that all makes perfect sense. Electric cars will be an urban technology for short runs for at least the next 10 years. They will be utterly impractical in rural areas given the charging/range problems.

I merely pointed out these problems, what I like to call the "Connemara Conundrum" . How does one get there and get around there and get back to D4 ina weekend. The answer is one does not and will not. These are uttterly impractical outside the M50.

Therefore they should always be presented as an urban initiative and the subsidies will always be to urban areas. I do not disagree with that but I do insist that some honesty prevails on teh matter :(

Once the range and charging problems are substantially licked there will be no further subsidies, charging will become a commodity like petrol pumps. Ireland is a small country, 400km from one end to the other. Once range doubles to 300km for the same battery/weight ratio it will be game on.

Our greens, however, are much too thick to make them a commuter belt prospect never mind a rural or mixed use prospect. The best thing for commuters, like BK said, is to stay at home until the rush hour is over and optimally cruise to work on empty roads. This green figleaf is to allow d4 mammies to pretend to be green on school runs, that is all.

But a NATIONAL initiative this most certainly is not. For NATIONAL use you need a sophisticated mechanism for predicting and obtaining your next charge or indeed fractional charge and Ryan has done nothing as communications minister to deliver the communications that would underpin such a predictive mechanism.

Logically the car would know where the next charge will be and when and would be told that in real time and brought to it on autopilot by GPS. It would be a dynamic auction system, you would pay a premium for convenience and speed and for the guarantee of a charging slot at peak periods. The rest of the time you would drive up and plug in.

Ryan does not care anyway, his political career is over but sadly we still have to listen to his babbling green irrelevant sh1te until he slopes off the stage

The sooner the better :(

bk wrote: »
    The ironic thing is that if we had a high quality broadband network to every home in Ireland and incentivised companies to let their employees work from home (where possible),we would vastly reduce pollution more

Yes I completely agree with this, a great Idea. A tiny country like this should have broadband in every home, and by extension this tiny country should be easily served by electric vehicles. And as such we should become market leaders in research in this area along with green energy research. What we have on our door steps is amazing, wind, sea & solar power should be utilized for all our needs and for export of energy too.
    bk wrote: »
    starting with the civil servants

no, no, no, no, This is so wrong I dont know where to start with that one ;)

You know Mark that all makes perfect sense. Electric cars will be an urban technology for short runs for at least the next 10 years.

Case closed ladies & gentlemen, CASE CLOSED!

http://www.teslamotors.com/models/

I well remember the Top Gear Tesla test GPJ :D , the range was ...shall we say...unproven ...unless you are an Irish green that is where the range does not matter as it potters over and back across the grand canal.

Jeremy really wanted that car to deliver, you can see that clearly.

I well remember the Top Gear Tesla test GPJ :D , the range was ...shall we say...unproven ...unless you are an Irish green that is where the range does not matter as it potters over and back across the grand canal.

Jeremy really wanted that car to deliver, you can see that clearly.

Hey Sponge Bob

It was fun watching that again, whats that a couple of years back? Also thats the roadster prototype a pure sports car to get the media attention. This new TeslaS is the money maker, just look at the figures. I'll be buying one for sure.

You asked for a quick charging, cross country mileage, beautiful family car and here it is, the Tesla S. Welcome to the future of motoring.

Tesla S : "With a range up to 300 miles and 45-minute QuickCharge, the Model S can carry five adults and two children in quiet comfort – and you can charge it from any outlet, without ever stopping for gas. World’s first mass-produced electric vehicle offers performance, efficiency and unrivaled utility for a base price of $49,900*, making it the only car you’ll ever need."

And Clarkson and Co promote battery cars, ha ha, never mate, as he said himself its snowing in hell!

Funny though!

When is this announcement anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭dynamick

Victor wrote: »
    While this will hopefully do something for local air pollution, is it merely replacing one problem with another?
    Less air pollution in cities - comes out instead in rural power stations where less people breathe it in. Less noise pollution. Some electricity is generated by renewables and more will be in future. Battery charging suits the unpredictable supply from renewable sources.

Battery swapping is not so ludicrous. The device doesn't look any more complicated than a carwash.

Top Gear staged the breakdown of the Tesla to suit their agenda. They later admitted that the battery was not flat but that they pushed the car to show what would happen if the car had run out of charge.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2008/dec/24/jeremy-clarkson-top-gear-tesla-electric-car

dynamick wrote: »
    Less air pollution in cities - comes out instead in rural power stations where less people breathe it in. Less noise pollution. Some electricity is generated by renewables and more will be in future. Battery charging suits the unpredictable supply from renewable sources.

Battery swapping is not so ludicrous. The device doesn't look any more complicated than a carwash.

Top Gear staged the breakdown of the Tesla to suit their agenda. They later admitted that the battery was not flat but that they pushed the car to show what would happen if the car had run out of charge.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2008/dec/24/jeremy-clarkson-top-gear-tesla-electric-car

Thanks DynaMick

I Had my suspicions and Tesla really showed them up in that article and definetley came out on top. Love the way the logged into the car and said, sorry guys ye didn't run out of juice and then the BBC back peddeling! Funny!

Nice one!

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭cianof

I wouldn't listen to top gear talking about EVs.

Top gear are sponsored by Shell

http://live.topgear.com/world_tour/worldtour2009/sponsor
    http://www.marketing-interactive.com/news/10321
    http://vfactor.topgear.com/Pages/About-V-Power.aspx

Top gear is about entertainment, not technical information.