Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

It's PanDENmonium! [Off Topic Chat]

• Registered Users Posts: 12 Colm?

Smithwicks is nice, but it's what I'd get if:

a) there's no craft ales there because I'm a dirty hipster
    b) I don't trust their stout pour

Whiskey though, that's for me.

(yay most of my posts on my new account are about alcohol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Ahhhh lads go vodka or go home! I dont even like cider; unless its koppaberg strawberry..that shít tastes like ribena :D

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭MauraTheThird

I do adore a Zac and Coke... If only you could buy naggins of the stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

Vodka for everything cause can have as much and mixed. Plus made of potatoes #keepingirishalive . Orchard thieves won my heart as a better cider. Although the lough bar in Limerick do a lovely craft cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

I miss Bulmers. :o

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Lol one you vodka and cranberry is there any going back?
    Or tbh Id even drink vodka straight if I needed... :o
    Orchard Thieves is unreallllll for a casual drink or a kopperberg/Alska(The Aldi things?)
    I always find drinks taste a bit better with a cheeky smoke tho oops..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

deise_girl wrote: »
    Lol one you vodka and cranberry is there any going back?
    Or tbh Id even drink vodka straight if I needed... :o
    Orchard Thieves is unreallllll for a casual drink or a kopperberg/Alska(The Aldi things?)
    I always find drinks taste a bit better with a cheeky smoke tho oops..

Everything is better with a cheeky smoke tbh.

Until the next morning when you wake up and feel like your mouth has been rubbed down with sandpaper that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I rarely (if ever) actually drink. I'm such a boring human being.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Are we still talking about booze?

I rarely (if ever) actually drink. I'm such a boring human being.

I basically gave up drinking a few years back because I felt it was becoming a problem for me. I basically will drink on a night out probably once or twice a year now.

Lately I've started having one or two bottles every few weeks with a takeaway or while watching a match or something. I'm basically trying to disassociate alcohol from the "Rawwwwrrrrr let's get f*cking plastered!" attitude I had before.

I had to give it up over the Summer (bar 2 nights) but tbf I think that's still good going coz it was just bringing me to such a bad place for a while.. Those 2 nights went fine tho no psychological damage thank god

Also on the note of a cheeky smoke I know like everyone just knows smoking is bad and that you shouldn't but is it really really a dodgy habit? If only ever when I'm drinking but omg the first night I drank this summer it was more looking forward to that I was than alcohol it was fab but I'm scared it will kill me if I continue

deise_girl wrote: »
    Also on the note of a cheeky smoke I know like everyone just knows smoking is bad and that you shouldn't but is it really really a dodgy habit? If only ever when I'm drinking but omg the first night I drank this summer it was more looking forward to that I was than alcohol it was fab but I'm scared it will kill me if I continue

TBH I think one or two every now and then is grand. Yeah, they're not good for you, but neither is the belly full of liquor or the dirty kebab you'll have that night. S'all part of living like.

Obviously if you feel like you need a smoke then you've got a problem, but honestly I don't see the distinction between cigarettes and alcohol, and those who try to pain cigarettes as some all encompassing evil while still enjoying alcohol are just deluded and hypocritical.

I could link the obligatory Bill Hicks thing, but I can't be arsed right now. :P

Seems to have become stupid this whole i only smoke when i drink ****e. please you dont need a smoke when you drink. i watch my addicted ex smoke a couple everytime we meet and dont see them drinking. but ive met several friends who started this whole only for social. if you can go weeks on end without one why start on your night out

Jhcx wrote: »
    Seems to have become stupid this whole i only smoke when i drink ****e. please you dont need a smoke when you drink. i watch my addicted ex smoke a couple everytime we meet and dont see them drinking. but ive met several friends who started this whole only for social. if you can go weeks on end without one why start on your night out

But, why not have one or two on a night out? Like, I don't need a smoke when I'm drinking, but if the opportunity comes up to have one, I'll go for it because it feels fecking great.

cause why have one in the first place. thats like the whole argument of smoking weed. dont need to do it. but its offered and there why not? i suppose i have a different view as a non smoker. but its like everyone one of you can go for ages without it but suddenly fall to the knees when opportunity presents itself. because its "cool" or a stress reliever. fck it i thought going for a few shots was a stress reliever.

But it's not about "falling to the knees" for them. For me, it's purely a "Y'know, a smoke would be lovely right about now. Why the hell not?", same as "D'you know, I'd murder a pizza right now..."

Like, why did we all have our first pint? Like, what's the point of alcohol?

There's no point other than it makes us feel good.

I honestly don't understand why it's perfectly fine to have a few drinks every now and then, and everyone will say "Ah yeah, he only has a few social drinks every now and then.", but if someone smokes a few cigarettes they're "addicted and going to die with cancer and are deluding themselves into thinking they're not!"

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    TBH I think one or two every now and then is grand. Yeah, they're not good for you, but neither is the belly full of liquor or the dirty kebab you'll have that night. S'all part of living like.

Obviously if you feel like you need a smoke then you've got a problem, but honestly I don't see the distinction between cigarettes and alcohol, and those who try to pain cigarettes as some all encompassing evil while still enjoying alcohol are just deluded and hypocritical.

I could link the obligatory Bill Hicks thing, but I can't be arsed right now. :P
    One or two heh... <.<
    But yea like I know theyre bad for you but I eat terrible **** a lot of the time and like the toxins in alcohol etc etc like theres a lot bad for you but why deprive of everything when you could be the healthiest person ever and still run over by a bus one day

Ah I dont *need* one but I really enjoy having one so...
    Like I really enjoy eating a share pack of chocolates in one go or really enjoy staying out in the sun in hope of tanning..

I feel like Im aware a lot of things are bad for you but Id rather hear the actual reality of how bad things are rather than the extremes and possiblities

• Registered Users Posts: 781 ✭✭✭LoveLamps

not sure if talking about fags or weed :pac:

But it's not about "falling to the knees" for them. For me, it's purely a "Y'know, a smoke would be lovely right about now. Why the hell not?", same as "D'you know, I'd murder a pizza right now..."

Like, why did we all have our first pint? Like, what's the point of alcohol?

There's no point other than it makes us feel good.

I honestly don't understand why it's perfectly fine to have a few drinks every now and then, and everyone will say "Ah yeah, he only has a few social drinks every now and then.", but if someone smokes a few cigarettes they're "addicted and going to die with cancer and are deluding themselves into thinking they're not!"

ya but you eat pizza most days but thats food. you dont just have it for social. like the whole argument is if your not going to smoke everyday why use drink as an excuse to do so. fair enough if you enjoy smoking without a drink thats grand your not backing up anything to want you to smoke only your own desire. alcohol is for a lot of reasons peer pressure would be one in my books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

I don't really see the problem with having a cigarette solely in a social setting. As a regular habit they're gonna wreck you. I've been a smoker for five years and already I can feel what they're doing to me.
    Having a few in the smoking area of the icon at the weekend isn't going to suddenly give you emphysema at 30 though; The student diet is probably doing way more damage to the bodies of early twenties people than five cigarettes on a Saturday.
    On the other hand, social smokers puzzle me.
    I spend most of my time out in the smoking area when out. If I didn't smoke though I'd still be out there. That's where the conversation is. I don't see what's social about a ciggarette ;bar the fact that people tend to socialise in the smoking area. People talk there because it's too loud to talk inside. Not because cigarettes are some kind of social lubricant. That's what alcohol is for.
    I'm chugging down fags out there because I have to. Because I need to. Because I'll be in a bad mood if I don't. Fags for me are for stress release at work. Getting out for ten minutes while the shift is collapsing around you in the middle of a Dinner rush. I love them for that. I look forward to those cigarettes.
    Every other time ,however, it's simply out of habit or boredom or simply just rolling out of reflex. There's no pleasure in it. That's when I hate them.
    A few social cigarettes aren't going to kill you but it's very easy to go from a few social ones to getting hooked. I started out as a social smoker; then having a few at work as well before finally just making it the thing I did to keep my hands busy. They make theyre presence known fairly quick when your smoking 20 a day though. Beer will give you a hangover but they at least make you a bit looser among friends. Fags give you this horrible crap in your throat you cough up in the morning. Forget cancer( that's already destiny because of family history) that morning gunk is what makes me want to quit.

I think "social smoking" is just a term used to distinguish between having one or two cigarettes on a night out from being addicted and smoking every day. I think the militant non-smokers (who I absolutely loathe btw, but that's a different discussion) use that as a stick to beat people who enjoy a few cigarettes with in order to push their own agenda.

The point I was making with pizza Jhcx is that pizza is, by and large, pretty terrible for you. But we eat it because it's like an orgasm in a cardboard box topped with pepperoni. If all we wanted was food, we'd have a nice garden salad or something, but we want to enjoy what we're eating every now and then.

I also think it's pretty stupid to suggest that either you enjoy smoking all the time or you don't. If someone walked in now and was like "Want to come out for a smoke?" I'd answer no. Because they taste vile and I get nothing out of them when sober. But when I'm having a few pints, the combination of alcohol and nicotine works for me. It enhances my enjoyment.

Again, it's not about "using alcohol as an excuse" to smoke. It's that the combination of the setting and the various chemicals work in that instance.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Lee_la

I smoked for the first time the other night. It started out because I was trying to prove that I was able to roll even though the first one I made was a disgrace, but then I ended up smoking them. Normally I wouldn't touch fags and I don't really plan on smoking again but I think it was an experience worth having anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Lee_la wrote: »
    I smoked for the first time the other night. It started out because I was trying to prove that I was able to roll even though the first one I made was a disgrace, but then I ended up smoking them. Normally I wouldn't touch fags and I don't really plan on smoking again but I think it was an experience worth having anyway

In 5 years time that little icon you have of lisa simpson will no longer be there but rather replaced by one of these lovely ladies :pac::pac::pac:

02de967eb46c5687073dca06e501e65a.498x330x1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Lee_la

HugsiePie wrote: »
    In 5 years time that little icon you have of lisa simpson will no longer be there but rather replaced by one of these lovely ladies :pac::pac::pac:

Haha nah I've tried smoking and decided it isn't for me. But if I get a choice I choose Patty over Selma

In a matter of less than 6years you can rack up a nice sum of 23k spent on then.

That's if you smoke 20 a day. ((23,000 / 6) / 52) = 73 = roughly a tenner a day.

It's a bit of a bullsh*t statistic tbh. You could just as easy say that people will spend 46k over six years if they smoke 40 a day. It's meaningless.

A more realistic scenario (for this discussion) would be someone who smokes 4 cigarettes on a night out once a week. Which is a box every 5 weeks, which is roughly €100 a year, which is €600 over six years. Pretty insignificant considering someone having 3-4 pints on a night out once a week (let's set the price of a pint at €4) would be spending €16 a week, which is €832 a year which is the bones of five grand over the course of 6 years.

So from a purely economical standpoint, people who drink pints are actually wasting a lot more money than people who have a few smokes.

#statisticsproveeverythingandanything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

You know those people you meet on a night out, you don't like them and you they don't like you but you do the awkward chat for a few minutes.

Well I was a bit drunk on Sunday, and apparently whenever someone I didn't like tried to talk to me or any of us, I kept shouting "Avada Kedavra" at them

Well I was a bit drunk on Sunday,
    and apparently [...] I kept shouting "Avada Kedavra" at them

J'accuse! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

J'accuse! :pac:

imagine what happens on a bad night then :pac:

Sitting outside a cafe on lunchbreak in dublin. Up comes a panhandler begging for money. Normally I'll give change but there's just so many in this city compared to limericks. I've started refusing. Didn't need to this time though. His girlfriend saw my stern face, navy workpants and black shoes and assumed I was a guard rather than a cook.
    "He's a copper,come on"
    I'll just need to learn the lingo and rough up a few water protesters and I'll have my disguise down. Will never be bothered for change again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

"Have you drink taaaken?" is definitely one you'll need.

Well, lahds, who owns the vhe-hicle now?

Look at me like that again and I'll ram this baton up your hole boss.

Lads just bit curious do we ever do any movie nights?

Like, with friends?

Na here with boardsies.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Na here with boardsies.

How would that work? Everybody meeting up, or watching the same film at the same time and posting about it?

An File wrote: »
    How would that work? Everybody meeting up, or watching the same film at the same time and posting about it?

Would have to try meet up somewhere. Bit it's hard cause most of us are in all the cities

Can you link to the paragraph mentioning this. I have read through the charter in the sticky but can't see anything. I could be missing it. Saw the part about being safe online with sub text about telling people who your meeting. Just curious so many charters on boards it's worse then work

I was being overzealous super mod. I am officially a gobdaw.

... anyhoo!

Speaking of movie nights, my housemates and I are currently setting up a mini cinema in our sitting room. We've got no TV (because seriously UPC, €75 for TV+Internet? Not gonna happen!). We bought a projector and are building a PC that we can use for Netflix and movies and stuff. We're gonna have one entire wall dedicated as the screen. S'gonna be classs. :D

One the lads has that done to okay plantation and movies. Quality of projector isint great but then again it's near 10years old. New projector should do for better.

Oh yeah, we're not expecting much like, I paid 90 quid for the projector or something so I'm not expecting IMAX quality like. :pac:

Once it's around DVD quality I'll be happy like.

I'm jealous. Very very jealous.

I don't even have a tv, and the lack of great british bake off hurts my heart.

I'm jealous. Very very jealous.

I don't even have a tv, and the lack of great british bake off hurts my heart.

All I'm saying is google is your best friend on your laptop. Or if you own windows 10 there's an app for that

Had a bit of an existential crisis last night in a bar in Dublin. After yet another week on the road for work.
    One week here has me reevaluating what I want out of my life and my twenties.
    I think me and Limerick have about run our course. I need out.

Had a bit of an existential crisis last night in a bar in Dublin. After yet another week on the road for work.
    One week here has me reevaluating what I want out of my life and my twenties.
    I think me and Limerick have about run our course. I need out.

I'm the same now tbh. I've been in Limerick for over 5 years now, and it's starting to feel like I'll never get out of here....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,914 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Why did we never do a Limerick beers?!