Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

british sas , are they over rated

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

On the ladder issue,I think that was raised but some objections were raised aswell ( I'am not sure,I really must watch that Discovery Programme on it again)

The show was that "SAS,Special Forces Heroes" one,I thought it was a good series to be fair, and the men involved never really bigged themselves up in it to the extent were it was unwatchable.IIRC one of the main issues involved in the Iranian embassy Siege episode was how close the mission was to disaster.

That doc was, in my opinion as accurate as you'd get.

Agree they spoke fairly - the very reason I wondered earlier if "Tak" ever spoke on interview.

BTW - he was in action in 2003 Iraq, albeit ex sas at this stage. http://bit.ly/bhVNRz

"Tak was among 200 Fijians recruited to the British army in the 1960s"

Almost 40 years before this action!!!!

APOLOGIES for bringing him into this - feel foolish now.

Man has had some career and put up fierce fight here.

• Registered Users Posts: 35 MrConservative

The Embassy op is now 30 years ago. Happening only 7 years after de Billiere finally got the green light and then not a hell of a lot of money, to develop a specialised CT capability in the UK armed forces. This gentleman is not something you can buy, though good funding does give a technical edge. It takes many years to develop and train a CT capability to a constistently high standard. What the SAS achieved 30 years ago in both the context and standards of the time was absolutely impressive. The British SAS first and then soon after its two other commonwealth cousins, have been in the CT business since the mid 1970's and have incomparable shared institutional knowledge across the full gambit of specialised operations involving armed force in the decades preceding it to back it up.

The fact is that you cannot extrapolate a 30 year old operation that was conducted in the infancy of modern CT ops into a 21st Century context. Just as you can also not base opinions of an operations success or failings on media content such as DVD's or indeed published open source information to get an appreciation of the capability of any first tier specialised force.

Are they the UK SAS (or any first tier specialised force) overated? Franky, they wouldn't have the time to care. It is not about how physically tough one is either. You can find tougher people than the average trooper here and there. However, it is about the knowledge of the institution and how that institution applies its knowlege and most significantly and this is where the SAS excel, is learning from its knowledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

On the ladder issue,I think that was raised but some objections were raised aswell ( I'am not sure,I really must watch that Discovery Programme on it again)

The show was that "SAS,Special Forces Heroes" one,I thought it was a good series to be fair, and the men involved never really bigged themselves up in it to the extent were it was unwatchable.IIRC one of the main issues involved in the Iranian embassy Siege episode was how close the mission was to disaster.
    Watched about 20 minutes of it myself and turned over. The usual self praise and self glorification and a totally uncritical film crew. Any elite regiment could make out that they were so prefectly good in the same circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

That doc was, in my opinion as accurate as you'd get.

Agree they spoke fairly - the very reason I wondered earlier if "Tak" ever spoke on interview.

BTW - he was in action in 2003 Iraq, albeit ex sas at this stage. http://bit.ly/bhVNRz

"Tak was among 200 Fijians recruited to the British army in the 1960s"

Almost 40 years before this action!!!!

APOLOGIES for bringing him into this - feel foolish now.

Man has had some career and put up fierce fight here.

I thought the same too,imo it was a very well put together show,cheers for that link. Loved the bit he pretended to surrender,let them get close and open up on them!
    Watched about 20 minutes of it myself and turned over. The usual self praise and self glorification and a totally uncritical film crew. Any elite regiment could make out that they were so prefectly good in the same circumstances.

Regarding the Iranian Embassy siege,as I said the main point was the fact the success of the mission was on a constant knife edge,and at no time was it going to be a cake-walk. In my view they highlighted their mistakes made in recon,not spotting the glass dome until they actually got up to the roof.

On the self praise stuff,the way I see it is thats the way any SF unit is,indeed any military unit is. Sure you even seen it within our own DF with anyone with a Beret on thinking they are in the best unit going! It would be natural human
    behaviour,what with all the training they go through. Multiply that ten fold for a SF unit.

Going back to ambushes, SAS/Det ambushes could be very devious, they simply used PIRA tactics against them. Example there was a UDR part time soldier, who also drove a school bus, Special branch and army intel. knew he was being targetted and PIRA intel gathered on his movements, the SAS simply replaced him with an SAS trooper, drove the bus to a local republican village and pretended it had a flat tyre, local republican dickers(intel. gatherers) noticed this, after 90 mins a PIRA ASU turned up to kill him, but he was simply the bait for an SAS ambush. The PIRA ASU members were shot dead, such operations devistated PIRA moral and they needed spectaculars to sustain it.
    Well they could be devious but the Provos were no sitting ducks and it often back fired on them or completely innocent people were killed by them. Their was a myriad of undercover organisations in the north during the troubles such as 14 Intelligence, Military Reconnaissance Force (MRF), Force Reaction Unit (FRU), RUC Special Branch, MI5 etc Whenever one of these shadowy organisations pulled off a successful operation, eg. Loughgall, the media always credited the SAS for it, when it went wrong and some of their operatives got killed or exposed, it was put down to "undercover soldiers".

Take for example the MRF ( Military Reconnaissance Force). Based at Palace Barracks, County Down it is believed that soldiers from elite regiments, including the Special Air Service (SAS) made up its members. During the early 1970s the unit set up the Four Square Laundry in Belfast which offered a cheap cleaning service but was intended to collect information about IRA activities in west Belfast. Clothes sent for cleaning were routinely checked for traces of explosives or lead residues from bullets. The IRA subsequently found out about the MRF operation and on 2 October 1972 attacked a laundry van being used to collect and deliver clothes. The British army admitted one " undercover soldier " was shot dead while the IRA claimed that three were killed.

Then there was 16 year old John Boyle. He had found an IRA arms dump near Dunloy, County Antrim and his family had reported the matter to the (RUC). The RUC, together with the British Army, took the decision to monitor the dump in the hope that members of the IRA would return to it. John Boyle's curiosity must have taken him back unsuspectingly to the dump and the "undercover soldiers" shot the 16 year old dead. No one was ever prosecuted. As I said, if it went rightt it was credited to the SAS, if it went wrong it was blamed on undercover soldiers.

http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/cgi-bin/dyndeaths.pl?querytype=date&day=11&month=07&year=1978

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭troubleshooter

Well they could be devious but the Provos were no sitting ducks and it often back fired on them or completely innocent people were killed by them. Their was a myriad of undercover organisations in the north during the troubles such as 14 Intelligence, Military Reconnaissance Force (MRF), Force Reaction Unit (FRU), RUC Special Branch, MI5 etc Whenever one of these shadowy organisations pulled off a successful operation, eg. Loughgall, the media always credited the SAS for it, when it went wrong and some of their operatives got killed or exposed, it was put down to "undercover soldiers".

Take for example the MRF ( Military Reconnaissance Force). Based at Palace Barracks, County Down it is believed that soldiers from elite regiments, including the Special Air Service (SAS) made up its members. During the early 1970s the unit set up the Four Square Laundry in Belfast which offered a cheap cleaning service but was intended to collect information about IRA activities in west Belfast. Clothes sent for cleaning were routinely checked for traces of explosives or lead residues from bullets. The IRA subsequently found out about the MRF operation and on 2 October 1972 attacked a laundry van being used to collect and deliver clothes. The British army admitted one " undercover soldier " was shot dead while the IRA claimed that three were killed.

Then there was 16 year old John Boyle. He had found an IRA arms dump near Dunloy, County Antrim and his family had reported the matter to the (RUC). The RUC, together with the British Army, took the decision to monitor the dump in the hope that members of the IRA would return to it. John Boyle's curiosity must have taken him back unsuspectingly to the dump and the "undercover soldiers" shot the 16 year old dead. No one was ever prosecuted. As I said, if it went rightt it was credited to the SAS, if it went wrong it was blamed on undercover soldiers.

http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/cgi-bin/dyndeaths.pl?querytype=date&day=11&month=07&year=1978

Actually when undercover soldiers were shot dead, their parent regiment was given as 14 Int coy (now the SRR) was a covert unit. This unit also had G Squadron SAS as part of it but it only made up about a fifth of 14 Int Coy, others came from other army units, the RAF reg and RMs. But the SAS did establish and run 14 Int coy.

John Boyle, obviously that was a tragedy, but returning to an arms dump he had discovered and soldiers were mounting a covert/Reactive OP at at 6am, was an act of folly and a tragedy, the soldiers did not know who John Boyle was, they most likely throught he was a PIRA member, the soldier claimed he throught he saw a a weapon pointed towards him at the inquest, which was disputed, at the inquest the soldiers were criticised, but thats a long way from murder.

http://www.eliteukforces.info/the-det/

John Boyle, obviously that was a tragedy, but returning to an arms dump he had discovered and soldiers were mounting a covert/Reactive OP at at 6am, was an act of folly and a tragedy, the soldiers did not know who John Boyle was, they most likely throught he was a PIRA member, the soldier claimed he throught he saw a a weapon pointed towards him at the inquest, which was disputed, at the inquest the soldiers were criticised, but thats a long way from murder.
    Yeah, we've heard that sh!t too many times down the years, when someone was casually walking down the street, Derry 1972, Croke Park 1920 etc, etc

Someone going to an arms dump at 6am is not the same as walking down the street.

Could you give me a proper link to show it was at 6.00 in the morning as I'm very skeptical of that. Besides, why not tell him to freeze and apprehend him as he entered the area instead of waiting for him to uncover the weapon and arming himself with a firearm and waiting for him to point at a coincidentally hidden soldier and then shooting him ?

If that's not a load of bolox then what is.

Could you give me a proper link to show it was at 6.00 in the morning as I'm very skeptical of that. Besides, why not tell him to freeze and apprehend him as he entered the area instead of waiting for him to uncover the weapon and arming himself with a firearm and waiting for him to point at a coincidentally hidden soldier and then shooting him ?

If that's not a load of bolox then what is.

Freeze is Starsky and Hutch :) , they through he was a PIRA member if they had apprehended him before he uncovered the arms, he would have simply said he was out for a walk, they had to catch him red handed, it was very early morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Laughatbigots

Leaving aside that all special forces tend to attract the pyscho and disturbed. They have a tendancy to come from broken or disturbed homes. Be serious who but a sad wee man wants to kill for a living? Nairac (who was British special forces, forget the was he SAS crap) was a total crank, educated like many of them at the crank house of Ampleforth (Great RC tradition in the SAS) God only knows what went on there for Nairac to have a passionate hate of Irish Catholics! I never went there (not a posh boy like Robert Nairac), but by chance - know of one of ex his school friends. Who said that Nairac was off the scale.

Do not take my word for it, read another who brags of being among scum (blame the hero if you do not like the choice of words)
    But as human beings they were scum

They are not the heroic types portrayed either.
    The SAS kill each other to try and survive
    First line of defence when captured is to act like a non threatning girl, until you can take adavantage. Real bravery of the Samurai. NOT.
    The guy misses out that both Navy guys managed to survive (I know this for absolute fact) proving that the SAS are not exactly the -all action -any event- super invincible gallant poster boys, that some of you wee macho men lovers dream about. :D

22 men were killed, 18 of whom were SAS, drowned like scared Titanic passengers, fighting each other. Not such a gallant image now is it wee boys.

They are just human beings, some decent among them, some brave, and some evil warped cowardly killers among them. Much like the citizens of Cumbria.

Those among you who gloat, I hope for societies sake - you are still in primary school, and only act this way because you have been isolated, and with care you can be made to think like a grown up human being.

When you eventually grow up and mature in life - you will realize that those impressed by your gun collection, and ability to fight like a macho man :D LMFAO - get younger and younger than you by the ever shorter day. Until one day they put you in a home because old mad Fred can no longer keep up.

Killing is not fun, those who think it is and gloat and glorify, you are pathetic, end of message.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

You call yourself Laughatbigots, then make a series of wild generalisations about an entire regiment, follow it by calling a guy a coward and a murderer for surviving where his friends died (If you were in the situation, you would do the exact same thing. To say any otherwise is ridiculous and stupid. You are human, therefore your survival instinct is all-powerful). Don't see the irony there, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

22 men were killed, 18 of whom were SAS, drowned like scared Titanic passengers, fighting each other. Not such a gallant image now is it wee boys.

Being drowned in a sinking helicopter you cant be trained for no matter how mentally strong you are going into battle and to be able to remain calm under fire you can. To even joke about 20 men drowning in a sinking helicopter make's me think your as sick as you make the sas out to be. Your body naturally looks for air whilst under water and more so if you not looking to die.
    Id imagine the fact the lads in the navy survived was due to the fact that they where possibly operating the heli and they had a better knowledge of what to do in the event of a crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 supersportq

You call yourself Laughatbigots, then make a series of wild generalisations about an entire regiment, follow it by calling a guy a coward and a murderer for surviving where his friends died (If you were in the situation, you would do the exact same thing. To say any otherwise is ridiculous and stupid. You are human, therefore your survival instinct is all-powerful). Don't see the irony there, no?
    If there was some propagangda BS story about an SAS man helping old ladies across the road or refereeing a kids soccer match you'd be one of the first to " make a series of wild generalisations about an entire regiment " about how they were such a lovely bunch of honourable gentlemen etc. The man is right, the calibre of young men who join the Paras, SAS etc are violent misfits and the bully's from rough estates and tower blocks. They cannot fit in anywhere except into an enviorment of thuggery, bullying and intimadation, all to show their " a real man ".

I couldn't care less about these glorified knackers, it's their victims in Afghanistan, Iraq, Derry and Belfast that concerns me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭nuac

Troubleshooter

Knew the Royal Marine from Westport who was killed in Afghanistan. He was hugely interested in his profession, and had good prospects,

His funeral in Westport was impressive. An honour guard of marines in their dress uniforms escorted the hearse thru the streets of the town. A marine bugler played the last post at his grave - practically in the shádow of Croagh Patrick.

He came from a very popular local family, but these military respects would not have been possible in years past.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭twinytwo

If there was some propagangda BS story about an SAS man helping old ladies across the road or refereeing a kids soccer match you'd be one of the first to " make a series of wild generalisations about an entire regiment " about how they were such a lovely bunch of honourable gentlemen etc. The man is right, the calibre of young men who join the Paras, SAS etc are violent misfits and the bully's from rough estates and tower blocks. They cannot fit in anywhere except into an enviorment of thuggery, bullying and intimadation, all to show their " a real man ".

I couldn't care less about these glorified knackers, it's their victims in Afghanistan, Iraq, Derry and Belfast that concerns me.

so you judge generations of men who have been para's/sf based on the actions of a few?.

Another troll who can only look at things from one side.. Its hurtfull when you see people talk about one's relations like this.:mad::mad: ... My uncle's where far from
    violent misfits and the bully's from rough estates and tower blocks. They cannot fit in anywhere except into an enviorment of thuggery, bullying and intimadation, all to show their " a real man ".

They grew up in a farming location and worked of the land. So where this council **** come's from i dont no infact your talking pure rubbish as most kids or young adults cant take orders thats what see's them leave school early.
    The differance between the SF and normal AF is that people in the SF like to be the best they can be and aspire to be just this.

Having said that terrorists in the north, iraq Afghan dont careless for loss of innocent lives. Omagh mean anything to you? Sep 11th london manchester warrington????? Yes they made mistakes but they were nothing on the same scale as to what the terrorists did both now and 40 yrs ago..

elius wrote: »
    Being drowned in a sinking helicopter you cant be trained for no matter how mentally strong you are going into battle and to be able to remain calm under fire you can. To even joke about 20 men drowning in a sinking helicopter make's me think your as sick as you make the sas out to be. Your body naturally looks for air whilst under water and more so if you not looking to die.
    Id imagine the fact the lads in the navy survived was due to the fact that they where possibly operating the heli and they had a better knowledge of what to do in the event of a crash.

Imagine away, I am sure you do that very often lol

It is handy when the poster contradicts himself in his own opinion. You save me the job of making you look even more of the non thinking dreamer.

To even joke about 20 men drowning in a sinking helicopter make's me think your as sick as you make the sas out to be.
    I fail to see where I am joking or laughing at the deaths. I am laughing at the expense of those immature or very sick people, who glorify violence and death. If that upsets you enough to post and invent angle, then it is obviously you who has the medical issue.

Your medical issue being that -Anyone can read some very sick people on this thread make very clear sick jokes about peoples deaths. Your absence of diagnosis there, markers that your disgust is based not upon general morality, but soley upon your bias or politics.

Regards calling the SAS sick, maybe little man you might want to learn to read, as opposed to scan what you want to read, invent where you see fit.

I stated that they died like Titanic victims, that was wrong of me, because I know from accounts that some Titanic victms died bravely offering up their own lives for others.
    In this case I know differently, but you should concentrate upon the SAS survivors account, as that you will not be so eager to re-invent.

You do not like the story, complain to the ex-SAS guy who tells you like it was, not like you dream as you gaze at your posters.
    All the above applies to you boy as well.

Show anyone where I did one of the things you state.
    The only one making wild generalizations ironically It was you.

I stated this!
    They are just human beings, some decent among them, some brave, and some evil warped cowardly killers among them. Much like the citizens of Cumbria.

I stated that Special forces (not one regiment in particular) tend to attract the pyscho and disturbed. They have a tendancy to come from broken or disturbed homes.

Another one of these moral guidance counsellors for his own bias!
    Nothing to say without inventing wee boy, close the lip now and then and listen.

That is why you have two ears and one mouth.

I am not sorry that I had to deflate the colour poster image of you wee boys heroes. They are nothing special at all, they are just willing to do the evil work for unknown powers, without question or reason.
    It is something you will realize one day, assuming you grow up! Right now you are just too immature.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I stated this!

I stated that Special forces (not one regiment in particular) tend to attract the pyscho and disturbed. They have a tendancy to come from broken or disturbed homes.

Nothing to say without inventing wee boy, close the lip now and then and listen.

I am not sorry that I had to deflate the colour poster image of you wee boys heroes. They are nothing special at all, they are just willing to do the evil work for unknown powers, without question or reason.
    It is something you will realize one day, assuming you grow up! Right now you are just too immature.

"Boy"? Lovely. Well, if we're in the business of condescending terms of address, you get to be "darlin'".

So, darlin', you don't consider the following to be a generalisation?

Now, considering you said yourself that you said this, stated it in the form of a generalisation, you can consider that proven. Now of course, darlin', you should provide supporting evidence for your assertions with regard to the background and psychological profile of thousands and thousands of people whose identities by their very nature are not certain.

Let's face it, you're the one with an agenda and a bias here. Your slim equivocation here
    I stated this!

does feck all to disguise that.

Imagine away, I am sure you do that very often lol

It is handy when the poster contradicts himself in his own opinion. You save me the job of making you look even more of the non thinking dreamer.

I fail to see where I am joking or laughing at the deaths. I am laughing at the expense of those immature or very sick people, who glorify violence and death. If that upsets you enough to post and invent angle, then it is obviously you who has the medical issue.

Your medical issue being that -Anyone can read some very sick people on this thread make very clear sick jokes about peoples deaths. Your absence of diagnosis there, markers that your disgust is based not upon general morality, but soley upon your bias or politics.

Regards calling the SAS sick, maybe little man you might want to learn to read, as opposed to scan what you want to read, invent where you see fit.

I stated that they died like Titanic victims, that was wrong of me, because I know from accounts that some Titanic victms died bravely offering up their own lives for others.
    In this case I know differently, but you should concentrate upon the SAS survivors account, as that you will not be so eager to re-invent.

You do not like the story, complain to the ex-SAS guy who tells you like it was, not like you dream as you gaze at your posters.

I stated this!

You have no concept of the real world and are most defo living behind rose tinted classes. Do you beleave everything you read in the paper?? And a tabloid like the mail at that laughing my fooking ass off. Intelligent man :rolleyes::rolleyes:

You answered your own question about joking when you mentioned victims of the titanic.

What gives you a right to judge them just so they choice to join the armed force's. If your making reference to the sas as being evil warped cowardly killers. You may say the same about every man and woman that picks up a gun to serve there nation.

Again another sick referance made to people of cumbria needless :confused::confused::confused:

I'm far from stupid kid. I just look at the bigger picture while you go off on needless rants that to be honest mean **** partly based on a tabloid. (wonder how much your man got payed???)

So lets all stand back let genocide resume in Rwanda (estimated 800,000 killed). Al-Qaeda to continue there attack on the western world :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Edmund Burke: "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.. Have a good look at this quote you might learn something.

Looking at the in-tandem posting timings and approach of you pair (of immature wee boys (boy).
    When your image of the macho man is shown to be just that - a image.

The boy obviously reverts to either.

1. Ganging up with another (wee macho man poster admiring) immature boy :D in a foolish attempt to think you can argue a point.
    Or
    2. And more likely - you are the one and the same boy, using different names to back up your immature and naive ideas. Ideas of glory very likely handed down to you by one of the blazer brigade.

Not even intelligent enough to be able to argue actual points online, what on earth are you like in real life, or do you not get out the bedroom much, what with your quest for the medal of honor an all that :D

Enough time with you boy. You want to throw your rattle out the pram just because you do not like your macho man ideas squashed. Made to look like a wee girls pop star crush. It is a shame you are so upset, but someone was bound to do it sooner or later. You need to grow up, conclude no one (except other wee immature boys) is going to be impressed by you as a macho men.
    Like the sad Lion out the Wizard of OZ, afraid of everyone and no one but his own sad shadow.

Big boys know there is always someone tougher, you do not know what is real tough. I suggest you go to one of the many parts of the world where people survive on what you throw in the trash.

You or your heroes would not last a month.

Tough is not some immature boy in any special force, anywhere.

If you want to concentrate on - are the SAS over rated (which they are if anyone believes the self promoted hype about them being the best, 1 fact alone is the USA and many others would squash the UK like a gnat inside of a month)

They have well trained for the killing task like all other special forces - but the best literally- in literal terms of killing and winning -is those who can kill the most- those who would ultimately win. That of course would be those with more guns and power. The UK would not even be in the top 10. Pop goes another dream of yours.

Just argue the points in the links provided.
    Unlike your girlie dreams, I prefer to talk from a factual basis.

I use comparisons in the hope to make people think, that it is above you wee head is no shock.
    I expect that is because unlike you boy, I have been there done it and know how pathetic it all is.
    I can tell you much more about the helicopter and SAS if you like, things you will not be able to read online or in any colour macho book about that very episode.
    These things will just not leave you so starry eyed and impressed as the blazer brigade have left you.

Grow up.

All you wee boys on here with your cowboy oufits and gun collections. Talking of the impressive and different ways of killing people, you are beyond sad, and I only hope the Garda are watching you all very closely.

You are one step away from the cranks of Cumbria and Hungerford.

I suggest you read the background of those sad muppets who took the lives of useful people.

Terrorists, Rwanda, War to end all wars. Grow up, learn to read and absorb information from many sources, take a look at the other side of the fence, and start thinking for yourself.

Try to work our what is important in life, your one life. Is it going to be you saving the world from the boogy man. A boogy man that some media told you about, a boogy man that exists over the hill, you can't see it, never met it. But you are willing to kill it.

Ever thought the boogy man is a reflection, he exists on both sides of the hill. A convenience used by those who want more and swallowed by ignorant and naive just like you.

One day you will (with effort) conclude that -The same boogy man headlines for the aggressive immature to swallow have been going on since records of history began.
    Human beings, especially young boys like you are a liability, not humanities salvation

Education not the gun can be the only real hope.

:D Whatever did you dream or watch to think you will make such a difference.
    You were born like every human, unable to walk and even clean yourself, and you will like every human end up that way.

Work it out.

Save others by saving your own life first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Laughatbigots, call one more poster "boy", "wee boy" or any other childish nonsense and you'll be banned for trolling.

If you can't post in a civilised manner, don't post at all.

Looking at the in-tandem posting timings and approach of you pair (of immature wee boys (boy).
    When your image of the macho man is shown to be just that - a image.

The boy obviously reverts to either.

1. Ganging up with another (wee macho man poster admiring) immature boy :D in a foolish attempt to think you can argue a point.
    Or
    2. And more likely - you are the one and the same boy, using different names to back up your immature and naive ideas. Ideas of glory very likely handed down to you by one of the blazer brigade.

Not even intelligent enough to be able to argue actual points online, what on earth are you like in real life, or do you not get out the bedroom much, what with your quest for the medal of honor an all that :D

Enough time with you boy. You want to throw your rattle out the pram just because you do not like your macho man ideas squashed. Made to look like a wee girls pop star crush. It is a shame you are so upset, but someone was bound to do it sooner or later. You need to grow up, conclude no one (except other wee immature boys) is going to be impressed by you as a macho men.
    Like the sad Lion out the Wizard of OZ, afraid of everyone and no one but his own sad shadow.

Big boys know there is always someone tougher, you do not know what is real tough. I suggest you go to one of the many parts of the world where people survive on what you throw in the trash.

You or your heroes would not last a month.

Tough is not some immature boy in any special force, anywhere.

If you want to concentrate on - are the SAS over rated (which they are if anyone believes the self promoted hype about them being the best, 1 fact alone is the USA and many others would squash the UK like a gnat inside of a month)

They have well trained for the killing task like all other special forces - but the best literally- in literal terms of killing and winning -is those who can kill the most- those who would ultimately win. That of course would be those with more guns and power. The UK would not even be in the top 10. Pop goes another dream of yours.

Just argue the points in the links provided.
    Unlike your girlie dreams, I prefer to talk from a factual basis.

I use comparisons in the hope to make people think, that it is above you wee head is no shock.
    I expect that is because unlike you boy, I have been there done it and know how pathetic it all is.
    I can tell you much more about the helicopter and SAS if you like, things you will not be able to read online or in any colour macho book about that very episode.
    These things will just not leave you so starry eyed and impressed as the blazer brigade have left you.

Grow up.

All you wee boys on here with your cowboy oufits and gun collections. Talking of the impressive and different ways of killing people, you are beyond sad, and I only hope the Garda are watching you all very closely.

You are one step away from the cranks of Cumbria and Hungerford.

I suggest you read the background of those sad muppets who took the lives of useful people.

Terrorists, Rwanda, War to end all wars. Grow up, learn to read and absorb information from many sources, take a look at the other side of the fence, and start thinking for yourself.

Try to work our what is important in life, your one life. Is it going to be you saving the world from the boogy man. A boogy man that some media told you about, a boogy man that exists over the hill, you can't see it, never met it. But you are willing to kill it.

Ever thought the boogy man is a reflection, he exists on both sides of the hill. A convenience used by those who want more and swallowed by ignorant and naive just like you.

One day you will (with effort) conclude that -The same boogy man headlines for the aggressive immature to swallow have been going on since records of history began.
    Human beings, especially young boys like you are a liability, not humanities salvation

Education not the gun can be the only real hope.

:D Whatever did you dream or watch to think you will make such a difference.
    You were born like every human, unable to walk and even clean yourself, and you will like every human end up that way.

Work it out.

Save others by saving your own life first.

What sh1te are you talking.. Rattle pram boys(boy)

i cant make head nor sence out of the above comments only when you mentioned facts.

The only facts you have given either of us are one from a libary and another from a tabloid. (i dont read them)

How dare you make referance to me being killer and the gaurds should be watching me due to my pass time's who the **** to you think you are. Im not going to bother even writing any more on the subject. Your moral principals are so ****ed up your beyond helping.

Infact id say ya cant even understand yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

from a post by elius Edmund Burke: "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing..

Hi elius,took Me until now to give each post the attention it deserved.

You chose i think My most favourite quote of all time there!
    Due to history i think there will always be tension between posters from Ireland and England.

It is a bit disgusting to read posts that concentrate on the far lesser evils{for want of a better word as Evil smacks of Religion more than degree's of right or wrong}

Some posters have shown such disrepect for those who died fighting against the ultimate 'evil(s)' that if they had got their way none of us would even be able to post anything but party propaganda.

also if it was not so serious it would almost be funny that Soldiers of whatever hue are expected to have the diplomatic skills of politicians,the IQ of Einstein,the courage of a lion,the shrewdness of a fox and add to that psychic skills of knowing in a fraction of a second if someone is going to shoot them or is an innocent civilion,quite a heavy burden to place even on the fairest,non bigoted person.

Whatever the deep injustice felt by any group towards another is,and the reality that freedom fighters{as they and their community see it} cannot wear uniforms,the fact remains that people who wear the uniform of their Country clearly post their colors to a mast.

They often Sarcrafice their lives as a result.
    SF's being denigrated is just not on,They may not wear a uniform but that is the only way to "meet fire with fire"

on balance if people stop to think about it they owe their freedom to their army{in Democratic Countries}

shame on people who do not respect the war dead!

How dare you make referance to me being killer and the gaurds should be watching me due to my pass time's who the **** to you think you are. Im not going to bother even writing any more on the subject. Your moral principals are so ****ed up your beyond helping.

Infact id say ya cant even understand yourself.

Now, that last line actually makes sense, because it is clear you have little idea about understanding much at all of the real world. As for how dare you bit, :) How ironic of you as a admirer of the SAS. That you have no real idea about.
    Just grow up. Get a life in the REAL world.

Your post count mostly on total cra p, shows your urgent need to be concerned with baisc aims in life. Not some weird and immature crush on protecting the over hyped status of bigger boys with shiney guns.

And before you quote anyone again, try to learn how to read, before issuing any childish threat.
    Over and out you wee freak.

Now, that last line actually makes sense, because it is clear you have little idea about understanding much at all of the real world. As for how dare you bit, :) How ironic of you as a admirer of the SAS. That you have no real idea about.
    Just grow up. Get a life in the REAL world.

Your post count mostly on total cra p, shows your urgent need to be concerned with baisc aims in life. Not some weird and immature crush on protecting the over hyped status of bigger boys with shiney guns.

And before you quote anyone again, try to learn how to read, before issuing any childish threat.

Show me a post where i have admired the sas!!!!

I did learn to read not the mail though:rolleyes: I rather the sunday times with a nice mug of coffee and pure facts no interest in them bull **** tabloids. Laughed at:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

O still looking for that threat :rolleyes::rolleyes:

ynotdu wrote: »
    Hi elius,took Me until now to give each post the attention it deserved.

You chose i think My most favourite quote of all time there!
    Due to history i think there will always be tension between posters from Ireland and England.

It is a bit disgusting to read posts that concentrate on the far lesser evils{for want of a better word as Evil smacks of Religion more than degree's of right or wrong}

Some posters have shown such disrepect for those who died fighting against the ultimate 'evil(s)' that if they had got their way none of us would even be able to post anything but party propaganda.

also if it was not so serious it would almost be funny that Soldiers of whatever hue are expected to have the diplomatic skills of politicians,the IQ of Einstein,the courage of a lion,the shrewdness of a fox and add to that psychic skills of knowing in a fraction of a second if someone is going to shoot them or is an innocent civilion,quite a heavy burden to place even on the fairest,non bigoted person.

Whatever the deep injustice felt by any group towards another is,and the reality that freedom fighters{as they and their community see it} cannot wear uniforms,the fact remains that people who wear the uniform of their Country clearly post their colors to a mast.

They often Sarcrafice their lives as a result.
    SF's being denigrated is just not on,They may not wear a uniform but that is the only way to "meet fire with fire"

on balance if people stop to think about it they owe their freedom to their army{in Democratic Countries}

shame on people who do not respect the war dead!

Thats pretty much sum's it all up well wrote lad thanks its a crying shame other's cant learn a little from it.
    Cheers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Laughatbigots, call one more poster "boy", "wee boy" or any other childish nonsense and you'll be banned for trolling.

Follwed by...

Equals...

"See you in two weeks"

NTM