Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I was late for work because..

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Bassfish

Was once half an hour late because I sleepily drove for twenty minutes in the direction of my old workplace, forgetting I had changed jobs a month prior!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,171 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

All through college I was a night-owl. So much so that I worked as a night-porter for a while during a term when I had mostly afternoon lectures.

My first week in my first career job and I managed to forget to set my alarm: woke up at 1pm. Luckily I was only living down the road from the office so I made it in during what would have been my lunch hour... only 4 1/2 hours late for work! How I survived 6 years in that job I've no idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I had one totally unreasonable boss though. My house was broken into overnight and I had to wait for a locksmith to secure the door and wait on the Gardai.

She gave me a verbal and written warning and called me a liar in front of the whole office!

I'm still annoyed about it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

My alarm didn't go off.

Because I didn't set it.

Because I don't want to come here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Can't really be late as we don't do the whole fixed start and finish times, people come in when they want within reason. I was in early this morning (8:50) and had to turn the lights on in the large open plan office, not a sinner to be seen.

Is your company hiring at the moment? I don't care what it is, I can do ANYTHING.