Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas - lack of security

• 25-01-2015 7:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13,083 ✭✭✭✭

On the Luas home from the square went to see a film..... Anyway was waiting at the stop outside square when gang of bout 5 teenagers turned into about 30 and two traveller young ones starting thumping the head off each other.

Luas was held up they where on the track cops didn't turn up of course why would they! So most them ran some them got on Luas but ya more scumbag s being scumbags and as usual they get away with it at the public s expense!

There seriously needs to be security on the Luas all day every day to keep an eye on what's going on because the red line is a total free for all.

They know it's a problem as well but unfortunately there's no choice a lot of people need to use public transport so it can't be avoided.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,208 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Moved from After Hours

Please take the time to read the Commuting and Transport forum charter

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭stehyl15

Ireland should have its own transport police who can make arrests also i noticed security at the balally luas stop on Thursday why would they be there when there is no trouble on the green line and they could easily be deployed on the red line where there is usually most of the trouble. I think transport police would be a lot better than security though i dont think would be any trouble with proper police around

• Registered Users Posts: 13,083 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

stehyl15 wrote: »
    Ireland should have its own transport police who can make arrests also i noticed security at the balally luas stop on Thursday why would they be there when there is know trouble on the green line and they could easily be deployed on the red line where there is usually most of the trouble. I think transport police would be a lot better than security though i dont think would be any trouble with proper police around

I'm on it everyday one way or another with work etc you see security coming out of town at night most nites but that's about it. They should be there as long as its running in some form.

The problem with red line is there's a lot of dead spots it travels threw that people get up to all kinds and if there's no one around to tell them otherwise it turns into a total mess.

Every weekend I have to watch and listen to the same crap and it seems every Sunday there's fighting at one the Tallaght stops why Sunday I don't know!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

I'm on it everyday one way or another with work etc you see security coming out of town at night most nites but that's about it. They should be there as long as its running in some form.

The problem with red line is there's a lot of dead spots it travels threw that people get up to all kinds and if there's no one around to tell them otherwise it turns into a total mess.

Every weekend I have to watch and listen to the same crap and it seems every Sunday there's fighting at one the Tallaght stops why Sunday I don't know!

All well and good,except you will soon be told that you are exaggurating,or being a wuss etc etc....some posters will tell you that they use the Red Line every day/night and have never seen anything out of the ordinary....nothing to see here..move along now....everything is cool.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    All well and good,except you will soon be told that you are exaggurating,or being a wuss etc etc....some posters will tell you that they use the Red Line every day/night and have never seen anything out of the ordinary....nothing to see here..move along now....everything is cool.

Chances are u won't see something every day but it's frequent enough to be an issue that needs to be sorted.

It's a playground for scumbags at times and anyone who wants to be a prick. The weekends or holiday periods are even worse.

Chances are u won't see something every day but it's frequent enough to be an issue that needs to be sorted.

It's a playground for scumbags at times and anyone who wants to be a prick. The weekends or holiday periods are even worse.

My contention is that the refusal to confront and control this codology is restricting the ability of Luas Red Line to prosper to the extent it should.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Someone will be seriously injured or hurt someday maybe then they will take notice which is stupid.

I mean what I watched was just a simple example today that wouldn't of happend if there where a few heavys around.

One Luas driver on his own can't sort these situations out.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,345 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Ireland should have its own transport police who can make arrests also i noticed security at the balally luas stop on Thursday why would they be there when there is no trouble on the green line and they could easily be deployed on the red line where there is usually most of the trouble.

Because if they deployed all of the security resources on the red line, the bleeding heart socialist TDs and councillors from Dublin West would be whinging about heavy-handed tactics, discrimination and all that sort of stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,556 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

Ireland should have its own transport police who can make arrests also i noticed security at the balally luas stop on Thursday why would they be there when there is no trouble on the green line and they could easily be deployed on the red line where there is usually most of the trouble. I think transport police would be a lot better than security though i dont think would be any trouble with proper police around

There certainly are problems on the green line, in the vicinity of Ballyogan in particular - a friend was spat upon by a group of children in an unprovoked attack.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

lxflyer wrote: »
    a friend was spat upon by a group of children in an unprovoked attack.

Good lord, how will they ever recover from the trauma? This must rank up there with the worst of Luas-related incidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 795 ✭✭✭jrar

Good lord, how will they ever recover from the trauma? This must rank up there with the worst of Luas-related incidents.

Maybe not but it IS just another example of how feral little scumbags are being allowed to behave as they wish and to impose their low-life values on the rest of us.

If that was a family member of yours that it happened too, would you be so blasé about it ? No, thought not !

jrar wrote: »
    Maybe not but it IS just another example of how feral little scumbags are being allowed to behave as they wish and to impose their low-life values on the rest of us.

If that was a family member of yours that it happened too, would you be so blasé about it ? No, thought not !

Ah it wouldn't be fun for anyone but I'd imagine there's a huge difference in what happens on both lines. I never had any issues on the green line when I lived in Rathmines actually but that was years ago.

Do you consider that acceptable behaviour?

It's possibly one of the most disgusting things anyone can do.

My friend was sitting on the tram at the time minding his own business and they all spat upon him as they jumped off the tram.

Perhaps you may think that an insignificant episode, but he certainly didn't.

Oh well OP,.....post#5 ....as I was saying.......:rolleyes:

Anyway i think the guards should patrol the luas as often as the private security do there would a lot less trouble if they were all truncheon charged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MGWR

Do you consider that acceptable behaviour?

It's possibly one of the most disgusting things anyone can do.

My friend was sitting on the tram at the time minding his own business and they all spat upon him as they jumped off the tram.

Perhaps you may think that an insignificant episode, but he certainly didn't.
    These children were riding unaccompanied? Of what age?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Ah it wouldn't be fun for anyone but I'd imagine there's a huge difference in what happens on both lines.

Exactly my point. Being spat on by children is pretty tame in comparison to what red line users see day-to-day. Lord help the timid Southsiders when the two lines are linked in a few years :eek: Y'all gonna see some sh1t.
    jrar wrote: »

I don't know if you're aware of this, but on Boards I'm not actually able to answer your question in the middle of your own post. Hence, your follow-up is nonsensical.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭SteM

Exactly my point. Being spat on by children is pretty tame in comparison to what red line users see day-to-day. Lord help the timid Southsiders when the two lines are linked in a few years :eek: Y'all gonna see some sh1t.

Why do people think this? The scumbags that are causing trouble on the red line are on it because they are going from one place to another. Why do people think that just because the 2 lines will be joined they'll go onto the green section to cause trouble? They're happy enough causing trouble on the red line and it's closer to home. Scumbags are lazy people, almost by definition.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Polar101

I've never been spat on on public transport - nor would I expect it to happen. I'd consider it completely unacceptable.

Not sure how much a transport police would help with the antisocial behaviour (LUAS 'feral' kids, forced route changes on certain Dublin Bus routes, etc). At least I don't think the benefits are too obvious.

Polar101 wrote: »
    Not sure how much a transport police would help with the antisocial behaviour (LUAS 'feral' kids, forced route changes on certain Dublin Bus routes, etc). At least I don't think the benefits are too obvious.

They'd certainly be an improvment on the current security

I could also point out that the two lines are not joining - they will still be separate!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I could also point out that the two lines are not joining - they will still be separate!

But the one going through the city up to cabra etc will be another homing ground for similar idiotic carry on and a "junkie express" to the city per say. (Not calling everyone who will use it a junkie but will have similar or if not more crummy carry on than the red line due to the nature of the areas it will be serving)

• Registered Users Posts: 400 ✭✭Conway635

MGWR wrote: »
    These children were riding unaccompanied? Of what age?

I am the friend that lxflyer refers to.

The gang of kids - probably aged 7-13 (I'm not great at judging child age) were at that time riding back and forth between Ballyogan Wood and Glencairn constantly every day from early afternoon onwards, some boarding LUAS by foot, some with bikes. The size of the gang would vary from 4 or 5 up to around 10.

As I was being spat on by one half of the gang leaving through the door I was near, the other half were doing the same to a young woman who they referred to as "you slitty-eyed chinky C***"

Not too long after that incident, my main work location changed from southside to northside, so I can't say that this gang is still carrying on, but they were certainly riding unchecked every day for a period of several months.

C635

But the one going through the city up to cabra etc will be another homing ground for similar idiotic carry on and a "junkie express" to the city per say. (Not calling everyone who will use it a junkie but will have similar or if not more crummy carry on than the red line due to the nature of the areas it will be serving)

Some of the areas that the Green Line extension serves would have "issues" alright, but I'm not sure that you're suddenly going to get hordes of troublemakers coming south along the Green Line beyond the city centre.

The issues that the Red Line suffers from were all there before on the buses that served that route (78a, 79, 77, 77a) but as many people never bothered with the bus it was "out of sight, out of mind". In other words the issues migrated to the trams from the buses and are far more obvious.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭Slippin Jimmy

When the line is extended most of the trouble makers will get off in town. That seems to be their stomping ground. The odd few might head out towards the south side, but I would imagine they would be few.

Duffff-Man wrote: »
    When the line is extended most of the trouble makers will get off in town. That seems to be their stomping ground. The odd few might head out towards the south side, but I would imagine they would be few.

Exactly - those on the Red Line are still making the same trips as before, but on a tram rather than the bus.

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

The luas is grand, I think, in terms of security,a lot better than the DART or Dublin Bus, I've seen a total of one inspector and zero security on Dublin Bus, on the DART I've rarely seen an inspector and never security.(though, that said, I probably use the DART about once a month), red line Luas isn't nearly as bad as people say it is, and it's my main mode of transport, I've used it at least twice a week pretty much every week for the last 4 years or so. I've used it at all hours, worst I've seen is someone rolling a joint or a few people who are obviously off their face having an argument a bit louder than they should be, no one has ever given me any hassle. It's easy to say they should put security on every tram, but then they'd need at least 2 or 3 guys per tram, I'd imagine there's probably about 12 trams running on the red line at any one time, so that would be a minimum of 24 guys working security at all times. I just don't think it's realistic and it would lead to an increase in ticket price. Thinking there should be security on every luas is like thinking there should be a police officer on every single street in Dublin at all times, it's just not realistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

No security on Red Luas this evening going in to town, when there normally is security. A bunch of skangers got on in Kylemore, swinging out of bars etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

They'd certainly be an improvment on the current security
    So people want Gardai dedicated to public transport while the rest of the country goes to lawlessness and disorder hell?

BIGGER cities and countries are able to have transport police simply because they are so much bigger in scale than Irish public transport but to provide the same levels of policing on the buses and trains and trams would cost more than the value gained.

Nothing will stop these tramps on public transport until the laws are changed to allow for harsh treatment by police and security where they can be put to the ground and restrained using suitable non lethal force at the first sign of non-compliance.
    Duffff-Man wrote: »
    There are two groupings of troublemakers, older drug taking addicts, drug dealers, drunks, mentally ill/unstable poeple etc

these people are who we see in the city centre as it is where they beg and steal and pickpocket etc. You would think that the "homeless" would have stopped hanging around Busaras now that there are so many places for them but there are still loads there every night looking to rob genuine travellers of their bolongings phones etc and pick pockets and beg.

and then there are gangs younger kids between 8-18 who i would describe as soon to be drug taking addicts, drug dealers, drunks, mentally ill/unstable poeple etc. The only solution for these little scrotes is a zero tolerance on travel without tickets, flood the lines affected with security who check tickets and eject the little ****.photograph them and then ban them from the trams so when they have to go to school by bus they have to explain to mummy what little ***** they have been!

Edit Apologies for any offence caused by my use of a word I have only now been made aware was banned in this forum. There was no intention to offend anyone in my use of the word.

Pickpockets and junkies are a problem in every main train station in the world nothing new and unique to ireland they should not have security as they should not be classed as private property