Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BESS Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭olazbabes

strangest business course ive ever heard- no sense of direction. how can business, economics and soiology be a course! Trinity has its prestige but is business school is not specific enough-eg DCU,maynooth n dit of accounting, finance, eco etc and languauges are core modules of business degrees

• Registered Users Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Bears and Vodka

olazbabes wrote: »
    strangest business course ive ever heard- no sense of direction. how can business, economics and soiology be a course! Trinity has its prestige but is business school is not specific enough-eg DCU,maynooth n dit of accounting, finance, eco etc and languauges are core modules of business degrees

That's only for First year. After First year you choose two general areas, like I chose Business and Economics and you pursue that. Some people chose Politics and Sociology, so they do that. So it's not even a Business course per se. Only if you choose to do Business after First year.

Ok. But let's say s student realised that they like accounting. The Bess degree doesnt offer exemptions. It is a good course as career wise is not really career focus and limits options in future.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭pugwall

olazbabes wrote: »
    Ok. But let's say s student realised that they like accounting. The Bess degree doesnt offer exemptions. It is a good course as career wise is not really career focus and limits options in future.

It's a great course that opens up plenty of doors career wise. I'm a graduate and I now am an accounting manager in industry. I didn't even specialise in accounting. I gave it up after the module in senior freshman. Fellow graduate friends [10 years ago ] are accountants in practice, accountants in industry, management consultants with top names in consulting, FX traders sales in the city of London, fund managers, sales executives in industry, googles, entrepreneurs, NGOs, Government advisors, the list goes on.
    I find the most boring route to becoming an accountant is the pure accounting degree, followed by an MA in accounting, followed by a stint in audit practice in one of the big 4. Don't get me wrong, I know some fine accountants that went down that route but the thought of studying pure accounting for 8 years doesn't really sit well with me. All professional accounting qualifications start from scratch and most people able for them can easily adapt and with appropriate experience master accounting after 3 years training. My advice, choose BESS as an all rounder course with access to 10 degree possibilities including accounting. But you may find like I did that there are other more interesting subjects and leave accounting until later. Good luck!

pugwall wrote: »
    It's a great course that opens up plenty of doors career wise. I'm a graduate and I now am an accounting manager in industry. I didn't even specialise in accounting. I gave it up after the module in senior freshman. Fellow graduate friends [10 years ago ] are accountants in practice, accountants in industry, management consultants with top names in consulting, FX traders sales in the city of London, fund managers, sales executives in industry, googles, entrepreneurs, NGOs, Government advisors, the list goes on.
    I find the most boring route to becoming an accountant is the pure accounting degree, followed by an MA in accounting, followed by a stint in audit practice in one of the big 4. Don't get me wrong, I know some fine accountants that went down that route but the thought of studying pure accounting for 8 years doesn't really sit well with me. All professional accounting qualifications start from scratch and most people able for them can easily adapt and with appropriate experience master accounting after 3 years training. My advice, choose BESS as an all rounder course with access to 10 degree possibilities including accounting. But you may find like I did that there are other more interesting subjects and leave accounting until later. Good luck!
    Thanks for your insight. At the same time though that was 10 years ago. Things are really different now!-Economic changes-.I appliead for Finance n Accounting and it should cover me for some options. A lot of people think acc is boring fair enough but it is the most practical and langauage of business. In the end if I hate ACC after BAi would specilise in Finance-banking. All I know is that every business course has a bit of ACC in it. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭crow2

Guys ,I got 495 points on me leaving.
    Do you think it is enough for this year?

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭sganyfx

520 Points, English, Maths and French (Ordinary) passed I am pretty much in please be so...?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Nicolekillion

crow2 wrote: »
    Guys ,I got 495 points on me leaving.
    Do you think it is enough for this year?

i hope so!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Bears and Vodka

Last year was 495, so I'll be hesitant to say whether you will get it, but I'd say you have a good chance of getting it on Round 2 of offers at least.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 shannonpreston

i got 505 and im so unsure about whether it will be enough or not? monday couldnt come faster

Will I need a laptop for this course, or just a shed load of notebooks?

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Richieee

sganyfx wrote: »
    Will I need a laptop for this course, or just a shed load of notebooks?
    Notebooks will be sufficient in terms of note-taking. A laptop is very useful to have with you when assignments are due however, particularly if you want to work on them in the library/elsewhere around college.

So you don't need a laptop, but I'd recommend getting one unless you want to do all coursework away from college (plus it's handy to have one with you if you need to waste a few hours).

Edit: There are computer rooms you can use but it's more convenient to have a laptop of your own, especially around exam times.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 fland

Teaching for all SFs seems to start on monday 23rd, can I safely arrive in Dublin on the monday or will I need to be in the week before for some kind of introductory lecture / registration etc.?

Edit: For anyone else wondering, just rang BESS course office and non-JFs start on the 23rd, no need to be in any earlier. This is probably obvious to everyone else I just couldn't see the information (other than when 'teaching starts') anywhere.

Richieee wrote: »
    Notebooks will be sufficient in terms of note-taking. A laptop is very useful to have with you when assignments are due however, particularly if you want to work on them in the library/elsewhere around college.

So you don't need a laptop, but I'd recommend getting one unless you want to do all coursework away from college (plus it's handy to have one with you if you need to waste a few hours).

Edit: There are computer rooms you can use but it's more convenient to have a laptop of your own, especially around exam times.

Thank you :)

What about stationary requirements, notebooks, calculators etc? Any suggestions or recommendations?

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Smiley Laura

Anyone else doing BESS and going to join DUHAC?? Looking for fellow middle/long distance runners :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Tragedy

Anyone just after starting JS BESS on here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 George_Foreman

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭Dropping No Eaves

Yo whaddup homeslices, quick question regarding BESS and the French module associated with it.

Well p. much I would be interested in doing French as I'm quite proficient in it (my dad's French!), however I didn't end up doing it for the Leaving Cert. Do you need to have done it in the LC to qualify for it in Trinnerrrs BESS? Thanks mucho.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

That's a pretty mathsy set of courses you've got there. If you're happy with maths, then you'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 studentTCD

Any opinions/comments on the following JS modules?

Money and Banking

Investment Analysis

Industrial Economics

Public International Law

• Registered Users Posts: 5 kickstickik

Do you guys think 515 points is enough to get into BESS this year? There's been a huge increase in demand for business courses according to the CAO so I'm worried about a crazy jump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Raspberry Fileds

Do you guys think 515 points is enough to get into BESS this year? There's been a huge increase in demand for business courses according to the CAO so I'm worried about a crazy jump.

You have to remember that that demand is across all courses. Only ten percent score above 500. So, assuming that the distribution of that demand is uniform, the potential increase for BESS is only ten percent of that demand. A twenty-point jump for one of the largest courses in the country would be remarkable.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 lauramarie13

What about 500 points? Do ye think that's enough? I have a bad feeling!

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭RedMickeyMouse

Lads, I'm sitting on 490 and hoping to get into either BESS or Business and German, ye will both be fine!

Can anyone help me with this? I was just wondering, when you go on to my.tcd.ie and click on "my application" does it say "unconditional offer- waiting for response" beside your course? Because it says that beside mine and I want to make sure everything's normal! I got the email from the CAO saying that they've recorded my acceptance, but I'm still kinda worried about the "unconditional offer- waiting for response" thing...

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭whoopsadaisy

Can anyone help me with this? I was just wondering, when you go on to my.tcd.ie and click on "my application" does it say "unconditional offer- waiting for response" beside your course? Because it says that beside mine and I want to make sure everything's normal! I got the email from the CAO saying that they've recorded my acceptance, but I'm still kinda worried about the "unconditional offer- waiting for response" thing...

I have this too - have no idea what it means and also a bit worried by it :o I'm hoping everything is okay??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

When I got an offer for my MSc, that message just meant that I had an offer with no conditions (as in, no strings attached, you have the place), and I just needed to accept the place. I presume it means they same thing for you, it's just the system hasn't been updated yet or something. Don't worry, if the CAO say you have the place you have the place.

andrew wrote: »
    When I got an offer for my MSc, that message just meant that I had an offer with no conditions (as in, no strings attached, you have the place), and I just needed to accept the place. I presume it means they same thing for you, it's just the system hasn't been updated yet or something. Don't worry, if the CAO say you have the place you have the place.

Oh okay, thank you! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 lmcgtb

Does anyone have an idea for when we'll be able to register? How long did they take last year?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 kickstickik

When do they normally release timetables for BESS? I applied for a job and they want to know what hours I'll be available ASAP.