Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Windows Smashed in Garveys Pub this morning.

• 17-04-2014 1:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

Anyone else see all the windows were smashed there this mornng.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

liam12989 wrote: »

Anyone else see all the windows were smashed there this mornng.

are all the windows in garveys smashed this morning?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

Wow, the punters are in revolt already before the Good Friday close!

On a more serious note, what an outrageously scumbag thing to do. I hope CCTV caught the perpetrators.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

Noticed it on the way in this morning. They really went for it, think there was just one pane left unbroken.

Hope the perpetrators are caught and made pay the damages.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

FouxDaFaFa wrote: »
    Noticed it on the way in this morning. They really went for it, think there was just one pane left unbroken.

I may be wrong, but I heard that all of them were smashed.

All of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I may be wrong, but I heard that all of them were smashed.

All of them.

When did this happen?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,266 ✭✭✭✭Bobeagleburger

When did this happen?

After midnight last night and before noon today sometime

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ok lads we get the joke..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

That place has a lot of windows.
    Any one know what it was all about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

That place has a lot of windows.
    Any one know what it was all about?

To let in loads of light?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

mikom wrote: »
    To let in loads of light?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Aerohead

It happened yesterday, I passed by in the morning and all the windows were cracked not put in, they were measuring them so I guess they would not be easy to replace straight away.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

All Windows fixed in Garveys Pub this morning.

Anyone else see all the windows were fixed there this morning?.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Paddyfield

As seen on the Twitter machine

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Have they caught who done it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Any chance of copycat criminals have been greatly increased by informing the greater public that thine windows are repaired. PR disaster.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Have they caught who done it?

Never mind that, I hope they catch who did it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

Never mind that, I hope they catch who did it!

Nevermind trying to catch who fixed the windows, it's the feckers who broke them that they need to catch!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

The windows in garveys were apparently smashed in by a customer

A CITY pub suffered an estimated €6,000 worth of damage after an irate customer – using empty beer kegs – smashed five large windows on the premises after closing time.

The incident occurred between 1am and 2am on Tuesday night/Wednesday morning last week outside Garvey’s Bar in Eyre Square.

A Garda spokesman said that they were investigating the incident and asked for any witnesses in that area in the early hours of Wednesday, April 15 last to contact them at Mill Street Garda Station, Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

He was swinging kegs around? What is he, the Hulk?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

I'd imagine they where empties!

Wait. Are we talking about Windows or windows? Two completely different things here, people!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,691 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

antoobrien wrote: »
    The windows in garveys were apparently smashed in by a customer

Former customer, I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Not very clever leaving empty kegs outside in the early hours IMHO

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Not very clever leaving empty kegs outside in the early hours IMHO

Or any time TBH. They don't own the pavement.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Pretty commonplace, actually. Same concept as bins. They're usually collected early in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Pretty commonplace, actually. Same concept as bins. They're usually collected early in the morning.

Same concept maybe, but it would be a lot harder to throw a bin through/at a window than an empty keg

• Registered Users Posts: 11,983 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    Same concept maybe, but it would be a lot harder to throw a bin through/at a window than an empty keg

You cant legislate for the stupidity/lack of brain power of drunks unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Slick50

Empty kegs are returned at the same time as a delivery is made, not returned seperately. So there is no need for them to be left out over night, I think you'll see this policy change here now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 59,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

The opening hours of some pubs, it's close to impossible to have a member of staff there in the morning. Then again bin bags are left on shop street.. I think it's more down to the type of person that wishes to cause upset/damage than what's left outside to use.

Well that's just my (overtired) take on it..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Slick50

The opening hours of some pubs, it's close to impossible to have a member of staff there in the morning.
    Somebody has to be present to take in, and sign for a delivery, no matter what time it arrives at, or it doesn't get delivered.
    Then again bin bags are left on shop street.. I think it's more down to the type of person that wishes to cause upset/damage than what's left outside to use.
    I agree, but you have to allow for the lowest common denominator. Long gone are the days you could leave the key to the front door, in the lock.