Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chilean Miners thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Doneg Al

nummnutts wrote: »
    Agreed.

From the pictures shown on tv while they were singing their national anthem, it looked as though they all knew their national anthem. When was the last time anybody on here was at an event where the national anthem was played, and everybody sang/knew the words?

No doubt they knew the words, the had two months underground to practice.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Job done!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Doneg Al wrote: »
    No doubt they knew the words, the had two months underground to practice.

Is that an excuse you would use for people who don't know their own national anthem? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

Those Chilean miners are gone so commercial. I preferred when they were underground.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Now they are finished with that capsule I wonder is there any chance of sending it over here to get us out of the hole were all in!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Chile’s big heart has buried its history of dictatorship
    The first of the 33 miners to reach the surface yesterday gave a long embrace to the President. Sebastián Piñera, who had arrived hours earlier, beamed from ear to ear.

He is acutely aware that the world is watching Chile as never before — and that over the past two months the Government has turned a large-scale and seemingly preventable mining accident into the best publicity campaign that any country could ask for.

When 2010 began, it looked like the conservative billionaire’s biggest challenge as a new president would be to fight off criticism that his supporters were Pinochetistas — defenders of the military coup — and over possible conflicts of interest with his company stocks.

Instead, the year has been full of surprises, with the miners’ unprecedented rescue — its engineering innovation, international co-operation and sympathy for the common worker — a crowning achievement.

The Government believes that this rescue will be the final piece that transforms Chile’s international image. Instead of being known for its history of dictatorship and human rights violations, a reputation that has lingered despite 20 years of democracy, Chile will instead be renowned for its wealth, its minerals, its organisation and effectiveness, and its big heart.

The past year had set the scene for a change of this magnitude to take place. Early this year Chile was inaugurated as the first South American member of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; then, despite criticism within the country after February’s earthquake, it was praised internationally for the building codes that prevented widespread damage. In June La Roja, the country’s football team, proved a delight to watch at the World Cup in South Africa.

Then on August 5 the San José gold and copper mine partly collapsed. The country is the world’s largest copper producer and mining accidents are not all that uncommon.

David Doll, editor of Diario Atacama, the newspaper in the town of Copiapó, said that he expected the coverage to die down after a day or two. Even family members went to the hospital to wait, thinking that the miners would soon be on their way there. Very quickly, however, the mine’s dangerous reputation became known and the Government fired the top safety officials while the world was watching.

Since the possibility of a rescue became clear, the story has ceaselessly made the front pages of Chile’s newspapers. Over the bicentennial celebrations in September, already a fervently patriotic holiday, families toasted the miners, and lyrics to the traditional cueca music were changed to include their story.

Without a doubt the accident has united Chileans, and made those who usually scoff at unwavering patriotism, flag-waving and religious fervour feel national pride and emotion akin to spiritual enlightenment. And the Government is basking in it.

In July Mr Piñera had an approval rating of 46 per cent. The Mining Minister, Laurence Golborne, was at 16 per cent. After contact with the miners, those figures shot to 65 and 91 per cent, respectively. While Mr Piñera has faced some distracting challenges at home during this crisis he has handled them with aplomb.

It is, however, the mine rescue that Mr Piñera has handled most masterfully. He has repeatedly said “The 21st century belongs to Latin America”, and used the international platform that the crisis has provided to expand on his vision of Chile as a new beginning for Latin America.

That was an image reinforced by Jaime Mañalich, the Health Minister, who this week stopped calling the rescue a marathon — as he has done since Nasa experts visited in September, and began to describe it as a rebirth, saying that after two months, the 33 miners were about to be delivered from the mine into a new life.

The Government believes that the rest of the world will see in this incredible, and so far successful rescue, that a new Chile has been born.

wwwthetimescoukttonewsw.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Well done Chile! Nice to see a good positive story with a happy ending for once. Those lads are a credit to themselves, their families and their nation. An inspirational story if there ever was one for sure. I also take my hat off to to the chilean Mining Minister who was present throughout the crisis, he displayed a level of genuine class and dignity that politicians in this country sadly lack. Chile - a country that gives a fcuk about it's ordinary citizens, ''Leinster House are ye watching?, well are ye?'' Because ye might learn something from it ye shower of wasters.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Delighted they're all out safely! Well done to all and credit to those 33 brave men. I don't know how they stuck it out so long!

I loved how this story seemed to bring everyone together worldwide and it is about time we had a happy inspirational story in the News instead of all the gloom and doom.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Delighted they're all out safely! Well done to all and credit to those 33 brave men. I don't know how they stuck it out so long!

I loved how this story seemed to bring everyone together worldwide and it is about time we had a happy inspirational story in the News instead of all the gloom and doom.
    +1 for happy news. Now for some REALLY HAPPY news lets round up some random bankers and politicians and send them down into the hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    Most experienced minors come out first incase of any problems coming up.

Don't you have to be over 18 to work in the mines nowadays?

sideswipe wrote: »
    +1 for happy news. Now for some REALLY HAPPY news lets round up some random bankers and politicians and send them down into the hole!

One way trip hopefully! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

chucken1 wrote: »
    Mincon in Shannon :D

.....which is quite near Limerick. Close enough for me, viva Limerick!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I was watching some of the live stream from the guardian website last night. Delighted they got out safely, it was also nice to see the reactions from quiet and crying to absolutely crazy and riling the crowd up! The third guy out was quite a character! :)

Lovely ending to a sad story!

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭jethrothe2nd

Spin this, Chile - "Since 2000, an average of 34 people have died every year in mining accidents in Chile, with a high of 43 in 2008." Seen some garbage posted about how this rescue shows what high achievement humans can aspire to. Excuse me? Those men were 700m underground mining metal ore for our consumer goods and trinkets. If they HAD died, it wouldn't have got another mention.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

They're making the movie as we speak, going to be directed by McG (done amazing work with Charlies Angels: Full Throttle), Charlie Sheen will play the miner who has a mistress and Sandra Bullock will play the miner's wife. Michael Cera is believed to play the part of the semi-awkward, timid but humourous virgin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ooPabsoo

Anyone else hear that one of the miners forgot to clock in?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 953 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

ooPabsoo wrote: »

Could be worse. I heard one of them left his phone charger down there.

ooPabsoo wrote: »

Could be worse, one of them went home and found the phone off the hook and that it was still connected to that €5 a minute porn chat line! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

If it was an Irish mine they'd probably drop dynamite down the hole and get RTE to say 'Oops, what a terrible accident!'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

33 ungrateful bastards.

Each of them had their lives saved by the spectacular efforts from brilliant engineers and rescuers from around the world. They were saved by people who had trained for years for such an event with years of training and expertise. Some rescuers risked their own lives by goind down the shaft before anyone came up.

And what do these ungrateful bastards say without fail when they get to the top. "I thank God for getting me out alive". How about firstly thanking the engineers and rescuers who risked their own lives to save you rather than your imaginary friend?

RANT OVER :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

33 ungrateful bastards.

Each of them had their lives saved by the spectacular efforts from brilliant engineers and rescuers from around the world. They were saved by people who had trained for years for such an event with years of training and expertise. Some rescuers risked their own lives by goind down the shaft before anyone came up.

And what do these ungrateful bastards say without fail when they get to the top. "I thank God for getting me out alive". How about firstly thanking the engineers and rescuers who risked their own lives to save you rather than your imaginary friend?

There's no need for that for god's sake! Chill Out!

So they said some prayers and thanked God so what? Are they harming anyone by doing so?

And in any case if you had been watching the rescue you would have seen that first thing they all did when capsule first arrived down was smother the rescue worker with hugs and handshakes. They did the same when they arrived up top, thanking the rescue workers and the President.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,663 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Chile - a country that gives a fcuk about it's ordinary citizens, ''Leinster House are ye watching?, well are ye?'' Because ye might learn something from it ye shower of wasters.

So why didn't they act before the mine collapsed when it was reported the mine was creaking and the miners were getting danger money for being in that particular mine..

Because the government regulated the mines by talking to the companies than the ordinary people..let's halt the revisionism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

How about firstly thanking the engineers and rescuers who risked their own lives to save you rather than your imaginary friend?

Ahhh, but who sent those engineers and rescuers? :)

On an unrelated note, you may be interested in ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I think the word hero is overused these day, but these lads who went to work one day, got stuck in a hole and lived there for 2 months are real, bona fide heroes. They have inspired us all.

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭nachoman

Yawn, change the channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭celtic Liger

and twas irish builders that built or at least made the shaft that got them out.

nothing like irish builders to get you in a hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

33 ungrateful bastards.

Ooh look at the smug athiest letting everyone know he's a smug athiest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

What caused them to get trapped in the first place? Very Little coverage of that - was it human error, lax legisation, natural occurance, accident?

thanks

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,072 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

What caused them to get trapped in the first place? Very Little coverage of that - was it human error, lax legisation, natural occurance, accident?

thanks

Dodgy digging for over 100 years in the mine with the different levels too close together, no complete secondary escape routes, the ladders in the small parts of the escape routes that were there not being installed, multiple rock falls within the mine, generally unstable mine due to how much of the mountain had been dug out.

Etc, etc, etc...

I wouldn't be surprised if there isn't a factory in China already churning out replica sunglasses in the style of those used by the miners.

Coming to a store near you soon! "miner sunglasses!"