Panch18 wrote: » I would have to disagree with your proposal kowtow That would be grand in a rising or high price scenario but in a falling and low price scenario the coops would simply not take your milk and would have no obligation to either. And what is a farmer supposed to do then with a full tank of milk and nowhere to go with it??
Panch18 wrote: So effectively that's a milk supply agreement with a fixed price?? Which we have in some form, albeit small fixed amounts, at the moment
jaymla627 wrote: » So I'm up 258 euro all things been even assuming both herds of cows had the same costs
Panch18 wrote: » The key to success (survival is probably a much more appropriate word here!!) is pumping milk that's like treacle, solids is the key combined with cost control Get the maximum price that you can above base price, white water has no place in Irish milk production in current times
kowtow wrote: » That's exactly what is happening now. Plenty of middle men would be happy to buy a tanker of milk and sell it into intervention for a few pips, which is exactly what our coops are doing. The difference is that right now every coop member is paying for it in a low price across the board. Typically in a transparent system established farms would contract a good chunk of their planned supply with processors at a premium for a fixed term. The spot milk is the unwanted surplus so being paid f×× all for it is a timely signal to turn off the taps.
kowtow wrote: » That's exactly what is happening now. Plenty of middle men would be happy to buy a tanker of milk and sell it into intervention for a few pips, which is exactly what our coops are doing. The difference is that right now every coop member is paying for it in a low price across the board. Typically in a transparent system established farms would contract a good chunk of their planned supply with processors at a premium for a fixed term. The spot milk is the unwanted surplus so being paid fÃ႒—Ã႒— all for it is a timely signal to turn off the taps. But with all coops doing the collection and distribution the accident of geography would be removed, farmers and processors would compete on a level field with coops as the agent.
kowtow wrote: » Its not a solution, but keeping smaller coops is essential if farmers are to stand a chance. Ideally I'd like to see coops totally separate, responsible only for collection, and a transparent auction system to let farmers to decide where their milk is sold for processing and on what contract terms. It wasn't possible when the NZ system of one big coop was conceived but it is now - properly done it is the only way to balance power and risk between farmer and processor.
Milked out wrote: No offence taken, but what is the solution if that is the case., Bar the west cork coops the rest are all within a cent or so of each other for the most part. Value added products? Perhaps we should of went off and bought that baby food plant in limerick when it was up for sale. Danone and the like increasing profits due to milk being on the floor. Obviously at the price it went for something like that would have been too much of a risk but what other products can return a higher price in the troughs that are exportable on.a large scale? Not against looking into any of it but what is the the solution for the irish farmer?
Dawggone wrote: » +1. But, but, but...#grasstomilk! Reality bites. I've posted on here relentlessly about my CoP and my system. Often to ridicule. I'm not afraid of any stress test. As an outsider looking in, your Coops are taking you for a ride. #gtm, survival of the fittest, leanest and meanest, blah blah ain't worth squat. Your asset (land), your work (labour), your investment (money) is being mugged by your processor. Wake. The Fcuk. Up. Not personal Milked Out. Just my own observations.
Milked out wrote: » If the french didn't have their domestic market would the milk price be anywhere near it's current figure there? From what I hear friesland campina will soon struggle to offload product as well, all systems are gonna come under pressure in this period. Obviously we are more exposed with no liquid market to speak off so everything exported and even product going to companies using it here all at world prices. We can't grow your maize or soya or lucerne consistently or at your costs all we can grow consistently is grass. It may not be cheaper than your feedstuffs but it's all we can focus on really to compete at all.
Dawggone wrote: » The hubris/arrogance of this thread from just a few months back has evaporated..... Speaking to suppliers from home there're convinced that another 2cpl drop is coming down the tracks. All's well. #grasstomilk. :) How about # takecontrol?? The cheerleaders have gone awfully quiet...
jack o shea wrote: » Lads couldn't sign that ms a thing quick enough like sheep they were.i think it's not worth a **** anyway if it came to it would it stand up in court?
Bass Reeves wrote: » The problem is where would you go to. Other co-op do not want more milk at present as well they might be afraid of taking a militant group of suppliers.
wats the craic wrote: » na that be to nice for them tank of slurry would be better . but seen bergin is a pig he be happy out rolling in ****e . well its time for grass roots farmers to take up the fight . want could they really do if a real strong group of suppliers threaten to leave and break the msa . i know i dont supply gil but they are just bullys , for once in our lives have got stand up demand change or leave .
jaymla627 wrote: » Whereabouts you based, if your only option was Lakeland don't beat yourself up to much, they wouldn't entertain taking us on as weren't " poaching" glanbia suppliers
mahoney_j wrote: » Spread it out jack ,fertliser requirement is put to 3 merchants including my own and cheapest quote gets business .i buy fert 3/4 times a year.dont buy any meal off my coop due to quality and poor nutritional back up.all cow feed bought off roches feeds ,never an issue with price /advice or quality .doing it this way spreads the credit !!!!
jack o shea wrote: » Do you buy meal and fert off ur co op mahoney? I think it's time we all bought of the smaller merchant that is not a co op?