Dickie10 wrote: » im just wondering in the last year or so that i may actually becoming institutionilised in some way to being single always, in like i really cant even begin to imagine myself having a girlfriend or wondering would i even enjoy being in a relationship. i know when i was in my early 20s if it happened then i would have went with the flow completely and did the whole relationship thing. but now it just seems as though i feel like im a priest or supposed to be celibate and single! like its becoming very natural. all the years i seen older lads in their 30s settling down sometimes against the odds and becoming family men so i now figure they were actually looking for this all along when i just thoought they were happy out being single, but im not sure if i am like them, i know have had plenty of chances even within the last 3 years to hold onto girls who wanted to have relationships and i turned my back on them, cant tell u why, just let them drift on. i know now if these lads had girls like these that were interested in them they prob would have married them.
Dickie10 wrote: » does anyone ever feel that some people with children and married are very resentful of single guys sometimes such as if your heading off for a weekend or like me headed to galway or aintree for the races and absolutly zero to worry about beyond of course having your business or whtevr tightened up for the few days.
Dickie10 wrote: » yes i did often feel that people dont regard you as a full adult without a girlfriend, they nearly put u at a kids table, does anyone ever feel that some people with children and married are very resentful of single guys sometimes such as if your heading off for a weekend or like me headed to galway or aintree for the races and absolutly zero to worry about beyond of course having your business or whtevr tightened up for the few days. often found that i sometimes nearly put on a poor mouth just to fit in! as in saying stuff like " ah busy with work at the minute so not out tonight" blah blah or complaining of the price of such and such
Galwayguy35 wrote: » Coming to to 5 years single now at the start of the new year, it's the longest I've ever been on my own and I'm so used to it now I'm not even actively looking for someone. I've had a few dates but they haven't gone anywhere and I don't even think about sex that much because it's been so long since I've been with someone.
Dickie10 wrote: » yes i did often feel that people dont regard you as a full adult without a girlfriend, they nearly put u at a kids table,
Confucius say wrote: » I'm not too many years off 40 now so it does concern me at times that I may not meet anyone again and may never have kids.
I'm lucky enough now to have a good few friends that I can go out with often etc,
Cons? Loneliness I guess...
but my last relationship was so intense and crazy that the idea of being around a girl all the time frightens me right now.
And sex. I can live without it I guess, but I can't for the life of me see where the next sexual partner will come from!
I'm in the process of buying a house for myself, so that's good, somewhere to drink myself to death by the time I'm, I'd say... 47? Maybe mid 50s if I'm lucky. If anyone's interested in starting a lonely old man's club with an alcoholic deathwish, PM me!
lazybones32 wrote: » My brother was in Texas and he got talking to a woman in a bar. She was 25 and unmarried and whenever there is a family dinner, she is put at the kids table.
Confucius say wrote: » Cheers wibbs I appreciate it. I was enduring Monday blues when I wrote that after partying at the weekend so it may have been grimmer than the reality! I think I'm actually delighted to be single now and to have dodged various bullets that I could have ended up having kids with or marrying. My only worry is for the real love of my life, my mother! I know she'd love grandkids and I'm her only hope so I feel like I'd nearly have kids just for her sake. She's sacrificed so much for me and I know nothing would make her happier. Anyone else in similar boat? I actually have a mate who got a bird pregnant a couple of years ago, they we're never a couple and now share custody and days etc and its all amicable. I kind of envy the setup, and they're doing it really well from what I can see! But yeah single life is great for the most part
Confucius say wrote: » Cheers wibbs I appreciate it. I was enduring Monday blues when I wrote that after partying at the weekend so it may have been grimmer than the reality! I think I'm actually delighted to be single now and to have dodged various bullets that I could have ended up having kids with or marrying. My only worry is for the real love of my life, my mother! I know she'd love grandkids and I'm her only hope so I feel like I'd nearly have kids just for her sake. She's sacrificed so much for me and I know nothing would make her happier. Anyone else in similar boat? I actually have a mate who got a bird pregnant a couple of years ago, they we're never a couple and now share custody and days etc and its all amicable. I kind of envy the setup, and they're doing it really well from what I can see!But yeah single life is great for the most part
popa smurf wrote: » Interesting tread this its life's great delima Do you stay single and enjoy single life for as long as you can or settle down I was single well into my 30s had my own house and business and was under serious pressure from family to settle down at the time it was getting harder to pull the women as the hair was disappearing and the bear belly was expanding I think the night comes to everyone when they say to themselves I have to get the fucck off this seen.Picking a lifelong. Partner is like a lottery you could be lucky or unlucky you sighn up for. A lot of **** when you decide to settle down with kids the bills are serious that comes with them you are working for them and you might not always get the rewards that you expect I am rearing 4 spoiled brats and that's not including the wife. if you want an easy simple life stay single.
Fukuyama wrote: » Would you say the pressure from family/friends, general societal expectations that a bloke doing well from himself should be married had a lot to do with you just settling down or, judging from your post, "settling"?
popa smurf wrote: » Ya the mother tought all Lads should be married and if they weren't there was something wrong with them she was always hoping the ball when I would come home for weekends like 1 time she rang me up to tell me negbour from home was found dead in england when I asked what happened him she said o he never got married
MadFit wrote: » where did your name come from?
Confucius say wrote: » Without looking it up I think he may be a failed Japanese nuclear reactor?
Dickie10 wrote: » im 32 and have never been in a serious relationship, i dated a girl for about 6 weeks -2 months when i was 19 thats it really, i met up with a girl i really liked back in 2006 a few times, went to cinema once and that seemed to scare her off! anyone think this is odd? i suppose im just wondering about it more because my friend was the same as me until 2 years ago he met a girl and he really got stuck into the whole relationship thing very quickly to the point that hes barely 2 years with her and hes putting in planning for a house! but i think hes happy anyway so best of luck! just wondering is it common for lads of 32 to never have been in arelationship? even though i have had my fair share of one night stands and shifts but havent met a girl i would say yeah i really like this girl or else they dont feel the same way
MadFit wrote: » Thats Fukushima. Fukuyama is a city much farther south and also a second name. Was wondering where he drew the inspiration.
Confucius say wrote: » Ha! It's true that men die younger if single
Wibbs wrote: » To be fair though, I've found women get this crap a lot more than men. A single 30 year old woman at a family gathering is usually a moving target for this shíte. And then if she brings a date it's talk of engagements, if she's engaged it's talk of when the wedding is and if wed when are we going to hear the pitter patter of tiny feet. My response to the latter has been "I'll let you know when I rent out me gaff to midgets".
Fukuyama wrote: » Are you from a rural area? Sounds very old fashioned. Although I will admit that people do tend to get a little weirded out when they hear you're single for quite a long time and there's no obvious reason for it. Small price to pay in my opinion. Without putting too fine a point on it, the situation you described would be my idea of hell. I'd rather be single.
Wibbs wrote: » Oh I've met a few Irish Mammies(™) like that alright. Actually it's a [insert country here] Mammie thing. They're also at the single women about the impending life on the shelf and cat husbandry. I've had it once or twice from the type and since they're being rude I just completely ignore them and if they persist I just tell them very clearly to sod off with their nonsense and/or point out they're hardly the best adverts for the practice, nor are their husbands with the faces that look like the before pic in a Prozac ad. One housewarming went a little south when I suggested to one such relentless harpy that the Gardai could dust her dearest hubbies bald spot for her thumbprints. To be fair though, I've found women get this crap a lot more than men. A single 30 year old woman at a family gathering is usually a moving target for this shíte. And then if she brings a date it's talk of engagements, if she's engaged it's talk of when the wedding is and if wed when are we going to hear the pitter patter of tiny feet. My response to the latter has been "I'll let you know when I rent out me gaff to midgets".
Wibbs wrote: » America, particularly away from the coasts can be like that. They get married mad young as a general thing. A mate of mine who lived in the US for years was seeing this old time religion southern belle woman from Georgia who was 23 or 4(he was 30) and she had the pressure on for the wedding within a year. My mate had just come through a bad breakup so ejected soon after. I remember meeting her and her being gobsmacked that I had never been married(I was 34 at the time).