KwackerJack wrote: » for all we know that man could have grabbed a guards baton or spray or a guard by the neck but I bet you wont see that on video.
_davidsmith_ wrote: » I would have 100% taken the swinging wildly with the biggest thing i could find approach, starting with the women and the elderly, but then again im not a guard
ThisRegard wrote: » How is that relevant to this story ? Tomlinson didn't die because he was hit on the legs with a batton.
Muahahaha wrote: » Yep it was his head smashing the concrete after the cop struck his legs with a baton that killed him. So it shows a baton to the legs can result in death, which therefore means their use needs to be justified. Would it have killed the Garda to draw his baton and warn whoever the problem was that he was willing to use it? I don't think it would but this Garda seems to have got a fit of red mist and just lashed out. I doubt they're trained in baton use that way is all I'm saying.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » I'm so utterly sick of this argument. What happened beforehand is irrelevant - assault isn't ok period.
Karsini wrote: » These videos tend to only show one side of the story and are often uploaded to fuel a specific belief. You don't know what happened before the filming began.
questionmark? wrote: » One part of me says this was wrong by the Guard the other part says that crowd was lucky it was Ireland. Could you imagine trying that **** in Spain or the US. They would have all got arrested and a fair few got a good hiding.
Assault or obstruction of peace officer. 19.—(1) Any person who— (a) assaults a peace officer acting in the execution of the peace officer's duty, knowing that he is, or being reckless as to whether he is, a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty, or (b) assaults any other person acting in the aid of a peace officer, or (c) assaults any other person with intent to resist or prevent the lawful apprehension or detention of himself or any other person for any offence, shall be guilty of an offence. (2) A person guilty of an offence under subsection (1) shall be liable— (a) having elected for summary disposal of the offence, on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, or to both, (b) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years or to both.(3) Any person who resists or wilfully obstructs a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty or a person assisting a peace officer in the execution of his duty, knowing that he is or being reckless as to whether he is, a peace officer acting in the execution of his duty, shall be guilty of an offence. (4) A person guilty of an offence under subsection (3) shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £500 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both. (5) The provisions of this section are in addition to and not in substitution of any provision in any other enactment relating to assault or obstruction of a peace officer. (6) In this section— “peace officer” means a member of the Garda Síochána, a prison officer or a member of the Defence Forces; “prison” means any place for which rules or regulations may be made under the Prisons Acts, 1826 to 1980, section 7 of the Offences against the State (Amendment) Act, 1940 , section 233 of the Defence Act, 1954 , section 2 of the Prisoners of War and Enemy Aliens Act, 1956 , or section 13 of the Criminal Justice Act, 1960 ; “prison officer” includes any member of the staff of a prison and any person having the custody of, or having duties in relation to the custody of, a person detained in prison.
TallGlass wrote: » Would you calm down. 'Killed him outright', it was a slap on the leg. That's all these boyos want is a few slaps and to get it on camera and show the Garda in a bad light. Like these Irish Water protests and NAMA protests the Garda are now the focal point not the real issue at hand.
Muahahaha wrote: » Yep it was his head smashing the concrete after the cop struck his legs with a baton that killed him.
Mesrine65 wrote: » Fair size lump of a Garda, I'm sure he could have dealt with the man in a less aggressive manner regardless.
esforum wrote: » make me
_davidsmith_ wrote: » HAHA keyboard warriors assemble!!!!!!!!!!!!
corner of hells wrote: » I thought he died from injuries indirectly related to underlying health issues ,,chronic alcoholism and other related issues.
ThisRegard wrote: » It wasn't, the official cause of death from the coroner was along the lines of blunt force trauma to the abdomen. Edit; I see Cython just clarified that.
Muahahaha wrote: » In any case I think that Garda lost his calm momentarily and if he had to use his baton he should have drawn it first and shouted a warning GET BACK. Then if the man then came for him when he had the baton drawn then fair enough, use it on him.
_davidsmith_ wrote: » Many people would believe a guard isnt entitled to hit one of the "feckwits" as hard as he could twice over his prayer book being grabbed at..
Muahahaha wrote: » Fair enough. My point still stands that the use of batons can be fatal- West Yorkshire Police show the areas on the body where death by baton can occur here on page 5 of their manual.http://www.westyorkshire.police.uk/sites/default/files/files/disclosure-logs/2014_218_foi2014514185_use_of_force_policy2.pdf Regarding the Tomlinson case AFAIR the police officer concerned was eventually charged with unlawful killing and was jailed for manslaughter. There was also an initial police cover up which got blown apart by the video that later emerged. In any case I think that Garda lost his calm momentarily and if he had to use his baton he should have drawn it first and shouted a warning GET BACK. Then if the man then came for him when he had the baton drawn then fair enough, use it on him. But it all happened a lot faster than that. Also something I don't think has been mentioned yet- at the end of the video the picture is lost but you can hear sounds of what might be thumps being thrown before it cuts off. I think there might be more to this story yet that we haven't seen.