Little CuChulainn wrote: » Well it would show they recognise the prevelance of criminality in the community they represent and go a long way towards convincing people they are genuinely looking to improve life for travellers and address the issues internal to their community. Their current tactic of denial, blaming the settled community and blaming discrimination is merely furthering the alienation of the traveller community and achieving nothing.
18MonthsaSlave wrote: » Irish Times are trying to whoop up a campaign about the 14 year old traveller who was was denied a wake while ignoring the background of the individuals here, a background that almost inevitably leads to anti-social behaviour and misery for the rest of Irish society. The Irish Times is a comical caricature of the PC Liberal media. If the owner of the funeral parlour or relative of the innocent dead women were related to the Editor of the IT they'd unlikely have the same enlightened view which allows them to mount their high horse and look down on the rest of Irish society.
end of the road wrote: » oh? really? so what training for high speed driving do the garda have then?
Hitchens wrote: » Get a grip........a Polo's flat out top speed is about 216 km/h (134 mph).
pc7 wrote: » The guards had called ahead for assistance due to the dangerous driving they witnessed which caused them to engage in going after the car. The people in the car were drinking and throwing beer bottles on the motorway, what did you want the guards to do, leave them off
end of the road wrote: » not an answer. what training for high speed driving do the garda have
end of the road wrote: » sometimes, that might be a better option. the chase is what they want anyway
angelfire9 wrote: » Forget about the training for a minute If the guards on the scene had said to themselves "Sure look we're not equipped for this" Tuesday afternoons Joe Duffy would run as follows: "I saw them Joe, they robbed my house and drove off in an ancient Polo and the gardai were afraid to follow them" "They robbed me blind Joe, took every bit of silver outta the house and drove off, I had the reg number Joe, I gave it to the guards but they refused to do anything about it" "It was an old Polo Joe, not a souped up BMW" "The guards are chickens Joe, just chickens, claiming their big wages and doing nothin for the people of Nenagh" Followed by the inevitable eye witness: "I saw the car Joe, it went through the M7 Toll without paying, not a garda car in sight, it was an old banger of a thing Joe, sure a man on a horse would keep up with it" etcetera etc etc
end of the road wrote: » frankly i couldn't care a less about the nonsense on the joe duffy show.
Little CuChulainn wrote: » The standard course is a three week one. There is a practical assessment of driving ability at the end of two weeks and a practical assessment of high speed driving ability, including lights and sirens at the end of week three. There are more advanced courses for members who drive vehicles more powerful than the standard fleet.
smurgen wrote: » A major issue I'd imagine is the lack of money being spent on the fleet.my cousin is a guard and I'm regularly out with a few of her colleagues for drinks.they were telling me that the cars are standard 1.6 litre engines which is a joke.if you had a quicker , normal car like a Mitsubishi Galant you'd leave them for dust.they need faster cars and better equipment to ensure that these chases aren't drawn out.I've no problem paying extra taxes for a better equipped force. I feel extremely sorry for the gardai.they're demoralized too because of our court system and lack of funding.
angelfire9 wrote: » My point is for the guards its damned if you do, damned if you dont It was a lose lose situation
Eutow wrote: » The cars also need to be modified for police work, brakes, anti-roll bars etc, but the ones the guards use are no different to what the person off the street would buy, the only difference being they are white with Gardai logo and lights.
Hitchens wrote: » you've obviously never driven then
smurgen wrote: » Is there any point to you being in this thread?you add nothing and I mean nothing to the discussion.
wexie wrote: » Can someone confirm if that's true? That'd be insane :eek: Surely they'd have upgraded brakes, heavy duty bumpers, suspension and all that stuff?
Shakespeare's Sister wrote: » Yeh I'm fairly left-wing but sometimes patterns are patterns - doesn't mean I think all travellers are thugs or that they should be exterminated. I can never understand the denial of something for fear of being seen to stray from a particular ideological position, or worse again, just going against the grain for the sake of it. It's as inflexible as people on the right denying what the Palestinians are made to endure, so as not to be seen to drift "to the left".