how.gareth wrote: » ok i have the file in my right side pane now, do i create a new empty folder called /etc/enigma2 and place it in it?
Technofobe wrote: » in the main configuration screen in the grey area does it say Telnet connected Ftp connected Enigma 2 detected
how.gareth wrote: » Technofobe wrote: » yep green line from pc to receiver to router, if i click on ftp protocol it says login with user and pass, i have user-root password-blank. I think the password should be user root password root
Technofobe wrote: » yep green line from pc to receiver to router, if i click on ftp protocol it says login with user and pass, i have user-root password-blank.
Technofobe wrote: » when you click on ftp you should see a load of folders in the left hand payne one of these should be etc and inside that there should be one called enigma2 Did you assign a fixed IP to the box Did you reboot the box
how.gareth wrote: » sorry not sure on the fixed IP? i just clicked on connect when i opened dcc and it did a scan and connected to everything, when i get to type that command into telnet it says "not found"
Technofobe wrote: » We will have to wait till some of the more experienced guys wade in and tell us if the .sh file is valid for the image you are using My guess is that it should be an .ipk file But I think we will have to wait
how.gareth wrote: » no need! all your patience was not in vain, i just noticed i was typing the command sh/etc/enigma2/iptv.sh but it is actually sh /etc/enigma2/iptv.sh feckin gap between the sh and the / fair play to ye, i can see it up and running on the tv, picture is a bit jerky but thats probably my crappy internet connection, a problem for another day, thanks again
how.gareth wrote: » well after me success for the first time using ftp and telnet i am trying to update my cooltvguide, i have used champs instructions for installing ipk files and im not havin any luck so far, (suprise suprise!) i have downloaded the new version off cooltvguide.com and used ftp to send it to tmp file but when i type the command in telnet its sayin not found, i am typing this- sudo su cd /tmp ipkg install enigma2-plugin-extensions-cooltvguide_Coolman_V7.3.0_all.ipk can anyone tell me if that looks ok please?
how.gareth wrote: » i am using champs ARP which is running perfectly and the only reason i am trying to update the tv guide is everytime i use it i get a pop up on screen telling me a new version is available which i cant stop from popping up. so you reckon those instructions are not valid anymore with this image? has everyone else gotten this pop up for the tvguide aswell?
Technofobe wrote: » the file is not zipped or anything like that should just be the .ipk on its own Have you tried opkg ? Could it be a duff download ?
how.gareth wrote: » ha savage man i just tried that version via DCC and boom success! its all about finding my lowest intellectual level and sticking to it! im feelin pretty smug at the mo now, 2 attempts at stuff well beyond my technical know how and 2 successes, i might try me hand at creating a totally new image called "idontknowwhatimdoingV1" all jokes aside thanks to everyone especially technofobe for stickin with me, i have actually learned a bit of the structure of this linux stuff now
Anchises wrote: » I used FileZilla to see the file structure on the STB and copied the two folders onto the STB. Then the plugins were listed for access after reboot, but the E2upgrade plugin would not respond to the activate [red] button other then to throw a black screen for a few secs. Rebooting did not help matters.
Fresh Pots wrote: » When your in the plugins menu with e2 upgrade highlighted have you pressed ok to start the plugin? Pressing red when the plugin has a stop beside it would do as you described.
Anchises wrote: » No joy starting the plugin. I have 12 plugins listed. The e2upgrade is listed as 'plugin_e2plugin.s' - Is that the correct one ? Does not match the pic as in Pog's tutorial. Should I be able to get the plugin indicator to show green at this stage , with no USB stick in. My understanding is that I am simply enabling the plugin, so that when I insert the image files USB and reboot it will look in the USB stick and upgrade. BTW: I skipped the stage of downgrading to the older version of Spark (1.2.151 ?) , since it was suggested somewhere in this listing that it was not necessary to do that and it's no longer available on Spark's site. A.