jethro081 wrote: » in fairness, kieran hughes is pretty young himself, and as i said earlier, we don't know the background to it. there could be any number of provocations that would incite that kind of reaction. However, i can't argue that it was far from classy, i just feel it was overblown by the sunday game lads.
ProudDUB wrote: » O'Rourke was gone when Meath were playing & Spillane was gone when Kerry were playing. Maybe RTE have decided not to have lads on if their own county is playing that day, as they know that impartial analysis is next to impossible? Or maybe they were just off on their summer holliers.
padd b1975 wrote: » O'Rourke never does analysis when his son is playing, don't know why Spillane was absent.
jethro081 wrote: » that makes sense. I always felt that martin mchugh shouldn't be anywhere near donegal games, as he understandably can't take a step back when one or both of his own sons are playing. They all struggle to call their own counties impartially, although to be fair to him, spillane does seem to give it a good crack, being unbiased about kerry. you could see it yesterday actually, michael lyster wanted to tell brolly to fcuk himself with his galway comments. wouldn't have got that annoyed if it wasn't his own county i reckon.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » On the contrary, McHugh goes the other direction. I can't remember the last time he tipped Donegal! Cute hoorism no doubt and very obvious too. He's a dreadful communicator. Hard to listen too at times but he knows his stuff.
jethro081 wrote: » i meant more his impartiality when reacting to tackles and incidents involving his sons. not so much bias toward donegal, but more that he's understandably protective of his young lads.
emmetlego wrote: » McHugh's comments about Gooch being a "2 trick pony" shows that the clowns on that show just try and be controversial. Gooch is one of the finest of all time, never mind this generation in my humble opinion, and to say that about him is limelight grabbing exercise.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » Yes. He threw a ball at him, lightly. Big deal. There's a couple of minutes now could have been better spent with a preview of next weekends quarter finals.
megadodge wrote: » I was actually wondering if McHugh was going to tell us what exactly his "two tricks" are, because they've been consistently fooling every defender in the country for the last 12 years. You'd imagine at least some of them would have been able to figure out such a 'basic' player by now. Gooch is a genius.
harpsman wrote: » having said that I think "2 trick pony" is a bit extreme, even if your not his biggest fan.
harpsman wrote: » What is it with Paddies and the total unwillingness to allow any criticism of their Sacred Cows? It used to be the Catholic Church,now its the Gooch:pac:. Did you see Kevin Mc Stay and Des when McHugh said that-they totally **** in their pants with the thought of being associated with anyone saying anything negative about the Gooch. You think the gooch is the best player to ever play the game?-fair enough, disagree with the opinion and maybe give some evidence to support your argument, but dont soil yourself with outrage that someone else disagrees with you. I dont really want to get into the whole gooch argument again, having said that I think "2 trick pony" is a bit extreme, even if your not his biggest fan.
megadodge wrote: » Eh, McHugh didn't give any evidence to support his argument. He made a statement concerning a footballer that has only come to prominence in the last year stating he is better than a footballer who has been terrorising defenses for 12 years and is in many people's opinions (including mine) one of, if not the very best footballer to have ever lived. Since McHugh is the one going against the general consensus, the onus is most definitely on him to back up his words. You even agree that the "two trick pony" comment was extreme and that's the only evidence McHugh gave, yet he didn't even expand on that to state what exactly these two tricks were.
megadodge wrote: » Then why the hell is the extremely biased Martin Carney always co-commentating Mayo games?
Grats wrote: » The Sunday Game is so stifled it can be annoying and frustrating. They set their agenda and the presents just won't challenge non sensical comments because he's following the script. Regarding biased commentators - none worse than Donal O'Grady.
aveytare wrote: » Surprised O'Donoghue's 24, he came on the scene a little bit later than most great players. Galvin was around the same age when he nailed down his place for Kerry too.
harpsman wrote: » What is it with Paddies and the total unwillingness to allow any criticism of their Sacred Cows?... ... I dont really want to get into the whole gooch argument again, having said that I think "2 trick pony" is a bit extreme, even if your not his biggest fan.