At older ages (45-59 years), the benefits of cycling were much larger than the harms. But in the youngest age group (15-29 years), the medium term benefits and harms of cycling in central London were both comparatively small and potentially negative. When the researchers analyzed the results by sex, they found smaller benefits among women, largely reflecting higher background fatal injury rates for female cyclists in central London. The authors stress that these results by age and sex relate to cycling in general in central London, not specifically to cycling on the hire bikes.
dubscottie wrote: » Illegal now according to statute.ie… 2011 not the old 1964 act cyclist keep quoting! article 47 (as amended by Regulation 3 of the Road Traffic (Traffic and Parking) (Amendment) (No. 2) Regulations 2011 ( S.I. No. 673 of 2011 )) the following: “Pedal cyclists 47. (1) A pedal cyclist shall not drive a pedal cycle on a roadway in such a manner as to result in more than 2 pedal cyclists driving abreast, save when overtaking other pedal cyclists, and then only if to do so will not endanger, inconvenience or obstruct other traffic or pedestrians. (2) Pedal cyclists on a roadway shall cycle in single file when overtaking other traffic.
cython wrote: » So you think that obliges any cyclist to pull in if the driver behind feel they are being obstructed? Get real! Point 2 in that is clear enough to need no further explanation, but applying simple incremental application of the statements in point 1, you get the following breakdown: Cyclists should not cycle any more than 2 abreast under normal circumstances The exception to this is if they are overtaking This overtaking should only be done "if to do so will not endanger, inconvenience or obstruct other traffic or pedestrians. It's pretty simple application of grammar. Factoring point 2 in to the above means that cyclists should be no more than 3 abreast at any time, and even then only for as long as is needed to overtake. So at no point is a single cyclist, or even a pair two abreast legally obliged to pull in completely, or to ride single file because some driver is getting the hump behind them.
magicbastarder wrote: » here's a fact that will blow motorist's minds - the time you are held up by cyclists is far, far, far outweighed by the time you are held up by other motorists. and in fact, the biggest holdup to those other motorists is - wait for it - motorists like you. i'm constantly amazed and bemused by people's complaints about being held up by cyclists for a grand total of probably three or four minutes a week, when they spend several hours a week staring at the back of someone else's car, and breathing their exhaust gases.
100200 shih wrote: » You have cycle lanes there, what you complaining about ? I do not think you cycle 160 km per day either so you cant really compare cycling a few km around Dublin city with driving around Connemara
SeanW wrote: » As a pedestrian, I could cross a street in Dublin city on a green man without having to yield to some scumbag on a bike. As a motorist, I would be less likely to be involved in a near-accident, or an accident that I don't cause but get socked for the cost of. Cyclists are the worst by far advocating draconian, disproportionate, Orwellian enforcement of victimless crime laws on other road users. Even if there were no other benefits - which there is anyway - giving cyclists a taste of their own medicine would be reason enough in my book.
UCDVet wrote: » When you include the cost of food / calories burned - cycling sucks.
Jawgap wrote: » I would've thought that if someone felt a bunch of cyclists was transgressing this law they'd just ring Trafficwatch (1890 205 805) or the local station. Despite what cyclists think - they don't move that fast, so it should be easy enough for the Guards, if called, to despatch a car (or motorbike) to deal with this 'dangerous' behaviour.........
papu wrote: » It really isn't any cyclists fault that you chose to live 80km from your place of work ..
cython wrote: » Very true, but from my (potentially incorrect) understanding of the poster's point, it seemed there was a risk of reports of laws not actually being broken if people actually heeded it. And let's face it, there are plenty of Gardai, even in the Traffic Corps, whose understanding of the RTA and related legislation leaves something to be desired, seeing as some of them still think we have mandatory use cycle lanes.
100200 shih wrote: » It also should not be my problem that there are ignorance cyclist out there every day that they think they own the road or to but it better think they are entitled to do as they wish on the road. I am not saying all cyclist are.
robertxxx wrote: » No need i didnt read the first reply, save your ink!
Jawgap wrote: » True, but if a cyclist or bunch of cyclists is behaving in a way that is hazarding their own, or other road users' safety......as this poster seems to be suggesting..... ......then a call to Trafficwatch and / or the local station should be made. You don't have to know which law is being broken, only that there is an unsafe situation (actual or potential). It's a bit weird (imo) that certain posters come on to threads like this to vent about unsafe / dangerous cycling but can't be bothered to pull in a make a quick call to the Guards? If it's as bad as people are making out, call it in.
100200 shih wrote: » You do release that not all of us here live in Dublin & the nearest OPEN guard station could be 40 / 50 miles away.
100200 shih wrote: » It also should not be my problem that there are ignorance cyclist out there every day that they think they own the road
100200 shih wrote: » It also should not be my problem that there are ignorance cyclist out there every day that they think they own the road or to but it better think they are entitled to do as they wish on the road.
No Pants wrote: » Such as those who have the audacity to use the road to travel from A to B at the same time as you. Maybe they don't know how important you are and how important your journey is. Have you considered taking out an ad in the local newspaper or maybe speaking on local radio to raise awareness?
RainyDay wrote: » Who do you think owns the road?
100200 shih wrote: » NO ONE, WHY are you saying some one does ?????:eek:
RainyDay wrote: » It's just the way that you seem to expect everyone else to get out of your way, but you don't have to get out of anyone else's way - that led me to think that perhaps you think that YOU own the road - but obviously I got that wrong. So when you do drive in heavy traffic in Galway or elsewhere, where cyclists are generally faster than cars, do you pull over in traffic to let the cyclists through?
100200 shih wrote: » :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
No Pants wrote: » Maybe if you didn't roll your eyes so much, you'd have an easier job dealing with people on bicycles that you encounter whilst in a motor car. :cool:
100200 shih wrote: » Where did I write this ????? So when Im sitting in traffic in Galway city where do you think I can pull over to ??? ( Galway city only have 1 tiny lanes in the city ) so You think I should drive onto the foot path to let bikes pass me out ????:eek: ( This is defo illegal )
100200 shih wrote: » Tractor & buses always pull in when there is a stream of cars be-hide them but cyclist do not,
100200 shih wrote: » Where did I write this ????? So when Im sitting in traffic in Galway city where do you think I can pull over to ??? ( Galway city only have 1 tiny lanes in the city ) so You think I should drive onto the foot path to let bikes pass me out ????:eek: ( This is defo illegal ) So your suggesting that cyclist have more rights than people walking on footpaths, I have heard it all now
No Pants wrote: » This is confusing. Tractors and buses have room to pull in, yet you do not.
RainyDay wrote: » I never mentioned driving on the footpad, which as you rightly point out, is illegal. You expect cyclists to pull over to the side of the road to let you pass, when they are going slower than you. Do you offer them the same courtesy, when you are driving slower than them?
100200 shih wrote: » As you know ( or should know ) in the COUNTRY ROAD there are area that tractors, buses can pull in, & myself if needs be In the Galway CITY for me as a driver of a motor vehicle, tractors & buses to pull over would mean pulling up on a footpath which is illegal. I do not think I can explain this any more clearly
No Pants wrote: » So, to summarise, you are upset because someone else won't break the law and leave themselves liable to prosecution in order for you to get home approximately three minutes faster. That makes no sense.
100200 shih wrote: » I get annoyed when there are groups of cyclist on COUNTRY ROAD with a stream of 10/15 cars beside them having a great aul chat & the rest of us trying to get home from work
John_Rambo wrote: » Maybe you're not suited to driving if you get that annoyed and stressed about slower traffic. Have you considered cycling in and out of work? It's a brilliant stress relief, a healthy work out, it's cheaper and would free up the roads for more patient drivers.