[Deleted User] wrote: » Cheers for the advice on the A4, guys. I don't really care for lowered cars, myself, to be honest. Assuming I met up with the chap, the first thing I'd be doing is bringing it to a mechanic (I'm sure he'd want to do the same with the Rav, so it'd probably make sense for us both to meet halfway from each other and find a mechanic in that area that'll look over both cars?). So presuming it got an all-clear, can the 'lowering' be un-done? (ie; can I get it raised again, or is it a case of once it's lowered then that's just the way it is). Or would raising it cost an arm and a leg? Regarding the wheels, I actually like them. A saloon car really doesn't work for me, but I'll only keep it for a year before moving on, I'd say, so may aswell expirement. I've owned the Rav about 13 months, I'd guess. In that time I did ~25,000km. So I do cover high mileage, but most of it is town driving. Not sure if that's a yay or nay for a diesel, to be honest. My average journey time would be 20-30 minutes (stop/start driving). A car with higher/better MPG is appealing, but it's not the be-all and end-all for me (and I assume a diesel going around town is going to get very similar MPG to the Rav, anyway? I'm lead to believe you don't see the benefits of diesel until you're on a constant-speed journey? Like the motorway or N roads, for example?). From reading the owner's ad and looking at his comments on mine, he wants the Rav (or any SUV, it seems) for more space for kids, etc. This makes me think he's not boy-racered the bollocks out of the car, but that doesn't mean the previous owner wouldn't have. Assuming the car has been raced around town a lot, and been driven hard, will a mechanic be able to spot anything on this that may give trouble? (cos I've heard Audi's can be expensive to repair and maintain, and I'd rather not be handing over a Rav4 that's given no issues, and end up with something that's off the road cos I found out afterward that it's been held together with willpower). Thanks a lot again. I know a lot of ye guys are fairly clued into BMWs, Audis, VWs etc., whereas I wouldn't have a clue, so I appreciate any and all opinions and advice
Big Nasty wrote: » How did you manage to break it? I've never broke in years of having Bimmers.
Alanstrainor wrote: » Broke the bleed screw on my rad top hose...have to wait until tomorrowish when I'll get 5 in the post! They're ridiculously brittle yokes. Need to bleed my cooling system as I reckon there's plenty of air in the system. Really struggling with it though.
YbFocus wrote: » Dont remember :rolleyes: Eh out near the agri college direction so!
pred racer wrote: » We've had this conversation before, I'm about 10 miles the far side of birr from you (heading towards portumna)
Supergurrier wrote: » Cool will be looking for a daily first but will good to go after that. Fury was a good shout. Kinda gone off the two camaros on dd. Would love a Buick skylark or the like.
YbFocus wrote: » I have a feeling I'm local to you Pred, where you based
pred racer wrote: » anyone who wants to be terrified, come on down:cool:
Supergurrier wrote: » Yay new owner found for the ST.
Big Nasty wrote: » Coolio. Lettuce know if ya want me to seeIif there's anything decent coming up for sale.
Supergurrier wrote: » Deposit taken. Guy who owned one of the nicest mk5 gtis in the country. Joe tossy and geo probably know his old car nice red K04 gti.
Big Nasty wrote: » Nice one! Deposit taken or gone?
Kaiser D wrote: » Good clean examples can fetch near €1k easily. If it was 3dr you could get north of that. Unfortunately young lads tend to buy these and tart them up a bit. Not that theres anything entirely wrong with that, but it would be a shame to see a nice example like that end up as a 20v rep or some such. I'd have it up on Donedeal for €800 with a good ad and good photos. 1 owner?
Deleted User wrote: » Someone on adverts offered to swap me for my car. This is what they're offering up:http://www.adverts.ie/car/audi/a4/2002-audi-a4-for-sale/5743301 A saloon doesn't really do me any good, but I do think it's a nice car, all the same, so worth considering, I suppose. I was wondering if anyone here knows more about these and could perhaps comment? Are they a good/bad car in general (reliability-wise)? As it's an Audi, I assume it's expensive to fix anything that does go wrong? It's a 1.9 diesel, so can anyone hazard a guess with regard to MPG (wouldn't imagine it's much better, if indeed at all better, than my 1.8 petrol Rav4?) I'm tempted, but I'm also not too fussed, so not sure what to do. It's also a move down in years, which I wasn't planning to do, but like I say, it looks like a nice car all-in-all, so not sure. Anyone able to push me in any direction with any comments or opinions on a 1.9 diesel 2002 Audi A4?
Sobanek wrote: » My ones are 225/40/18 front and 255/35/18 rear. 500 + fitting etc. for a set of Uniroyals.