darragh16 wrote: » Because Ireland is a country full of finger-pointing, begrudgers and moaners. It seriously effects your mental health!
maninasia wrote: » 'Stop the boats'...doesn't speak to a liberal population full stop. The poll results are above, the majority of Aussies don't agree with providing any welfare to refugees , legal or illegal, doesn't matter.
maninasia wrote: » At the same time I am not saying it is black and white either, it's obviously got a Western democracy with overall checks and balances...but I wouldn't paint it as some sort of multicultural 'fair go' haven, that's a myth.
maninasia wrote: » I've lived in Australia and experienced it's different parts first-hand.
jank wrote: » Which poll is this? Yea, a myth alright given that Australia is arguably the most multi-cultural nation on earth given that 99% of people do get on… but sure don't let facts get in the way of that myth of yours…. Tell me what country would be the ideal multi cultural 'haven'?
Push Pop wrote: » You're situation is very like mine, do you find yourself missing the rain? I actually do sometimes, it's weird. Sedona is stunning, I was there last month.
maninasia wrote: » You can tell by what I wrote that I know a lot about Australia.
maninasia wrote: » I don't need to go into my personal life, just cover the objective facts.
Manic Moran wrote: » More money, better weather, bigger guns.
maninasia wrote: » Oh yeah..and 'Stop the Boats' ...LOL
Mr Morrison said the interception of illegal boats was one of a series of measures in the past four months that resulted in the first boat-free January since 2008 and the first full calendar month without an illegal boat arrival since February 2009. "The results have been dramatic. In the last 58 months, there have been illegal boat arrivals but on the 59th, it's zero. Since December 19, over six weeks ago, not a single boat has successfully made it to Australia."
mandrake04 wrote: » Boats have stopped buddy. There hasn't been an illegal boat since 19th Dec. ..........LOL Of course if you actually lived here you would know that.
Legs.Eleven wrote: » This thread is giving me a headache.
SweepTheLeg wrote: » I would love to emigrate, but wouldn't know where to start. I have no debt or family responsibility so that's a positive. I've joked around with my friends about it and they all said the same thing. "Sure why would ya wanna leave, It's the best of craic here."
jank wrote: » Canada maybe but I hear wages are only OK and tbh its a poor mans USA imo.
Lollipops23 wrote: » I'll hopefully be heading off to Canada towards the end of the summer. I have a job, but it's a dead-end and it's slowly killing my soul. I want an adventure, a change of scenery and to just experience...anything outside my norm tbh Am both terrified and excited!
BraziliaNZ wrote: » Not a fan of the latest beard trend, yoga, or India but I don't care if people do those things, I think you must know a lot of idiots in Ireland! A few of my friends back home have been to India and loved it. Personally I'd hate to go, sounds like it's just an open air sewer!
WilyCoyote wrote: » Ditto! Even if the Irish weather seems tropical to our winter
Jamsiek wrote: » You would be wrong there tbh. The standard of living is higher in Canada than in the US right now. I live in Vancouver now and I work with Americans who love Canada. It's also easier to get into Canada and it has more employment opportunities. No recession here. I'd like the US too but I know I'm the right side of the border right now.
maninasia wrote: » You can tell by what I wrote that I know a lot about Australia. I don't need to go into my personal life, just cover the objective facts.
hegarty147 wrote: » I left Ireland for Canada not for employment reasons as I had a good job at home. I left because i was sick of the "depression and the recession" it was really getting me down. Everyone is so positive in Canada the public service is efficient, politics is not as dirty as home. Canada's biggest scandal is rob ford ffs.
beks101 wrote: » It's an earnest, innate, sort of culturally bred positivity that can take some adjusting to. No begrudgery, no bitching about each other (they do like to bitch about the weather though), a lack of real regard for politics because of the vastness of the country and many layers of politics province to province. I think my favourite thing about Canada was the lack of judgement of strangers, that happens all too often in Ireland. "State of yer wan....what's she up to....it's far from that she was reared" yada yada. Canadians don't 'embarrass' one another in the same way we seem to and I found that very liberating when I lived there. I'd say the positivity and encouragement of one another, coupled with that lack of judgement of each other was the reason why I found it very easy to climb the professional ladder in Canada. I just wasn't self conscious about putting others' noses out of joint, "what will people think" etc the same as I'd often felt in my former Irish work place, and any advancement was always met with a pat on the back. Sense of humour was a struggle though, right to the end. Not nearly as many funny fcukers in Canada as there are in Ireland. It's really something that can't be taken for granted.
lufties wrote: » Never been to Canada, but I've heard so many times that its really boring,probably with reference to the lack of humour. I have relatives in Alberta and Nova scotia. I kind of regret going to Australia instead of canada, it prob would have suited me better.