K-9 wrote: » Maths and basic logic isn't your strong point. 8/9 or whatever it is Dublin Leinster titles hasn't done the much good, 1 All Ireland to show for it. Donegal have the exact same and a Ulster medal is slightly harder earned. 3 different Ulster teams won AI medals over the last 11 years, Down got to a final, Derry and Fermanagh Semi Finals, Monaghan won a Ulster championship and gave Kerry a good go a few years ago, even Antrim did in a qualifier. A Leinster procession medal just can't compare, especially when it converts to 1 AI medal.
Stoner wrote: » I'm not commenting on anyone's position, but I do see your point .. Camps in 2010 with arguably the best squad in the country, favourites in 2012, Cork should still be top three but they are not. But anything can happen next week
oneillMan999 wrote: » cork v Dublin .. will be a lot closer than peoples think but the dubs to sneak it by 2 points. mayo v donegal .. mayo have everything to play for including revenge and donegal are a shadow of themselves this year. mayo by 6 points. cavan v Kerry .. another one that might be closer than predicted. if cavan get off to a flyer and have enough belief they might just cause the upset of the weekend. draw. Monaghan v tyrone .. can't see anything other than a win for the farney men, their confidence is sky high and have a bone or 2 to pick with tyrone who look average this year. Monaghan by 5 points.
STB wrote: » Well its 6 more than I have personally myself buddy. Ever play yourself ? You somehow think that it would be easier to get on the Dublin panel than any other County's panel. The population says otherwise. Put it this way, NO Donegal player has ever matched that number of provincial titles. And I would say you would have to go back some time (should one exist) within Ulster to find a player that has as many provincial medals. You can only beat the teams put in front of you.
Syferus wrote: » Winning the FA Cup final didn't make Wigan the best club in England. I don't think winning the Ulster championship has made Monaghan the best team in Ulster.
Syferus wrote: » If Tyrone have looked average this year then Monaghan have looked far below average in all but one game this year. They have to go out and prove themselves a second time before anyone believes they're for real.
Lemlin wrote: » I did and even if I was good enough to make the county team in Cavan I'd have nothing to show for it. You're argument is extremely childish though. If none of us could comment on county players where would this forum be? And am I trying to say I'm as good as Ciaran Whelan? Ulster is a totally different kettle of fish to Leinster. It was always competitive. Tyrone in 2005 couldn't even win Ulster but won the All Ireland. Armagh in 2003 went out in the first round in Ulster yet still made the All Ireland final. Again, your comparison of an Ulster player from the time and a Leinster play is as weak as your argument that I can't comment on Ciaran Whelan because I've no Leinster medals. Anyway, why compare Whelan to a Donegal player? Why not compare him to his midfield counterparts like Daragh O'Se or Sean Cavanagh? How many All Irelands does Whelan have compared to them? You can only beat the teams put in front of you is correct and Whelan's Dublin failed to ever beat any top team from another province. They were grand for beating a lesser Ulster or Connacht team like Derry or Roscommon in the quarters but when it came to the business end of things they and Whelan were found badly wanting:
Timmyctc wrote: » Looking at this imo it only looks like Mc Hugh has eyes for the ball and yer man has eyes for Mc Hugh but maybe thats my inner Donegal speaking.
Nialler15 wrote: » The guidelines are 3 weeks. So this duty of care he was blowing on about must come into question???
Stoner wrote: » There is commenting about county players that's fine. Whelan was a great player on an average team with poor management. Calling him a coward and claiming comments made about him to his credit where arrogant boasts he made about himself is something else. Where would this forum be if we all did that?
SM746 wrote: » Great point Nialler which got me thinking so I went rooting for info. The concussions were Dec Walsh vs Tyrone and McGlynn and Bradley vs Down. There was 4 weeks between both games so McGuinness' duty of care does not come into question at all in my opinion. That's assuming your 3 week guideline is correct as iv always been informed its 2 for the most serious.
Nialler15 wrote: » The guidelines are 3 weeks and having suffered a serious concussion and burst ear drum myself, Mc Hugh will be lucky to play again this season. I got it playing rugby and still suffered dizziness in 4 months later. I hope he isnt left with Tinitis as a result of the ear injury. Its not nice. Thats fair enough regarding the time frame from the other matches. I was only asking the question
DDC1990 wrote: » McGuinness talking about Key players being targeted and 3rd man tackles? Didn't hear a word from him last year with the treatment Gooch and Donaghy got from McGee. He is the master of psychology I suppose. Hope the officials don't fall for it. McHugh's injury sounds shocking, and its a terrible thing to happen to any player, but it was an accident. Two players, early in the game went and threw everything they had into the challenge to win the ball. You don't hear the Monaghan team complaining about his eye/head injury insinuating that McHugh went out to injure him. He's right on one score. The 3rd man tackles need to be eradicated...hence the introduction of the black card, the thing Donegal actually voted against at congress.
BNMC wrote: » Ciaran Whelan was not a great player. He was an average midfielder at best.
Syferus wrote: » Confirmed since about 10PM Saturday night.
BNMC wrote: » Would it not make more sense to crawl back under your rock? :pac:
bazermc wrote: » God no, I might miss Dublin doing the double than!
InchicoreDude wrote: » Ok, I dont the specific incident you are referring to. However, how many times have you seen players come on and start something straight away? Especially in midfield if things had not been going your way. That does not make you a dirty player. I saw Dermot Earley come on for Kildare a few years ago and give an opponent a serious shoulder running on with the ball nowhere in the vicinity. Does that make him a dirty player too? Every decent GAA player will throw his weight around, doesnt make them dirty players. Alan Dillion did it to Johnny Duane in the Galway - Mayo game this year. Doesnt make Dilion a dirty player. There are a million other examples. Often a player will be brought on and instructed by their manager to get physical if a team are losing the midfield battle. I dont understand how anybody cannot appreciate the skills Whelan had.
Lemlin wrote: » Where did I call him a coward or accuse him of arrogant boasts? I commented on his actions on the pitch. Nothing else. And I did not call him names.