hugo29 wrote: » Kids runnin around lawn here in shorts and t shirt, not boiling but def not stove weather,
darragh_haven wrote: » Hope this sh1t weather moves on up the country and leaves us alone. Was hoping to put a rain coat onto the 2 year old and go for a walk, but no hope I'd say. Its too heavy to consider bringing her out. Pouring rain since 8 or 9 this morning in West Cork
darragh_haven wrote: » Just lit the stove. ..... de ja vu of ladt summer
sea12 wrote: » Yea we had to put on the fire in the sitting room. Posing rain and cool. No sign of sun here
Viewtodiefor wrote: » Sumthing familiar about this weather!
Muckit wrote: » Ahhh...:rolleyes: sure when does he expect you to get it out?! Please God we'I have a decent enough summer to leave them out so the tanks are not going to get any higher til they go back into the shed in the back end. You should ring another contractor and see what they're answer is!!Some contractors would try run your farm for you!
hugo29 wrote: » At least ye did not get knocked out by "LONDON" :mad:
just do it wrote: » "Make hay while the sun shines" and once it breaks God only knows -
Birdnuts wrote: » Its shapin up to be a helluva Connaught Final allright:pac:;)!!
iverjohnston wrote: » Dry all day here, a few spits of pain just the last half hour. Feels cold now, 13 C . Weather girl on Today F M warning of 2 inches rain in south cork! Bloody hell! Usual last gasp win for us today against the neighbours, live to fight another day.
Muckit wrote: » And there's still a lot of lads that haven't learnt this lesson from last year.
Muckit wrote: » :D Very funny Bob, the likeness is uncanny. I'd say that's more your theme tune though..... 'up all night (in my speedos) to get lucky'
Dampintheattic wrote: » Lots of lads have learned, but just still struggling to put last year in the past. Case of having to graze and regraze silage ground this spring... If you have good quality land, be grateful. Plenty fellas on tough, tough, wet unforgiving land. For many of them, having a harvestable crop of grass on July 01, would be a good target this year.
Timmaay wrote: » Out of interest for any of the lads using agrinet and regularly grass measuring, what sort of tons/Ha figures are yous coming in at for the 1st 1/2 of the year? I've never properly grass measured before, but anyways coming in at about 3tons/ha, which seems incredibly poor considering on some years the top lads get 13-14tons/ha.
bob charles wrote: » mixing up ac's and ha's or else dry and wet weights
delaval wrote: » Tim Have you inc your silage ground??? It's not 3 tonnes you are making a mistake somewhere. It is very possible that some have done 3 to date but unlikely to be your average
Dampintheattic wrote: » Lots of lads have learned, but just still struggling to put last year in the past. Case of having to graze and regraze silage ground this spring... If you have good quality land, be grateful. Plenty fellas on tough, tough, wet unforgiving land. For many of them, having a harvestable crop of grass on July 01, would be a good target this year. Bad summer this year for some will be an annoyance. Bad summer for more, will be a get out of business situation.
delaval wrote: » You are correct. It's so easy for us on better land to talk of early silage when we can lock up early and harvest at our ease. I don't like the way this weather has broke. One good 10 day spell and every one talks of superlevy I'd say that view could change by the wend if it stays raining as it did last night. Some guys on wet land up this country have leased out 30% of their cows in April for rest of the year. Looks to have been a prudent The priority has to be filling the pits. Damp, has anybody needed to house cows in your area yet??
delaval wrote: » While I don't know your sr I will assume its 2 on whole milking area I am assuming 100 cows on 50 ha???? If You are grazing from mid Feb to date that's 120days. 2cows x 17 kg/dm grass = 34/ ha/day 50ha X 34kg X 120 days = 204 tonnes utilised. That is 4/ha, you now need to add in silage. I think that's correct, could someone else check figures as I ain't a maths kinda guy!!!!
Muckit wrote: » Sorry previous links wouldn't work... hopefully they do now....;) This is my farm on 24 November. Make up your own mind as to the quality.