damian139 wrote: » I would luuuuuuurv to throw my tuppence worth into this debate. But I'm a member of AGS , and it would appear that the benefits of living in a democracy might not apply to me.
tayto lover wrote: » Probably the most relevant post on the whole subject. I can't add to it. Well said. End of.
dj jarvis wrote: » LOL
J K wrote: » JRant did you know that it was once illegal for anyone to be a member of a labour union. Anywhere. In any business or any workforce. For anyone to strike was illegal. That's right. Anyone and Everyone. And why didn't they just accept this. They took the jobs. That's what they signed up for. That's the logic you are repeating ad naseum in every post in this thread - you took the job you accept the terms. However what was then statutary law some people felt was contrary to natural law. And some people died to acquire the human rights that people such as yourself live under and enjoy now. The right to form a union and take industrial action to protect worker rights. If the Gardai are expected to have no protections where their employer - the state - has made a rule that he could treat his employees anyway he wishes and there is nothing they can do about it and has continuosly acted in bad faith exploiting that rule against the workers then that is an infringement of human rights. If the Gardai are expected not to have these protections that every other citizen in the western world has then they must be safeguarded by having an independent arbiter to decide on their pay and conditions. The state can only make application to amend these but the independent entity makes judgement. This entity can be the labour court or a specially formed Independent Garda Pay Commission but it must be independent of an employer who has fixed the rules to suit himself and exploit his workers.
tayto lover wrote: » Not like you. You usually have your agenda to attend to. :D Nite nite.[/QUO medication tapering off i see , another dart needed and please point out for the crowd what my usual agenda is ? because i don't know , should be a hoot reading your description of it was not aware i had one.
Boombastic wrote: » So GARDA REPRESENTATIVE ASSOCIATIONCURRENT PAY GARDA RANK 2013 is not current pay? The proposed cuts in UK will be start in 3 days time, and like most public sector workers you seem confused between net and gross pay :rolleyes:
twowheelsonly wrote: » :rolleyes: I presume that you have examples of these Gardai in their mid 40s' retiring and exactly how much of a pension they're receiving. Post the details here if you can (That is if you're not just spouting sensationalist Indo crap..) I'll refer you to your next post...... Firstly, most Gardai retire between 55 and 60 which is not 15 years before everybody else. Secondly, very few, if any, ordinary retired Guard is on €600 unless he also invested in AVCs' or suchlike. The rest of your post to my mind is just drivel. You do know that as you're sitting there typing that members of these occupations are out there dealing with drunks, abuse, car crashes, fires and sick and injured people. Maybe in your cocooned world you don't see it but it's happening right now, somewhere in the country. In an hours time it'll be happening again - might be a different Guard or Fireman dealing with it but it is happening. All day. Every day. Once again, Google is your friend. Get your facts right. Who got 4/5% every year from benchmarking?? AFAIR the Gardai got 5% which was paid out over 2 years or so - i.e. 1.5% now, same in 6 Months, 1% 6 months later and the final 1% at the end of the two years. Figures might be slightly arseways there but that's the gist of it. There wasn't a peep out of the Private Sector either whilst all this was happening. They were all happy to reap the benefits and ignore what was going on around them. Now though, as the piper has to be paid, they want everyone else to suffer as well. NO employed Private Sector worker has paid as much in this crisis as any Public Sector worker. That's a simple fact.
dj jarvis wrote: » knock your self out bud , all kinds of crap floating around here but you might be right about the democracy thing - some peoples rights do look better than others - ill swap mine for yours in a heart beat
greenoverred wrote: » You do realise this is 2013 ?
omahaid wrote: » Kaiser2000, you say the politicians simply ignore the electorate but as you can see Meath voted in another FG TD yesterday so the message FG will take is "keep up the good work"
Paulzx wrote: » Don't think Labour got quite the same message
dj jarvis wrote: » well well well,http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/walkout-sergeants-back-down-in-row-with-garda-chief-29162130.html so they were going to take a stand for the garda were they ? standing up for what is right and true ? or get slapped back into place by the commish and the minister, like i have said would happen from the start, why? becasue they were ALWAYS going to get a public slapping , they can prob kiss promotion prospects good bye so lads - you can quote james larkin and sing the Internationale all ye want , matters not a jot in the garda - and they knew this from day one but any sane poster knew this from the start - didn't we ??? :eek:
dj jarvis wrote: » becasue they were ALWAYS going to get a public slapping , they can prob kiss promotion prospects good bye
Pappa Charlie wrote: » No apology for the minister and a clear message given to the commissioner, I think the government wanted this to go away, well done to the four lads! They were never going to please you Dj anyway!
JRant wrote: » The clear message to the commissioner was "yes sir, your the boss".
HondaSami wrote: » He is the boss.
HondaSami wrote: » They made their point and the public will see it for what it is. No one likes bullies.
HondaSami wrote: » They made their point and the public will see it for what it is. No one likes bullies.No publicity is bad publicity.
dj jarvis wrote: » yea , but a POINTLESS point , and the public can also see that, im sure in the cold light of day when they are directing traffic in the rain , they might be a bit more reticent. there were better ways of forwarding their point - this was not one of them publicly snubbing the commis and minister was ONLY going to end one way badly for them - pointless stupidity on their part im not going into the rasons why this was going to happen , i have repeated it many times - some get it , others drift off in the red mist and hear the theme music to citizen jones :rolleyes:
Pappa Charlie wrote: » The GRA conference will be another acid test, there is great support for the garda by the vast majority of people in this country, of course it's hard to expect people who may have been convicted of crimes to support them and many are quite bitter towards Gardai and some vent it on the Internet behind the closed doors and on sites like this, but there are decent people too without agendas who make rational arguments! I've a feeling we have a mixture on this forum!
An official statement issued on behalf of the commissioner said the four representatives from the Kilkenny-Carlow branch of the association indicated that they meant to cause no offence to Mr Callinan.The four personally had full confidence in him, and he also enjoyed the full confidence of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors.