dj jarvis wrote: » i was pointing out that they as a group can not strike because of the Garda act and the Constitution,
dj jarvis wrote: » i was also pointing out the dangers of them doing so , and the reasons why it will be upheld by the dept of justice with a iron fist - and for good reasons ,
dj jarvis wrote: » i also pointed out that they are the authors of their own misfortune by walking out of the talks
end of the road wrote: » by who? the minister? he "jumps on them hard" and most likely he will make them more determined, if a large number of guards go out either on strike or on a blue flew theirs nothing he can do, the guards are being cut numbers wise but the minister isn't going to sack a large number of them on top of those leaving due to cuts. he may have "public support" from those who are in pittence paying private sector jobs but that won't matter when the effects of the cuts begin to bite. the whole lot of the public sector should down tools until their given the respect and pay they deserve and i'm not talking about management. the public sector don't need public support, their job like everyone else is to care about their own families
sfwcork wrote: » You seen obsessed with low paid jobs.do you think that because somebody is in a low paid job their opinion is less important?
Big Davey wrote: » Sack them and any other public servant that does not do their job. Re hire with people from the live register who would appreciate a job with security and benefits.
dj jarvis wrote: » yup but that is why they are not allowed to take action - for this very reason, you can not have a police force taking its own actions - and these actions going against the constitution. it will be jumped on , and jumped on hard. but i have my sympathy's with them.
SB2013 wrote: » Nothing to do with the constitution. It's the Garda Síochána Act and it's a restriction that is currently being challenged before EU courts. its still the law as it stands , they are not above the law, does not matter what court it is in from of Everyone knows the dangers. And that is why it is important that a police force is run properly by a person who both understands and respects the job that they do. They have not broken any rules or laws and if they are punished for not listening to the minister lie his way through another speech then the situation will only get worse for the government. by taking part in any action regarding wages and conditions is against the act , and their action is being seen as discordance - that is why they are getting sanctioned - they are not doing that on a whim It's been explained quite a few times that they were not involves in talks, they were merely informed of their progress. Their presence at the talks, or near the talks to be more accurate, was pointless.
dj jarvis wrote: » so why bother turn up or even have a body to rep them? they had no problem with this set up when the wages were going into the stratosphere during the bench marking days
Dwork wrote: » I hope they strike. Gardai and Nurses are the only members of the PS I would support to the hilt. The rest I can take or leave, including teachers. Try doing without Gardai and Nurses. You'll soon see what is really "of systemic importance".
dj jarvis wrote: » becasue they signed up for it knowing they would have little say if any if cuts came down the line. if they want politicians to take a bigger hit , then make their voices heard at the ballot box. that is how democracy works - not by holding the state to ransom, they are doing themselves NO favors with this course of action. the government wont and cant let this slide. as for the question of why leave , if your wages are cut to a point where you think the job is not worth it , then im sorry but you leave. that is how it works
tayto lover wrote: » Did their wives and children sign up for that too?
G Power wrote: » teachers get a very bad rap, they should be as protected as the rest for their role in society
G Power wrote: » what physical force is stopping any garda from protesting?? as i explained to a detective in my local station the other day when he engaged me in conversation, he started by saying "what can we do, our hands are tied" to which i told him he's letting his hands be tied. I likened this to the illegal promissory notes changed to more "legal" ECB bonds, I say they're still illegal!! the sooner we stop putting too much emphasis on what fools elected into positions on a gravy train have to say the better!!
SB2013 wrote: » And you will get exactly what you pay for.
dj jarvis wrote: » nothing , but there will be disciplinary results , pay cut , rank cut , promotion being stopped , and worse case the army could be called in for civilian policing , and if that happens over money , the politicians and civil servants wont forget this in a hurry everyone is forgetting the oath they took - they cant go back on that, its to uphold the law of the land - part of this regulation is not to strike. what part of this are people not getting?
Dwork wrote: » Sounds good. Sure I'm fairly confident you could easily retrain a few thousand as Gards. The newbies might all be loopers and bell-ends, but who cares, sure gards are only eejits worth bottom dollar anyway, right? . Or not. I hope they strike. Gardai and Nurses are the only members of the PS I would support to the hilt. The rest I can take or leave, including teachers. Try doing without Gardai and Nurses. You'll soon see what is really "of systemic importance".
sfwcork wrote: » do you think that because somebody is in a low paid job their opinion is less important?
awec wrote: » Pretty much the same as every single other worker then, the ones who the usual suspects on here want taxed more.
SB2013 wrote: » Pay cut has already been done. There are no promotional opportunities because there are no new recruits. Training courses and specialist units have been cut. Your disciplinary actions have already happened. And i think you are wrong that the army can be called in for civilian policing. AFAIK they can only be deployed under martial law and this would cause serious issue with Irelands membership of the EU and possibly the UN. There has to be a clear division between police and military. I'm open to correction on this.Besides, nobody has threatened to strike.
SB2013 wrote: » Pay cut has already been done. There are no promotional opportunities because there are no new recruits. Training courses and specialist units have been cut. Your disciplinary actions have already happened. And i think you are wrong that the army can be called in for civilian policing. AFAIK they can only be deployed under martial law and this would cause serious issue with Irelands membership of the EU and possibly the UN. There has to be a clear division between police and military. I'm open to correction on this. Besides, nobody has threatened to strike.
end of the road wrote: » and replace the current expertese with those who will probably be of a lower caliber and who will take little pay for a hard and unthanking job? no thanks the current lot are our guards for a reason and thats how it should stay
dj jarvis wrote: » as for the army , they can and would be deployed if the Garda walked off the job , martial law not needed for the security of the state, again , this is why they are not allowed action of any kind , to prevent the above from happening
end of the road wrote: » no, but i will not look down on somebody who decides to strike or take any other action either to improve or keep the current working conditions and pay, their not doing it for the hell of it their doing it because they most likely have families to look after and have bills to pay
zonEEE wrote: » Politicians took a oath to act in the best interests of the country/people. This has not been upheld. The gardai are the one force that could bring the country to a standstill by striking, and I hope they do.... The people of Ireland need a wake up call. Our forefathers fought for our right to land which the banks are now taking away.
J K wrote: » If they're scabs they can stand on the street with rifles and prevent looting and murder. They cannot investigate crime. The law doesn't allow them to arrest anyone, charge them or bring them to court. The army won't be able to do much about the economic oblivion as businesses line up to leave a country with no police force.