Rasheed wrote: » I still think he raised a good question. Nothing to do with teachers salary or any of that craic, more the level of Irish most students have. I don't agree that it's the teachers fault, how can 90% of teachers be bad at teaching this specific subject?
Ikky Poo2 wrote: » Why is it this specific subject, though? That is the only problem I had with his post: he wasn't commenting on the state of the language, he was attacking teachers. Proven by the fact that he later said English was also taught badly and yet being completely unable to say why. Blaming this on teachers' salaries is bull****. Everything else in your post I agree with.
Rasheed wrote: » I'm honestly baffled at the the level of Irish with most students and I'm putting myself in that category too, since so much time goes into teaching it. No other subject seems to produce as much hatred when learning it! I talked many times with my teacher friends regarding it and they can't answer it either. It's just a pity, I do think it's lovely to be able to speak/ read it.
Ikky Poo2 wrote: » Can't stand it meself, but that's neitehr here nor there . There are two probelms 1 - The syllabus. It's not really geared towards learning to speak a language, it's more of a subject that is used to pass tests. 2- Society. Kids simply don't have enough of an outlet outside of school to use it and therefore they see it as useless. The use maths, they use English, the even use geogrpahy and history every now and again, but rarely if ever Irish.
Rasheed wrote: » Definitely agree with the syllabus being at fault and that the only plus people see in Irish is points in the leaving and the society with having no place to be encouraged to speak it. I don't know about the useless part, yes it's useless on a global scale but I haven't used geometry or a lot of that kind of blasted maths in my every day life!
Mardy Bum wrote: » Parents need to stop blaming teachers (obviously criticism in some circumstances is valid) and actively start helping their kids learn whether it be reading a book with them every night or checking over their homework. Learning is not something which starts at 9.30 and stops at 3.00. It is up to parents to place a greater interest in their children's education. Intelligence is malleable and children should know this from a young age and should be encouraged for their effort. It's not a call for summer schools but it is a call for parents to at least make an effort with helping their children to learn especially at primary school.
Ikky Poo2 wrote: » Ah, now, I never said it was useless - I said primary school kids see it as useless! It's all very well having this debate with me, but how do you convince a 10-year-old kid that it has value outsiee of the classeoom?
The_Kew_Tour wrote: » If I dont do my job right in the morning then I get sacked. I dont get a year to prove myself. I dont see why teachers should not get same treatment.
dizzywizlw wrote: » From my experience (as one who was read to and encouraged as a child) learning rarely starts at 9 and runs until 3 I can name on one hand the number of non incompetent teacher at my old schools of 40+ teachers.
Mardy Bum wrote: » You must have had a lot of teachers during secondary school if you know all their teaching capabilities.
Madam_X wrote: » There are merits to the Ryanair business model, but in some people's opinions (people who are not begrudgers and not the types to blame everyone else but themselves) it has its flaws too. Another unpopular opinion: Calling Ireland a "nation of begrudgers" is lazy and unfair and a lie. Naturally those who say it (usually Irish people) aren't including themselves.
El Spearo wrote: » imo there are many people who simply enjoy having a good complain about something that they believe everyone else wants to complain about.
El Spearo wrote: » well I've had a vast amount of arguments with people giving out about ryanair, and every single time it starts with, i was only 5 minutes late or ends with and they forced me to check the bag because it wouldnt fit... imo there are many people who simply enjoy having a good complain about something that they believe everyone else wants to complain about. i'd be very surprised to hear of a vast quantity of complaints against ryanair for something that was within their control...sure ive had a flight delayed...but sure every airline does that. the vast amount of complaint come from issues which are the customers own fault.
Madam_X wrote: » I think sometimes though, Ryanair abuses its "no nonsense" policy. It's not in a company's interest to be completely inflexible.
El Spearo wrote: » well it works well for them. and when i hear someone say i would never fly ryanair again etc. a part of me says thank god, one less complainer. like they think they have conquered ryanair by spending more on flights...like i realise my opinions are ridiculously strong, to the point where i have actually developed brand loyalty towards ryanair. anyway, just wanted to get this off my chest because it really really bugs me! figured this thread was the place. :P
The_Kew_Tour wrote: » Every airline has a certain standard of poor delays etc but when it happens Ryanair they get the usual crap cause it's seen as a joke of airline. It ain't and far from it but people want to grumble about something. The prices of Trains and standard of fares are far worse then any airline but few have said anything on this.
Deleted User wrote: » Any of ye ryanair lovers have been stranded in an airport because ryanair cancelled your flight? I have. They stranded me and 200 others in the middle of France. Plane never took off and only 60 lucky people had the opportunity to get a free flight to Liverpool (IN ENGLAND...WHEN THE CUSTOMERS DEPARTED SHANNON!) no compensation was given because apparenty it was too wet for our plane to land..thrrefore "out of their control" The other people who didn't fly to Liverpool either got a train to Paris to fly from there or waited a few days for the next flight home. All costs were borne by the customers because they didn't pay for ryanair insurance.
bezka wrote: » Any of ye ryanair lovers have been stranded in an airport because ryanair cancelled your flight? I have. They stranded me and 200 others in the middle of France. Plane never took off and only 60 lucky people had the opportunity to get a free flight to Liverpool (IN ENGLAND...WHEN THE CUSTOMERS DEPARTED SHANNON!) no compensation was given because apparenty it was too wet for our plane to land..thrrefore "out of their control" The other people who didn't fly to Liverpool either got a train to Paris to fly from there or waited a few days for the next flight home. All costs were borne by the customers because they didn't pay for ryanair insurance.
El Spearo wrote: » and i can guarentee somewhere in there people were complaining with redrage missing their chance to simplify the situation. again the example i want to give is that this is one case...how many times have you flown with them? the shear volume of ryanair flights versus complaints i would imagine is very very very good.
El Spearo wrote: » and my final large point to make is the safety record. Ryanairs business plan means they upgrade their planes more than anyone...so the next time you worry about not making a landing when its too wet, maybe be happy they had the sense to avoid 'get it there' syndrome.