UCDVet wrote: » My point is, we shouldn't really care what ancient X culture felt about homosexuality anymore than we should care what ancient X culture felt about pedophilia.
UCDVet wrote: » Google has a cool feature where you can type 'define: something' and it will give you the definition.The two concepts are very closely related. And they were both largely accepted by numerous cultures in the past. My point is, we shouldn't really care what ancient X culture felt about homosexuality anymore than we should care what ancient X culture felt about pedophilia.
UCDVet wrote: » Nobody said it was exactly the same thing. I certainly didn't. The 'issue' of homosexuality should be decided on it's own merits. I've got nothing against gays. I think they should have ever single right straight people have. But people often imply that because lots of other cultures historically thought homosexuality was cool, we should too. That's a logical fallacy (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argumentum_ad_populum). And an easy way to point out how silly it is would be to use the same argument (lots of other cultures historically thought X was cool, we should too) is to use it for a value of X people don't think is cool at all.
Like pedophilia.
If someone is for or against gays - they should be that way for relevant reasons....not what a bunch of cultures used to do. Likewise, if someone is for or against pedophilia they should be that way for relevant reasons....not because a bunch of cultures used to do it.
krudler wrote: » Again what comparison is homosexuality and paedophilia? The bible advocates slavery, but hey we don't do that anymore. Because two grownups having a relationship hurts nobody, an adult having sex with a child does. comprende?
1ZRed wrote: » They should be against pedophilia for the one and only reason that it is non consensual and children are not developed enough mentally and physically for sex so they are vulnerable. Again, this has absolutely no place in a discussion about two consensual adults of the same sex being discriminated against.
lazygal wrote: » I don't get it. Do they just find being gay weird, so they come out against it?
COYVB wrote: » Then we can write off every religion not founded in the last 100 years or so, right?
lazygal wrote: » I don't get it. Do they just find being gay weird, so they come out against it? Or are they worried for immortal souls and genuinely want to make sure they get into heaven? Why do so many world religions condemn gay people?
philologos wrote: » In a sense homosexual activity (as opposed to whether or not people might have difficulty with same-sex attraction) is a human distortion of what God intended sexuality to be.
Many people who would hold mainline views on sexuality including quite a few pastors have struggled with homosexual attraction, but it is not the correct order for sexuality and they realise that they have a far better relationship through Jesus and that they are willing to give up anything for Him.
1ZRed wrote: » If god created man, and so everything about him which would include sexuality, then what the actual fuck is he bitching about? If he sees it as so wrong then it's his fuck up, and entirely his fault.
1ZRed wrote: » Thanks for enlightening me. Religion is a great one for that all right as it's well up to date on all matters sex and sexuality.
philologos wrote: » Christians believe that any form of sexual expression outside of a marriage is a distortion and a perversion of what sex in it's appropriate context, a loving relationship between a man and a woman is meant to be.
philologos wrote: » Claiming that it is God's fault for how one decides to act is utterly bizarre.
philologos wrote: » That depends largely on whether you believe that sexuality is biologically determined or not.
What I would say that even if people are attracted to X, Y or Z it doesn't mean that the physical act of sex with X, Y or Z is appropriate or correct.
A marriage is a union between one another, but it is also a form of partnership with God Biblically.
Claiming that it is God's fault for how one decides to act is utterly bizarre.
What do you mean by "up to date"? Is this synonymous with "agrees with you"?
COYVB wrote: » That's perfectly fine, what I don't understand is why they feel the need to go on about it to people who clearly have no interest of being members of their club? In Christianity homosexuality is banned, that's great, that means that anyone who is engaging in homosexual behaviour is, by definition, not involved in Christianity, so why do those who are involved in it care what they do? Should they change their mind and want to become members, they'll have to knock the homosexuality on the head and do whatever is needed to join the club, but if they don't want to join why bother telling them they can't?
COYVB wrote: » Isn't that a bit like "this is my gang and you can't play with us because you're not included in our rules"? Unless the person wanted to play, they wouldn't care, and their predisposition towards homosexuality, in the vast majority of cases, would mean they have no intention of being in your gang.
COYVB wrote: » Would it not be a bit more conducive to productivity to make sure that all the members are toeing the club guidelines instead of going "ner ner ner ner ner, you can't join because you're gay and our god will see you burn in hell". Your god can do what he likes, these people don't believe in your definition of god
1ZRed wrote: » It is scientific fact that sexuality is hardwired and not a choice. It's also widely accepted to be true by the vast majority too.
1ZRed wrote: » Doesn't mean it's wrong either. I firmly belive that anything mutual and consenting is not wrong. If god has such a problem with sex and doing it out of marriage or only for procreation then he wouldn't have made it feel so feckin good. That's the point in doing that of he's so prudish about it?
1ZRed wrote: » Ah this I agree with, "marriage is a union between one another" - no gender specifics.
1ZRed wrote: » But here, this is where the problems occur. You don't have a hold on marriage and what it means. It's a civil thing. It means whatever you want it to after -if you are religious, so you can't hold what you think marriage is over anyone else of different beliefs.
1ZRed wrote: » That's not my point. You're coming from the point of view that orientation is your own choice, it's not. The act is a choice but the primal drivers to do it is not.
1ZRed wrote: » So how is that fair? If God did create you along with your sexuality, then how come it's alright for a man and a woman to get married and then have sex, as it's then in wedlock, but not for two people of the same sex? -Baring in mind God created your sexuality and you can't fight or help that (as much as those closeted pastors like to think they can)
1ZRed wrote: » Why does he kick up such a fuss? Like, what's so different to have separate rules and praise one act, but dismiss the other? If the 'out of wedlock' issue makes all premarital sex so bad, regardless of sexuality, then surely wouldn't it make sense to say "yeah, you two lads or ladies get married and then it's grand".
1ZRed wrote: » No, I mean the world isn't like it was 2000 years ago. Time to catch up a bit. I couldn't care they don't agree with me I'm just feeling curious and asking you questions.
fasttalkerchat wrote: » Probably because they were fond of the idea of inducing shame... for other reasons. An easy way to do this is to make you feel shame for any sexual "perversions". Note that I use the word perversions as homosexuality would have fallen into that category then.
philologos wrote: » Actually, I have no interest in inducing shame. All I want to see is that people come to acknowledge the truth that Jesus is Lord and He has fully rescued us from sin by His death on the cross, and that we are born again to new life by His resurrection if we believe and trust in Him. That's all.
philologos wrote: » Edit: The question is "why are most religious against homosexuality", the answer is probably along the lines of (although I can't vouch for non-Christian religions) that God intended for sex in a marriage between a man and a woman. Most religions don't hold to a 1960's onward liberal view of sexuality.
fasttalkerchat wrote: » But religions decided/interpreted what each of their gods wanted so surely the question why still stands?
philologos wrote: » That depends on your assumption. If you're coming with atheist assumptions sure. I certainly don't share them though. If Scripture is actually based on a living God who has spoken into creation, it doesn't matter a damn what any man has said about it.