Pippa Middleton's Arse wrote: » I bet you there isn't any gambling problems.
Seedy Arling wrote: » Around where i live three bookies have shut down, sign of the times that the recession is even affecting them. I know a young guy with a very serious problem. He has been away to different places trying to address it, but to no success. Any money he earns he gambles it. In the past he has borrowed/stolen money without repaying it. It's very sad for the guy because it really has a hold on him. He's only 24. He has limited interest in women or drinking. It's all gamble, gamble, gamble.
Seedy Arling wrote: » Around where i live three bookies have shut down, sign of the times that the recession is even affecting them.
Caveman1 wrote: » I know quite a few, I used to work in a pub so I'd see people gambling all their money every day.
Zebra3 wrote: » But obviously they were spending money in the pub yet you claimed they spent all their money on gambling. It seems you haven't a clue what you are talking about.
Caveman1 wrote: » How have I not got a clue? Cop on ffs. Ive seen lads come in for a pint and would literally take a sup from it and be gone for hours then have to borrow money
Zebra3 wrote: » Why would someone come into a pub, buy a pint, take a sip and disappear for hours? You claimed people spent all their money on gambling, now you're saying they also spent their money on other things. Bit of consistency if you're gonna make things up. :rolleyes:
pithater1 wrote: » Some people spend more money than they should gambling Some people spend more money than they should smoking Some people spend more money than they should drinking Some people spend more money than they should shopping Some people spend more money than they should by using too much electricity Should we ban gambling/smoking/drinking/shopping/using too much electricity for everybody based on some people spending more money than they should on it? I'd say no to that.
Grayson wrote: » Smoking is taxed and the amount of nicotine in a cigarette is regulated. Drinking is a problem too, but when people are alcoholics, they suffer serious health effects. Most people are more likely to go broke from drinking because they have lost their jobs. Some barmen will cut off alcoholics. I've never heard of anyone ever getting cut off in a bookies and even if they were, could they do it online? and 1/3 of drinkers are not alcoholics. And as other people have pointed out, no-one thinks that they'll be able to quit if they go on a bender. gamblers always think, after this win.... Shopping is necessary unless you want to grow your own vegetables and make your own clothes. Gambling gives no benefit. It can be fun to have a bit of a flutter, but on a regular basis it's useless. The system is designed to suck every last penny from a person who's addicted. Personally, I'd regulate it. make it impossible to place a bet over X amount and more than a certain amount per day. Possibly raise those amounts or remove the number of events you can bet on racedays at events.
Grayson wrote: » Smoking is taxed and the amount of nicotine in a cigarette is regulated.Drinking is a problem too, but when people are alcoholics, they suffer serious health effects. Most people are more likely to go broke from drinking because they have lost their jobs. Some barmen will cut off alcoholics. I've never heard of anyone ever getting cut off in a bookies and even if they were, could they do it online? and 1/3 of drinkers are not alcoholics. And as other people have pointed out, no-one thinks that they'll be able to quit if they go on a bender. gamblers always think, after this win.... Shopping is necessary unless you want to grow your own vegetables and make your own clothes. Gambling gives no benefit. It can be fun to have a bit of a flutter, but on a regular basis it's useless. The system is designed to suck every last penny from a person who's addicted. Personally, I'd regulate it. make it impossible to place a bet over X amount and more than a certain amount per day. Possibly raise those amounts or remove the number of events you can bet on racedays at events.
weldoninhio wrote: » Costs the health system millions, gambling addicts cost the taxpayer nothing. Let them at it.
Blisterman wrote: » Gambling just a bit of fun? Look around a bookie or casino sometime and count how many people look like they're enjoying themselves.
muppetkiller wrote: » yomamma fair play to you for posting what you did. It takes guts to say that you've a problem . Gambling in ireland is a serious problem, Bookies are everywhere and online casinos can be accessed anywhere now. The terrible thing about gambling addiction is that it's a hidden problem. Nobody can tell from looking at you that you've a problem and it's not like Drinking where you can only drink so much. You can literally Gamble every penny you have and there's nobody there to stop you when you've lost too much. I think gambling online also affects your credit rating when it comes to getting Mortgages ? Might be wrong though.