doozerie wrote: » This talk of simpletons reminds me of a conversation I had on Saturday. There was a... Horrible women.
doozerie wrote: » I'm not really sure what I expected, probably some kind of acknowledgement that it's not really acceptable to park wherever you like just to save yourself some effort regardless of the difficulties and dangers your actions pose for others. What I got was very much an attitude that it really is acceptable and I have no doubt that the same person will do the very same again without a second thought. Horrible women.
doozerie wrote: » I was pissed by then and fantasising about various means of converting such cars to something resembling pancakes.
buffalo wrote: The last thing I see? A "Baby on Board" sign hanging in the rear windscreen.
stevieob wrote: » But what I really can't understand is why he could not cycle down the absolutely empty hard shoulder which did not have a single parked vehicle (and I doubel checked) in it. No, he was a minimum of 2 feet inside the driving side of the yellow line.
Lumen wrote: » Perhaps he was trying to avoid coming off his bike on the frost/ice which would have been cleared by the cars in the main lane but not on the shoulder or the cycle path/lane/track/whatever.
GlennaMaddy wrote: » Maybe the road was treated for ice but the hard shoulder wasn't, IIRC, the hard shoulder has a camber most of the way
buffalo wrote: » Then I got stuck behind a cyclist who stopped at all the lights!! :eek: I wonder if they're on here actually. Does your commute take you through these two corners? http://goo.gl/maps/67Ot1 And do you have a blue bike, racks back and front? Wearing a Rapha winter hat this morning? If this is you, I think you're hot.
stevieob wrote: » Jaysus it's a pick up joint in here now.
buffalo wrote: » a) She was male. b) Fastest A4 HC was Eoghan Clifford (Galway Bay CC), not I. Fair play to him! c) I've never been called fat before. First goal of my winter training achieved! \o/
Lusk Doyle wrote: » You are my champion.
Jawgap wrote: » F*&king Met Eireann....... So much for the doom and gloom this week. The second half of the week looks ok enoughhttp://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Dublin/hour_by_hour.html
Lusk Doyle wrote: » I'm sorry. I think that you are in the wrong thread. It ain't your name on the title pal!
CramCycle wrote: » Overtaken by a BMW who hooked a left immediately afterwards, hit brakes and didn't collide but since they were in such a rush to get into a closed estate, I followed it in in case there was an emergency. I came round the 2nd corner to it pulled in, i camely pulled alongside and waved in the window, a lady rolled it down and I started with: "I am not giving out but in future it would be alot safer if you waited the 3 seconds for me to pass a junction before you turn overtake me and turn in" Much to my shock she instantly apologised, said she wasn't sure what had happened, she seen me as she had started the turn, panicked and sped off. She had not seen me until after the (incomplete) overtake?!? She looked shook and seemed to realise her error so nothing else to say really. I have a edelux dynamo front light (one of the brightest lights you can buy) and a Cateye rear 530 (pretty decent, I can assure you). I left, I wasn't sure what to say, she admitted fault but says she couldn't see me, I mean really, think to yourself, should you really be on the road in charge of such a vehicle.
Beasty wrote: » I've had one incident like this (cutting across me to take a roundabout exit) - the driver apologised profusely, but appeared almost in a state of shock - not sure if it was genuine, or an attempt to feign shock in the hope it would stop me having a go at her TBH, once a driver apologises I feel I've got my point over and will leave it there. Funnily enough though, I had a bus overtake me going up a hill with a sharp bend this morning - he had to pull in quickly when a car came in the other direction - fortunately I eased off and he just got in without getting too close to me. He clearly knew he was in the wrong, and put his hazard lights on to acknowledge it - once he did that I just let it go.
CramCycle wrote: » Same here, i'm reasonably handy with a car but not super, I'll service most myself, look over anything I'd want fixed myself and then drop it in. Last time they failed me on one rear light being too bright and the handbrake not working. When I asked what he meant he showed me that you had to pull it up the whole way for it to be completely secure (it was fine in my opinion, I just think he was a bit of a pansy on purpose). It did work, but 25 minutes adjusting the cable and then 10euro for a set of lights from Lidl. I replaced the light that was not as bright so they matched and that was that. They did charge me approx 30euro though as it was not a visual only check.
Jawgap wrote: » Ah yeah - a mod drops in and you say feck all
Lusk Doyle wrote: » Don't question mods or mod actions. They be above the law. Yellow card territory for you.