micropig wrote: » .Edited video or not, what on earth are the Gardai doing joking about raping a citizen? It show some members contempt for the public. The only things the Gardai involved in this are sorry for, is that their real feelings in the public domain.
It wasn't me! wrote: » To be fair, when the joke sprung from an incident where a woman cried rape as soon as the Gardai touched her, contempt is appropriate. They're hardly going to get back in the car going "Jaysus, sure wasn't she terrible rational? Nothing but respect for that woman."
micropig wrote: » No, but surely they're trained to deal professionally with their situation? If a woman is shouting rape, when there is obviously no rape going on,..is the training get to schoolyard level and trade insults?
Difference Engine wrote: » IIRC a couple of protesters were on top of a truck or tractor to stop it moving. They refused to come down and the gardai removed them by force. As one was being taken down she started calling out "rape". I am open to correction on the details though. It was more a case of a silly throwaway comment rather than a serious allegation against anyone. Edit: prinz beat me to it, with a link and details and everything.
44leto wrote: » He should be thrown out of the force. While a woman was locked in the back of a garda car he a powerful police official talks about raping a prisoner. Yeah, it was a joke, who jokes like that and in a Garda uniform the humour would somehow be lost.
It wasn't me! wrote: » Jesus, that's some emotive language there. She's not Princess Peach and he's not Bowser. Your characterisation of him as a "powerful" Garda is more than a little weird.
Julia London wrote: » I listened to the tape last night on Vincent Browne and maybe im an asshole but it made me laugh. It was a joke between colleauges pure and simple. A very bad taste one but it doesnt make these men rapists waiting in the wings. Ireland is become too PC on issues like this
3rdDegree wrote: » Crazy that anyone should be disciplined for saying something in a private conversation. I think everyone here has made tasteless jokes among friends that they would never make in general public. Lot of hypocrisy around this. How would you feel if you made an offensive joke at your desk only to be disciplined by your employees because some one had hidden a microphone or camera there? This is very, very dangerous ground we are now starting to walk...
It wasn't me! wrote: » I think it would be much more useful to look at the lack of respect the woman in this instance showed for her fellow women by initiating the whole sequence of events with her rape cries.
Sasa1424 wrote: » I agree with you that the accusations of rape made by the female protesters (pre-infamous remarks) were irresponsible and detrimental to the case I’m making for appropriate discourse around the issue of the rape. But my main argument was that the remarks made by the sergeant etc. are now in the public domain and as such have taken on a life of their own BEYOND the actual context in which they occurred. And given this level of publicity, the general consensus that such comments are an acceptable brand of humour makes me feel threatened and more uneasy as a woman in my own country. How can the Irish public deem it acceptable for a group of (uniformed) men to talk flippantly about using their physical strength to brutally intimidate and control women? Doesn't this now make it slightly more acceptable for more people to talk and think in this way? By not acknowledging the damaging legacy of these remarks, I feel the system and that damned report (not to mention public opinion) has failed Irish women.
Sasa1424 wrote: » It wasn't me! wrote: » I think it would be much more useful to look at the lack of respect the woman in this instance showed for her fellow women by initiating the whole sequence of events with her rape cries. I agree with you that the accusations of rape made by the female protesters (pre-infamous remarks) were irresponsible and detrimental to the case I’m making for appropriate discourse around the issue of the rape. But my main argument was that the remarks made by the sergeant etc. are now in the public domain and as such have taken on a life of their own BEYOND the actual context in which they occurred. And given this level of publicity, the general consensus that such comments are an acceptable brand of humour makes me feel threatened and more uneasy as a woman in my own country. How can the Irish public deem it acceptable for a group of (uniformed) men to talk flippantly about using their physical strength to brutally intimidate and control women? Doesn't this now make it slightly more acceptable for more people to talk and think in this way? By not acknowledging the damaging legacy of these remarks, I feel the system and that damned report (not to mention public opinion) has failed Irish women.
Marquis de carabas wrote: » Im sorry so your point is that it doesn't matter what happened, what was said or why it was said? These men should be punished to make a public example? To ensure that people think in the "correct" manner? Should we also start hanging public comedians? After all they make such jokes and worse while women are in the audience not to mention those at home watching on tv or who bought their dvd. Should there be a new crime of making light of rape? Will it apply to private comments in peoples homes? Should the gardai be allowed to tap phone calls or plant bugs to gather evidence? It's insane. You cannot police peoples minds.
micropig wrote: » Not about controlling thoughts If you are wearing a uniform, have respect for what it represents
Marquis de carabas wrote: » A strange statement given your other posts. So its not about what these men might joke about in private its about how they do there job? Well I have no problem with that in general. It would seem to imply though in this situation that the problem is not what you do. It's getting caught making a private comment. Seems like a poor philosophy and a little bit confused. Now if they had threatened to rape her I'd understand where your coming from but it was her who was making light of rape and they never said a word to her. Have I taken you up wrong? Or is it only guards minds that should be policed? The ombudsmans budget will need a drastic increase if that's the case.
micropig wrote: » Private or not, when in work there is no way I'd joke about rape,
hondasam wrote: » You think no one makes jokes at work? We all make light of things and laugh at stuff in private. She mentioned rape and they made a bad joke about it but it was a joke.
micropig wrote: » Garda are in a position of power it's the nature of their job Garda deal with rape victims who are vulnerable They are trained in dealing with anti social behaviour. They should have more cop on. When they're going in to situation like this they are going to get every type of abuse and slur thrown at them. They need to learn to ignore it and act professional, Playground tactics should be beneath them. If they are doing nothing wrong, they have nothing to worry about, no matter what a protester shouts at them, sticks and stones and all that. when wearing a uniform respect what it represents, It show's disdain for the people they are suppose to be protecting. Private or not, when in work there is no way I'd joke about rape, There is a 100 and one things he about have said about her, he could have said I would have sex with her, the state or whatever but to joke about rape??
micropig wrote: » I'm not disputing it was a joke, or that people joke at work maybe I have just have a different sense of humour...but Garda should be above this (trained to be, if the recruitment does not consider what common sense a person has)