Nypd wrote: » The WIT should be held more accountable,
puppetmaster wrote: » Very True, But isnt it up to the Gardai to enforce it, wouldnt a couple of arrests or reports to WIT do something. Blaming €2 drink prices is a joke. .
eeloe wrote: » Let's face it, we were all that age once, and imagine the carnage that would of happened if we were all given drinks(Jd and coke) for 2euro... Student accomodation is set out for just that, accomodation for students, we all know they are going to cause havoc(have a bit of craic) from time to time, let them be, they are spending their money in the local economy, 2 euro a shot in harveys, 3-4 euro for a burger and chip in the chippers, and 4-5euro in a taxi...they are keeping people employed....Waterford City hasn't seen nights as busy as the student nights in years...it's great!
Cabaal wrote: » Nypd wrote: » The WIT should be held more accountable, But why? If the students are over 18 years of age then they are adults as such you can't act like they are 8 or 9. The WIT have nothing to do with how the students behave the same as an employer has nothing to do with what you do with your personal time outside of work.
Nypd wrote: » My point is the SU put considerable resources into big events on the student calendar, maybe they should be looking into what's going on atm.
MitchKoobski wrote: » Templar's Hall Residents Committee saying its not just students, there are employed people as well ehading out. Saying WIT are doing everything they can. In fairness once these students are off-campus, they don't have to do anything, but they have their own security guys out there trying to crack down.
MitchKoobski wrote: » They already are, and they always have been. The WIT have their own guys doing security over there trying to keep them indoors and get them into taxis and out of there ASAP.But student's behaviour is not WIT's responsibility. Theres nothing more they can do. Talking about it atm on WLR again.
ROCKMAN wrote: » Not having a go... but could WIT bring in a code of conduct contract type thing which must be signed by all students before starting their courses.
MitchKoobski wrote: » And it wouldn't be worth a scrap. Primary and Secondary schools have no responsibility for what students do outside of school hours. When they get to college, nearly all of them are 18 years of age and fully accountable to the law. Its not up to the college to police or monitor students outside of campus and outside of college hours. If this was happening on official WIT Accomodation on campus something could be done, but it isnt. Not a single student would be embarassed about going against a "code of conduct".
Finnbar01 wrote: » If anything they would brag about how they broke the ''code of conduct.'' Such rebels and all that.
Mega Chin wrote: » Not really. Itd just be pointless & forgotten about within days. Bit like that confirmation pledge about not drinking until youre 18 :pac:
merlante wrote: » So the fact that we have a culture of young people getting pissed, getting up to mischief and going mad is WIT's fault? All WIT does is bring them all together in one place, but they'd be going nuts and getting pissed somewhere with someone anyway, because that's what we do here in Ireland. We get pissed and star in our own personal versions of 2 and a half men until we are eventually forced to get a serious job where our colleagues and superiors take a dim view of such behaviour, then we grow up. Blaming Irish culture on WIT is laughable. Each and every one of you got drunk and got up to no good, enjoyed it, and still tell stories about it, and now you're all shocked that the next generation is doing it.
merlante wrote: » Blaming Irish culture on WIT is laughable. Each and every one of you got drunk and got up to no good, enjoyed it, and still tell stories about it, and now you're all shocked that the next generation is doing it.
ziedth wrote: » The Templars hall argument started back when I was in college. I think the problem is that some poor family's bought houses early without realising that an estate so close to the college is going to become mainly student housing. It's not their fault it's just how it happened.
gscully wrote: » You bring up an interesting point. Now, let me first say that I am totally sympathetic to the plight of genuine residents there who want a bit of peace and quiet, but here's the thing... Those houses were bought by people who not only knew that a college existed just up the road, but in closer proximity was a halting site, a former landfill, and dare I say one of the most notorious housing estates (no disrespect to the good people of Ballybeg). Did they buy those houses thinking there'd be no disharmony at all?
Psychedelic wrote: » No doubt they will all be out protesting before the budget about how they can barely afford to go to college yet they can someone find the money to get pissed Tues/Wed/Thursday nights.
eeloe wrote: » Let's face it, we were all that age once, and imagine the carnage that would of happened if we were all given drinks(Jd and coke) for 2euro... Student accomodation is set out for just that, accomodation for students, we all know they are going to cause havoc(have a bit of craic) from time to time, let them be, they are spending their money in the local economy, 2 euro a shot in harveys, 3-4 euro for a burger and chip in the chippers, and 4-5euro in a taxi...they are keeping people employed.... Waterford City hasn't seen nights as busy as the student nights in years...it's great!
ziedth wrote: » As an interesting fact (up until I last checked a couple of years ago) if you are having a house party that rivals a superclub in Ibiza and you are blaring music at 4am, guess what? The guards can't do squat about it! It comes under Tort law and if you had a student with enough stones to tell a guard who came to his door just that thar guard would have to be on his merry way. Now, things may have changed since..
jimbojazz wrote: » Right, here's my take on the whole situation out in Templar's Hall. The college should also take action against those involved and should have a burden of responsibility in this regard.
gscully wrote: » . Those houses were bought by people who not only knew that a college existed just up the road, but in closer proximity was a halting site, a former landfill, and dare I say one of the most notorious housing estates (no disrespect to the good people of Ballybeg). Did they buy those houses thinking there'd be no disharmony at all?
cataclysm wrote: » this is the main thing I saw. How can the college stop this?People go out and get drunk, have you seen a Saturday night during the summer? It was worse half the time but no one really piped up because it was them. Now that students are back they get to play the blame game. The night club's encourage this and the Gardai on a Wednesday night are the worse. Yes there like three of them but all they do is stand by the Kebab place and watch. They wont try to do anything because they cba The Union tried to do something last year and that made the flame war even worse.
Some previous posts here bang on about the WIT not being responsible for what goes on there, the fact that they have security out there means they have assumed responsibility and have done for several years.