podge57 wrote: » Great lifting, those are unbelievable results over 8 weeks. Thats an all time squat PR too, isn't it?
d'Oracle wrote: » Good work. Should I take this a proof of the effectiveness of High volume Curls?
Hanley wrote: » Yeah... or how great Smolov is!! Just ran the numbers for the intense... WHEN I take 230kg as my max I'd be looking to finish on 220kg 3x4. Jaaays.
the drifter wrote: » fixed....
kevpants wrote: » Great squatting Jimbo. First time I watched it I thought because you seemed to barely drop that it had to be high but you actually nailed it there if you look at your hip crease. You managed to stay really upright and not get crumpled even in the slightest. Efficient. German soundtrack to boot (or should I say das boot).
Hanley wrote: » <<Let me get that...>>IP Warm Up x3 X Band Walks Scap Push Ups Over/Unders Band Face Pulls Scap Rows Quad Walk
C1Prowler Pushes: 140kg - 10 trips in 11.45 *30 minutes of death*
Max Rounds in 15 minutes of: 10 box jumps 10 dumbbell floor presses with 20kg 10 unsupported rows - 25kg ROUNDS: 10
Prowler Push: 80kg - 14 trips in 10 minutes10 rounds for time: (yes, I sandbagged) 40kg KB potato sack squat x8 55kg Swiss Bar press x8 Green Band Chins x8 TIME: 12 minutes 35 seconds
F*ck conditioning. F*ck IP. And f*ck Will Heffernan. That was absolutely awful. Probably wasn't a good idea to jump in with the guys who knew what they were doing, but whatever.
The 140kg prowler pushes are basically the worst thing ever.
I couldn't bend my legs for about 20 minutes after it because they were so full of lactic acid. F*cking stupid piece of equipment. The 80kg trips were better, but they hurt my lungs more.
First work block was grand. Weights were light enough for me to plough thru without much trouble. Maybe I just need to up the weight.
The last one was basically Crossfit with Elite gear. Wasn't the worst, but I was so f*cking hungry at that stage that I was jut eyeing up everyone in the gym and wondering who'd taste the nicest.
I ended up just doing 10 rounds and going to get a protein bar.
My lower back was pumped after the warm up. Today was always going to suck.
Will Heffernan wrote: » That only took you about an hour...it is good to see someone getting a pump on...getting back pump...and sweating bullets just doing the warm up...bravo.
I had to laugh at you roaring at the lads to get back faster...total amateurs mistake...every IP veteran knows...let them take as long as they like...just ensure that you look awesome on every rep.
Nice work on the sandbagging...you need to be doing a fair bit of that while you get into it...usual tactics employed are as follows: Do a half a session and go home. Take 15 minutes break between every block. Pretend that you thought all the blocks were just 10 minutes. You need to practice your 'I'm confused' face as well for when you get busted...just look around and pretend that I must be talking to someone else or that you have cranial lactic acidosis.
It was Liam and Connor? Isn't Liam that guy that you lads all take the piss out of? Must have been slightly disconcerting getting totally smoked by him yesterday?
Wait till you try 200kg....don't feel bad though...save the feeling bad till I point out the skinny little dude from Donegal with glasses who weighs about 78kg who does his 10 pushes with 160kg.
Faster, faster, faster....I'm sure you here that a lot from Paudie.
That'd be Moo
I was totally going to just tell you they were €10.
The funniest thing about this statement is that anyone who reads this who trains at IP are all laughing at you and remembering when they first started and were thinking about the early sessions they did and saying to themselves...'This has to be as tough as it can get'.
Will Heffernan wrote: » Nice work on the sandbagging...you need to be doing a fair bit of that while you get into it...usual tactics employed are as follows: Do a half a session and go home.
Will Heffernan wrote: » It was Liam and Connor? Isn't Liam that guy that you lads all take the piss out of? Must have been slightly disconcerting getting totally smoked by him yesterday?
Will Heffernan wrote: » The funniest thing about this statement is that anyone who reads this who trains at IP are all laughing at you and remembering when they first started and were thinking about the early sessions they did and saying to themselves...'This has to be as tough as it can get'.
G86 wrote: » Conor was pure flying with the prowler, I was surprised. But in fairness to Hanley, 140kg on your first go is pretty fecking legend.
Hanley wrote: » I'm used to putting forth 9 max efforts of about 5 seconds during a 4 hour powerlifting comp. You could get me to tie my shoes for time and it'd be like cardio
Mneh... I kinda just wanted 10 pushes in 10 minutes to say I did it. Obviously that didn't happen.
I like the 15 minute break idea. Think I took about twice that after the first round of prowling. Literally couldn't bend my legs more than 45 degrees.
Not really... I matched him on everything. It just took me longer.
Besides... who's name's on the record board
Actually crap... I'll be under 100kg next test. I think I saw something outrageous like 80+ pushups as the best?
He's skinny. So he automatically doesn't count.
I do want to get 200kg for 10 pushes tho. I think I'll regret saying it, but it's something I'll chase. Hopefully conditioning and recovery will pick up quick.
It's only gay to recieve.
F*ck all meat there tho. It'd be like eating chicken wings.
I'd have paid it.
I don't give a sh!t about the pain DURING the blocks, it's just the 30 minutes of recovery afterwards that p!sses me off. Once that starts to come down, I'm happy.
Hanley wrote: » It's easy to "fly" when you quit after 8...
fullback4glin wrote: » Booo. Ye guys are over 10kg heavier than me
Hanley wrote: » <<You lips are venomous...>>IP Warm Up X band walks scap push ups over/unders band face pulls hurdle steps scap inverted rows quad walkS1 Box Squats (no belt, 15 inch box): 60kg x5 100kg x5 140kg x5 150kg x1 160kg x1 170kg x1 180kg 3x1 *lying on the ground while Will tickled and poked me*
Single Leg SLDL: 17.5kg 'bell 4x8
Seated Russian KB Twists: 16kg 'bell x20 24kg 'bell 2x20 Chins: green band 2x8 bodyweight x5 +5kg x5 +10kg x5 +15kg x5 +20kg x5 +25kg x5 Speed Bench: 60kg 2x8 80kg 8x3 45 Degree Hypers: bodyweight x15 10kg plate on chest 2x15 Seated DB PC's: 10kg 'bells 5x12 Foam Rolling Think that's it.... Happy out with that session. I could beat myself in the face all day with intensity and be ok. I'm shifting a bit left on my squats, which makes sense cos my left side always hurts more.
Will did a few tests, beat me up, poked about a bit and then did some more test so hopefully he's an idea how to sort me out.
My balance is a load of ****... the single leg DLs are an annoyance.
KB Twists hurt quite a bit.
I was pleased with the chins... 125kg total load x5 Dunno about progression, but I'm sure Will has a plan.
Bench was snappy enough... got much better as the sets went on. I might be learning how to bench again.
Surprised at how much the 45 degree hypers burned.... 's nice! I dunno if it's psychological or not, but my hips feel a lot better and "freer" already.
C2 tomorrow... I'm pretty much afraid to go look at anyone's log to see what's in store.
Will Heffernan wrote: » You forgot to add...no homo....just so people don't get the right idea.
Dude I handed you a 20kg dumbbell...please tell me that it wasn't too heavy for you and you put it back and grabbed 17.5kg's?
We'll make some vids so you can see this yourself...it's a 'comfort' thing for you...in that you do it more at your lower percentages of max and you can correct it when you want to...to a certain extent...under pressure though what you have is a slight rotation of your hip on the right side and a 'push' to you left side which is either due to the fact that your left leg is stronger and or you are shifting that way to compensate for a mechanical inefficiency...I wouldn't be surprised if you have a bit of a si joint issue on that side...you also have an accompanying lack of mobility on that left side. You can't look at any of these things on there own but addressing all the really obvious limitations you have is easy and we'll do that right from the get go...as you start tidying things up 'issues' tend to become more apparent in a lot of cases.
Yes...I know what I am looking at now...and you will be fine. You are not actually as bad as you probably think you are and I think you'll be in much better shape much more rapidly than you think.
You are going to PB in a big way before your membership has run it's course.
Don't be scared homie.
Hanley wrote: » Oh yeah... we definitely weren't being gay. Well not intentionally. Sometimes these things just happen.
Well I didn't change it... I just said 17.5kg here so that when I use 25kg next time you can say you created a 43% improvement in my uni-lateral strength in 5-6 days.
My right quad's way bigger than my left, and my DL comes up slow on the right side with max weights. Suppose that's probably related.
Yay!! Now fix my shoulder for me
Gimme bench and I give you money!!
...is exactly what you said before you told me to lie on my stomach and start poking around... I'm not falling for that one again.
Hanley wrote: » The lateral sprints were alright. Worked on turning both ways. First few goes were crap, then I started to get better, and then I started to die. Was ready to up-chuck by the end of it.
Hanley wrote: » Those rows are a f*cking disgrace. That is all.