electrogrimey wrote: » Few things yous should remember when complaining about DJs at indie nights. Most DJs get into DJing with dance music, which is what DJing is for, so they won't be as into indie as yous are. Also, stop complaining about someone playing dance music at a club. You're supposed to play dance music at a club. That's what a club is. Ireland is strange in the way that most clubs play either shite chart, or shite Coppers music, with only a few dance nights, whereas most clubs in Europe will be playing good dance. TBH pure indie doesn't really have much place in clubs, that's why there isn't a huge selection.
sweetie wrote: » mmm, not necassarily, personally I started djing indie music in the likes of Dorans, Whelans, isaac butt and moved into playing a bit of everything. I like some dance but mostly listen to american/alt-pop/indie and due to the number of people posting on this and similar threads there is a demand for decent alternative club nights. Why is that so bad? I would say a club should play music for dancing rather than strictly 'dance music' cheers
Muffin top wrote: » Really glad to hear this; Whelan's was one of my favourite places to go until quite recently. I think the whole alternative scene has lost it's way slightly; being different for difference sake or to sneer at others. It's "cool" to be alternative so alot of people aren't even into the music their there just to pose ... alternative chic!
me-skywalker wrote: » Dont think anybody has mention it but Doyles?? Great 'indie' DJ there the odd Fri nite and its central and great mix of crowd!
keanooo wrote: » WhiteRob, I'm not sure you're getting the thrust of our argument. We're not complaining about clubs playing different kinds of music during a night. If they want to do that then that's well and good... and let the people who frequent those clubs enjoy the music. However, some clubs are dedicated to a particular genre. Before I discovered Whelan's I had tried a load of different clubs in town. Though I had some good nights out I never really found a place that clicked with me. To be honest I didn't realise there was such a thing as an indie club and that they played the kind of music I like. Whelan's was a place that resonated with me and the people that went there were really really into the night. I know loads of foreigners who have gone there and thought the atmosphere completely unique. They were probably a bit extreme in that they never varied it at all and I doubt if I would have enjoyed working in the cloakroom for 3 months solid. Look at the place now though... The (Saturday at least) nights have lost their soul. They still get a crowd but that's just because the competition is so weak. They'll never get what they had back at this stage because DJs don't even understand what they had; and I'm sure management are too detached from the situation to even realise that the place is slowly dying. I'm with nm on the "all kinds" argument for what it's worth. It doesn't mean we don't like some of the great songs from (say) soul or classical music it's just that we understand the type of music that speaks to and for us.
electrogrimey wrote: » Obviously some DJs will start with other music, but it's fair to say that the majority start with dance. I've no objection with indie nights, and I enjoy them the odd time, but I'm just explaining the reason that there are so few, and why they're 'so commercial and full of dance music' is that dance music is the most natural music for clubs.
mattfender wrote: » Our club in Whelans is starting up this coming Monday if anyone wants to check it out. The Minutes will be jamming it out onstage and Oran from Ri Ra, Pravda and Thomas house on the decks till late. And also would like to hear feedback since its the first night! :pac:http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=215703121816
nm wrote: » Was in Whelans the last two Saturdays and theyre definitely at it again.. dunno if its the DJ himself or whether its an instruction from management to please the masses on a Saturday (which it isnt anyway, its doing the opposite) but the music is getting seriously dodge (pop/dance) for a good chunk on that night of the week in there. I wont be frequenting again on a Saturday for a while.. just wish there was more decent options out there.
electrogrimey wrote: » Wow, Whelans is getting a right bollicking today.
Monkey61 wrote: » I don't necessarily think it's down to the size of Dublin - more people's taste in music. Edinburgh and Cardiff are half the size of Dublin, yet I've been going to amazing indie nights there for years. Myself and my friends spent years giving out about the lack of indie clubs. Helter Shelter was brilliant, but only monthly and because it was so ridiculously expensive we didn't even go every time even though we loved it. It was impossible during school/college to drag people along to a club that only opened for 3 hours and cost a tenner to get in. I got ludicrously excited when Antics first opened. Went to the first one and thought...okay, music is alright - but the crowd were much too young. Suddenly all these "indie" nights started popping up - but they were more "pop/electro/what's in the NME this week" nights that again catered for a very young crowd. Subsequent nights at Antics I found the music got worse and worse - one of the organisers once refused to let an acquaintance play "Blue Monday" in her DJ set because it wasn't well known or popular enough for them!!!!! Blue Monday!!