Baltrux wrote: » We usto play handball in millmount at lunchtime, we were the only 4/5 lads allowed to leave the school when Eugene first came to the mary's, thank god I was only there for his first year we didn't get on, lol! Wonder does anyone still play there? What about the thatch pub, a few of us lived in cederfield for a while in our 20's usto go in for a few pints and have a laugh, an old fella' pub I know but we loved going in, such an old fashioned place!
Glydeside white wrote: » And the memorys of winning everything around us in soccer, oh no wait sorry that was us
Trafford Lad wrote: » I'm pretty sure the pub that burnt down on Shop St was called "Harveys"...black front to it, where Ladbrokes is now I think. Yeah it was harvey's before that it was the viaduct arms. A right ding dong of a spot.
Yeah it was harvey's before that it was the viaduct arms. A right ding dong of a spot.
Trafford Lad wrote: » Thats not like a Dundalk fan to be living in the past Anyone remember post Boxing Club and before Man Fridays when the "disco" was held out in the Village Hotel near Bettystown? It may have only been for a few months (1993 maybe?)...but it used to be a good buzz...drinking down in the Sunshine bar and then getting the buses out the the Village over where Eddie Rockets is. Then coming back when it was bright, getting a breakfast roll in that little take away that was where Black Tie is at the bottom of Shop St...cant remember the name.
ratsam wrote: » Brilliant memories on here.... I spent sooo much of my time in the Witty but my parents never new. We used to sneak in and then send out one of the lads to make sure the coast was clear before coming out...! Gisty's too.. And there was another small arcade across the road from the green man barbers down that little lane. Cant remember the name of it. They used to have a jukebox that I reckon was pretty much stuck on that orgasm song... what was it called... I think it was banned, hence it being put on all the time... it and Leila K Open Sesame...! Hahaha. Spent a lot of time in with Paddy Connor. He was a genius at sourcing hard to get stuff for me. Great guy. Poor fella had a stroke a few years back and stopped selling music. Feck its all coming back. That garden and pond down Scholes Lane. I wonder are the goldfish still in the pond...? A few friends and me where some of the first MTB'ers in the town and used to have great crack jumping off steps in around there. Freeschool lane is another recent victim of recent bad planning. I remember being chased by a Ban Garda on the beat for having no lights on my bike and cycling against the traffic and skipped down free school lane, across Laurence Street and down the steps beside the franciscan church. I hid in 'The band room' (in Drogheda Workspace) for a few hours before leaving my bike there and walking home . I'm 33 now and all of these things only seem like yesterday. Drogheda has changed immensely but I think everywhere has..! In 15-20 years time the youth of today will be reminiscing as we are... I wonder what they will chat about...??? What will change that much that it'll be worth a conversation...???? Brilliant thread... has kept me occupied for the last hour..! Rats
calex71 wrote: » Ah does anyone remember getting the free bun every day in primary school?? I went to St Johns so maybe was only us. WOuld love one of them now yummmmm :P
Trafford Lad wrote: » I also remember the film Cal being filmed in the field beside Hillview when I was very young, I remember not being allowed down to look at it.
kbell wrote: » My grans house in the old abbey featured in it, in a scene where there was check point set up just before the turn down to the 21club. In the backround you could see a soldier knocking on her door. If i remember, she was told to expect a knock a few times but not to answer, and she made a few ££ out of too.
Trafford Lad wrote: » It seems this thread has caught the attention of both local papers, Page 14 of the Indo mentions it, and fair play to them they dont try and claim it as their own...but some brightspark journalist in The Drogheda Leader...see Page 20 "Drogheda Memories"....seems to have nicked and "cleverly" threaded together various quotes and memories from posters on here and packaged them together as a "new" article. It has to be seen to be believed! People called "Alan" "Mary" "Gary" "Jane" etc...no surnames! fondly remembering the Boxing Club, Johno's Shop etc.. 2/10 for the Drogheda Leader for Lazy journalism. :rolleyes:
garrincha62 wrote: » I remember Mad Sheila pissing with her kacks around her ankles shouting at passers by on Fair Street when I was on my lunch break from from the Joes at Sunday's Gate. Also remember running the gaunlet past the Butchens house lest young Stanley come out and puke on you as you passed. Happy times indeed. Anyone remember Black Friday? Haven't seen him in a bit....:eek: