todolist wrote: » Dublin like to portray itself as left wing and liberal.hence giving free drugs to drug addicts and then the liberals are surprised by the amount of zombie junkies wandering around Dublin city.
dsmythy wrote: » I wish they'd take kids off addicted parents more often.
MizzLolly wrote: » I'm just wondering what the situation is in regard to actually telling the Guards when you see somebody strung out like this? Would they not just tell you there's nothing they can do?
Amalgam wrote: » No offence, but the Gardai have to filter out a lot of that, including requests for help from the public. If they didn't, they'd be nursing smackheads all day, every day. They can't do anything until an offence is commited.
Acacia wrote: » Yeah, more than usual. Westmoreland Street all the way down to the Dublin City Council building is crawling with them. They tend to congregate at the Ha'Penny bridge, both on the boardwalk and on the other side ( the alley to Temple Bar, Centra). Talbot Street is pretty bad, too. I hate seeing any young kids hanging around them. God knows, if that's their start in life, imagine how they're going to end up. What is it with Dublin and heroin? Seems to be here more than other places in Ireland.
Marc Dazzling Show wrote: » Have you noticed that there are so many more heroin junkies around town lately? In the last week I've even seen 2 diffeerent kids about 14 who were obviously heroin addicts- how sad. The worst is when you see two parents completely out of it on gear and they have poor little kids with them, I feel so sorry for them, can social services not do anything for them?
MizzLolly wrote: » I'm just wondering what the situation is in regard to actually telling the Guards when you see somebody strung out like this? Would they not just tell you there's nothing they can do? For example, during the week I seen two junkies kicking the bejayzus outta eachother on O Connell St. The boy junkie knocked the girl junkie onto the ground and was kicking, shaking, slapping and punching her. It went on for maybe just under 10mins and nobody was really doing anything, just the odd few watching. So the group of us went up to the GPO and told the Guards there that there was a lady being beaten by a guy and said I think they're homeless. The two Guards said they'll be over in a minute ( ) and stopped on the way over to give a group of tourists directions to Suffolk St. :rolleyes: Then they pulled yer man off of her, sent him walking in one direction, helped her up and she went walking towards Parnell Square. So really, what's the point in telling the guards? Granted, they broke up this one incident but I got the impression there wasn't much more they can actually do. If we do come across junkies, drunks etc.. are we supposed to bring it to the gardai's attention? Or wha? (just to add, the junkie pair were at it again on Westmoreland St on Friday so maybe they're well known to the poor guards!)
grenache wrote: » In the business i work in, we had to stop selling lighters and turkish delights
mikemac wrote: » Why Turkish delights? Foil wrapping? I haven't a clue so interested to know
brendansmith wrote: » HAHAHA I had a real tough day at the office today. Some kid wanted two packets of meanies but was 2 cent short. I wanted to give them to him but in my line of 'business', we dont do that, I got to keep my 'business' ethics man! Without them I aint got nothing in this 'business'.
j1smithy wrote: » Foil is necessary in the preparation of heroin/crack for smoking. A few times I've seen junkies discard whole bars of chocolate just to get the foil. Turkish Delights have particularly thick foil I believe for which it is especially good for drug abuse.
mikemac wrote: » Something to do with junkies stealing the small bottles and use it for sterilizing needles.
Aliza Panicky Liar wrote: » Define the appearance of a junkie please. Not every gaunt, half malnourished poverty striken person wandering the streets is off their face on heroin. I Know what id look like if I spent a few months living their ways.
Its not right that we should be bending over backwards with treatment programs that obviously arent working and turning a blind eye to these scum so much that decent people are being mugged, intimidated or harassed on a daily basis, and that the city is just starting to look like junkie central with smackheads wandering around every damn street corner.
markok84 wrote: » Well I'll tell you one thing, you wouldn't see them in Cork:pac:
CCCP^ wrote: » Is there some kind of treatment centre on Pearse street? Whenever I am heading to Markievicz* swimming pool I notice alot of them muddling around one bulding. * Not correct spelling, sowwy.
Marc Dazzling Show wrote: » So many 'junkies'