DUB1 wrote: » Ah lads ur missing jonnys point & i totally understand were he is comming from & from a former asylum head im sick of the so called asylum & sides sets that get played by the old djs all they play is the so called anthems which are really just the tunes off the tapes & radio classics not the real sound of the asylum & hardcore got played in the asylum all the time from its beginning till its end thats wat was so gr8 about the place, i think the djs are afraid to take a risk & play alot of unknown tunes that people who were not at these clubs wudnt kno so they just play the so called anthems & i lik the rejuv gigs & i really enjoyed ed case's hard trance set but its was not an pure asylum set as a lot of the tunes he played were from 95 lik death row etc,etc & hopfully il make it to this nite & hopully the djs opoen up there record collections a bit & open up a few minds to the hole sound of old skool :cool:
DEVOTION wrote: » You know what Marc, I'm gonna get you to DJ one of these unknown sets at the next Flashback in Bray! A DJ's job is to get people dancing. If people don't dance to the stuff they are playing then they're not doing they're job. No point in playing stuff that people aren't feeling. It happened me at the last Rejuvenation in The Cavern. I played a few not so big tunes and the floor went quiet but when I stuck on the Deeper Cut mix of JX they were all back up straight away. I'd love to play all the rarer stuff too but sometimes you can get away with it. Anyway, Rejuvenation was rocking the other night, thanks to the lads for having me on.
Fintomiginto wrote: » The reason I deleted it was because I changed my mind. Thought it was a little over the top. I suppose I just have a different view of what old skool should be. The again I am only 25 and wouldn't have been old enough to go to these nights of yesteryear. Apologies if I offended anyone. Although I stand by the point of people in tracksuits. Shouldn't be allowed. And its not snobbery, I'm from Finglas and far from a snob. Just don't understand why lads don't just throw on a pair of jeans. Felt like an under 18's because of this. Thought that was a bit low Sean to put that back up. I deleted it for a reason. I don't wanna be slating people whom have obviously put a lot of effort and hardwork into a night. Best of luck guys, just not my cup of tea.
seannash wrote: » sincere apologies mate,i thought there was some unfair moderating going on or something(not trying to start a debate,just telling him why i reposted it)
RaverRo808 wrote: » I know the mods are having a sh*t about this,but its good to see healthty debate about dance music and there seems be two distinct sides, Not naming names but one side reeks of the worst kind of snobbery and the noses are clearly in the air,an ignorant dislike of oldskool,not because of the tunes and its nature,just because the people who like it and follow it,and i'll be fair,because Im part of that oldskool click,there is a lot of slagging done by the oldskool heads towards the guys into the newer stuff, Hence why when you ever go an oldskool night you only meet people from working class backgrounds and those generally with a more laid back attitude to life,and whenever you go tripod,button factory,whatever,its mainly more a middle class affair,people are more refined and would have the important day jobs and go to college Its unfortunate because thats not what scenes about,one side complaining that the new stuff is crap because it lacks the buzz of the oldskool,and the other side giving out about the oldskool saying its being down and get with the times and start giving new more laid back comercial stuff a try, Its significant that both sides are at the opposite of the class divide,I think back in 91-92 when the oldskool stuff was big,it was an outlet for bored disadvantaged youths to go wild,not giving a f*ck about what you wear or what you do and loads of E'S,the new stuff nowadays is all about looking good,sexy women and plenty of coke,both sides are never going to see eye to eye,they both follow very different things Theres me being all smart and deep,or maybe just talking b*llox,the later being probably most likely,but thought Id give this argument abit of depth And sure how can you expect a forum be moderated fairly by someone who mods on Criket and Dance music,:D:D:D,sorry chief had to have a dig:cool:
RaverRo808 wrote: » I know the mods are having a sh*t about this,but its good to see healthty debate about dance music and there seems be two distinct sides, And sure how can you expect a forum be moderated fairly by someone who mods on Criket and Dance music,:D:D:D,sorry chief had to have a dig:cool:
Luke G wrote: » The celbridge lads aint wannabes lads, they are all the soundest blokes you'll meet, all mad into their tunes, and they just love goin to the gigs and havin the buzz, You'll never hear a bad word outta that lot, SOUND they are.
The G Child wrote: » I wasn't trying to disrespect your nights. Just didnt agree with some of the stuff that was said earlier. Fair play to yous for putting these nights on and long may it continue for you.
The G Child wrote: » I dont know if thats aimed at me, but I've never said anything bad against any lads from Cellbridge, I don't know them so its not me having a snipe at them.