colliegG wrote: » My job has nothing to do with this thread. I'm not a Garda but I fit all of your conditions pretty closely.
collieG wrote: Any abnormal looking midgets should have to stay indoors because they're creepy to look at while the ones who look normal but just shrunken should be displayed on street corners for the public amusement.
GreeBo wrote: » What, you dont think being you being a Garda Reserve comes into this conversation at all? Hows that for a nice demonstration of your impartiality reasoning. :cool: Hmm again with the classic Garda PC response. Goodday to you.
GreeBo wrote: I was nearly laughing (from all the witty replies you understand) too much to reply. Nearly. All your arguments for this practice can be countered with one simple word. "Why?" Why do they Garda get this special treatment? Giving discounts to paying consumers is all well and good but freebies to a specific group of public employees and expecting something in return to my mind is clearly wrong. If you accept free coffee because of what your powers are then what else do you accept, where do you draw the line? Coffee for Garda A is ok but brown envelopes to planners are not ok? Can you people not see that its an all or nothing scenario? They are either clean or they are dirty. Its not "only" a cup of coffee.
foinse wrote: » Oh and going off some of your arguments........lets have a little scenario.........lets say I am a garda.......lets say it's my birthday and a distant relation gives me a present.......do i now owe him/her if i catch them doing something illegal, or if they are the victims of a crime? NO! just the same way as I don't owe the shop anything for the coffee as all they expect is for you to return to their shop in future.
foinse wrote: » What the shop is getting in return for the free coffee is Gardai going into the shop in uniform to get food on their meal break, it means they have a high presence of police in the shop and that makes them less likely to be robbed, as it would become quite well known as a spot the gardai frequent regularly.
GreeBo wrote: » Hmmm I wonder what the niteclubs, etc want from the Gards that they are not already getting?
MrJoeSoap wrote: » Exactly, so by giving the Gardai free coffee the shop is receiving extra protection... You proved the point you were trying to argue against there. The Gardai have more to do than hang around shops where they get free coffee. No criminal is ever going to say "Lets not rob shop X because the Gardai get free coffee there so are more likely to be there".
ojewriej wrote: » I don't see anything wrong with that, as long as you know where to draw the line. And all you need to know where the line is is a little bit of cop on.
Xavi6 wrote: » Well where do you draw the line?
TheNog wrote: » possibly through this thread?? I think those against the gardai getting a free cup of coffee are clinging onto a barest of threads with this argument. What does a cup of coffee do you? It helps you stay alert or as an energy booster. That would help any garda who dragged him/herself out of bed at 5am to be in for 6am. Or for those that finished at 6am and are back in work at 2pm or indeed those who are working from 10pm to 6am. I know one garda who finishes a night shift at 6am travels an hour home, gets his kids ready for school,brings them to school, gets to bed at nearly 10am and is back up at 12pm to get ready for work at 2pm. He needs a cup of coffee!!!!!!!
TheNog wrote: » What does a cup of coffee do you? It helps you stay alert or as an energy booster. That would help any garda who dragged him/herself out of bed at 5am to be in for 6am. Or for those that finished at 6am and are back in work at 2pm or indeed those who are working from 10pm to 6am. I know one garda who finishes a night shift at 6am travels an hour home, gets his kids ready for school,brings them to school, gets to bed at nearly 10am and is back up at 12pm to get ready for work at 2pm.
TheNog wrote: » He needs a cup of coffee!!!!!!!
Xavi6 wrote: » My original post was not just to do with a cup of coffee though. I wouldn't go starting a thread just for that. I had noticed a trend where more than just one freebie every now and then was acquired. The power of the badge was being abused for more than just a single coffee. That's where I draw the line.
TheNog wrote: » But you haven't shown us where this abuse has taken place?
TheNog wrote: » Like I said before the Gardai are encouraged to use the badge for public transport, at toll plazas and the bouncers at a niteclub know that off-duty gardai will help them out if serious trouble arises. Where is the abuse???
TheNog wrote: » Like I said before the Gardai are encouraged to use the badge for public transport,
TheNog wrote: » the bouncers at a niteclub know that off-duty gardai will help them out if serious trouble arises.
Xavi6 wrote: » So you want photographic evidence before you believe it? Public transport - I doubt it was intended to be used for a free piss up down the country as is the case in the incident I mentioned. Toll Plazas - Why should they use them free if they're not working? They should be treated as civilians if they're off duty. Nightclubs - So what you're saying is it's ok for a guard to have a few AND get in for free in case a row breaks out? Drink + guards is going to equal serious power trip. They're either there to help or again they are civilians and treated as such.
GreeBo wrote: » Who encourages them? And the legality of being arrested/assaulted by a drunk Garda is what now?
TheNog wrote: » Public Transport - Gardai are encouraged to flash the badge wehn using Public transport this usually happens when they are off duty. Ever seen an on duty garda using public transport?
TheNog wrote: » I have already said it, the Public transport companies encourage the guards to flash the badge.
TheNog wrote: » who said anything about drunk gardai arresting/assaulting anyone. An off duty garda would be pretty stupid to arrest anyone when they are drunk!! I'm talking about helping bouncers to restrain a violent person
GreeBo wrote: » If some drunk stranger in a club who is not a doorman restrains me he is likely to find me defending myself by hitting him in the nuts. If he happens to be a Garda too bad.
Potential-Monke wrote: » Aye, too bad for you, cuz you'll probably then find yourself in court on "assaulting an off-duty Garda".
Potential-Monke wrote: » Depending on the situation, an off duty Garda is expected to help bouncers if they cannot handle the situation themselves. Helping a bouncer is something anyone can do. It's different if someone "helps" a bouncer by jumping in and hitting everything that moves, thats not assissting.
Potential-Monke wrote: » Then again, did it not happen there recently where a fight came out of a nightclub onto the street, and next thing those fighting turned on the Gardai and the bouncers just stood back and watched this happen outside their door (yes, on the footpath outside the door, which they're supposed to look after).
GreeBo wrote: » where have you already said this and how do you back it up? If a Garda is off duty and assists some bouncer in restraining me then he is assaulting me. Who is he to restrain me? A bouncer cant drink and restrain people so why can a Garda? If some drunk stranger in a club who is not a doorman restrains me he is likely to find me defending myself by hitting him in the nuts. If he happens to be a Garda too bad.
GreeBo wrote: » I think you will find that I was defending myself from a drunk person who was assulting me.
Even if that Garda is drunk
Maybe those Garda handnt been giving out Free Parking tickets to the Bouncers and so hadnt built up a reciprocal relationship.
You see thats the problem. How do you all feel about a Parking Warden ignoring an illegally parked car because they know the owner of the local Freebie shop owns it? Thats the sort of crap you get into when you decide that "some" freebies are ok.
GreeBo wrote: » I think you will find that I was defending myself from a drunk person who was assulting me. Off-duty garda =/= ordinary civilian Off-duty garda = garda nonetheless Besides a drunk garda isn't going to assault you, neither are bouncers. Restraining yes, assaulting no. If you are fighting against them then of course they will force you into a position where you can be restrained, but that is not assault. A garda who is blind drunk outside a nightclub attacking people... Those kind of people don't get to be gardai in the first place.
Off-duty garda =/= ordinary civilian Off-duty garda = garda nonetheless Besides a drunk garda isn't going to assault you, neither are bouncers. Restraining yes, assaulting no. If you are fighting against them then of course they will force you into a position where you can be restrained, but that is not assault. A garda who is blind drunk outside a nightclub attacking people... Those kind of people don't get to be gardai in the first place.
OctavarIan wrote: Those kind of people don't get to be gardai in the first place.
Potential-Monke wrote: » Didn't say he was drunk at this stage.
Potential-Monke wrote: » No, if you're drunk, you shouldn't. That would be idiotic as you wouldn't have a leg to stand on.