farohar wrote: point still stands though that you can't really trust these people to behave responsibly with firearms.
farohar wrote: I've emphasised the important bits, once 1972 passed (or certainly by the late 80's) people were out buying their guns once again and you could even see them on sale in country sports stores.
The Minister said the refusal was on grounds of a current policy to grant firearms certificates only for specified weapons. The Minister later stated that firearms certificates and import licences could be granted only in relation to those firearms which came within the policy - shotguns, crossbows, unrifled airguns and rifles up to .22, except in the cases of deer hunting and competition target shooting when bolt action rifles up to .270 are authorised.
farohar wrote: Humans have ONE heart. OMG! I just made a generalisation!:eek: Like I said earlier in the thread you can't trust humans with any kind of destructive power, I don't see gardaí as exempt from this statement.
So what should they do in situations like Lusk?
Manic Moran wrote: Take off, and nuke the site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure. NTM
Manic Moran wrote: They weren't buying the same sort. You would not have seen in the country sports store in the late 1980s a Browning 9mm pistol or a .303 Lee Enfield as the temporary prohibition on such firearms was still in effect. You could still purchase a shotgun or a .22 rimfire, or after, if I recall, 1993, a .270 for deer. Look at McVeigh vs Ireland back in 2004. From http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/ireland/2004/1015/2245958614HM4CTFIREARMS.html The then 'current policy' referenced is the same one which was initially incorporated in 1972. It took a court case over the State's refusal to permit the import of an Olympic Air Pistol to finally remove the restriction, and only at that point could the firearms which had been confiscated thirty-plus years previously be returned. NTM
Seanies32 wrote: So what should they do in situations like Lusk?
There is no denying that the gardaí should be better equipped but it would be a far wiser investment I think to put the money into defensive equipment (e.g. kevlar based body armour), not offensive.
What's to stop thugs from ambushing gardaí just to get the guns, in a country where they are illegal without a licence a gun which cannot be easily traced back to you would undoubtedly be of enough value for such things to become a common occurance
Manic Moran wrote: The battle between arms and armour has been going on since the first Egyptian decided to use a leather hide to protect himself. Arms have always won out. If the establishment concludes that there is sufficient threat against Gardai to warrant equipping them with bullet-resistant armour, then by default there is sufficient threat to warrant arming them as well. All you're doing is just making a harder target, if the first shot doesn't get him, the second could well strike either a weakened part of the armour, or maybe some unarmoured part like the head. Police body armour is designed to give the wearer a second chance, an opportunity to react if possible. They're not designed to have the wearer sit there and get pummelled defenselessly.
Manic Moran wrote: And if you're worried about an arms race against Gardai, it would seem reasonable that as long as the Gardai are armoured, the opposition will seek arms capable of defeating that armour.
Manic Moran wrote: Seems to be more trouble than it's worth. Criminals these days do not appear to be having any great difficulty acquiring arms regardless of the current licensing situation, I see no reason why this should change any time soon. NTM
DaveMcG wrote: You got a source for the instances of guns being stolen from army barracks? I've not heard of any robberies committed with a Steyr...
DaveMcG wrote: How so? It's an assault rifle, are they not considered guns? I don't know the definition...
Kathleen O'Toole, has stated that she is against arming the gardaí and in fact refered to the US as proof that, in her oppinion, this does not work, being from the Boston police force herself I think she's qualified to make such remarks.
farohar wrote: Had I figures I would have supplied them, however I'm sorry to burst your Steyr bubble but the army do use other guns too.http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055151497 I note that the thread I'm linking to is on the very forum you have in your signature...:rolleyes:
Manic Moran wrote: Technically, the only guns the Irish Army have are the 105mm Light Gun, an artillery piece. Steyr is a 'Rifle' or 'weapon', the H&K is a 'pistol' and so on and so forth. It's a nit-pick. The Bofors 40mm might be termed a gun as well, though I believe it's more accurately an autocannon. So should we point out Belgium, Germany, Estonia, Iceland, Norway, Canada, or Luxembourg as cases where it does seem to work? NTM
DaveMcG wrote: Dry your tears, I was only asking for a news article or something, not a f*cking UN study on army gun theft :rolleyes:
farohar wrote: You can't tell the difference between: :rolleyes: and no wonder you missed the thread in the forum you plug in your sig...:p As for all these countries that people point to as wonderous locations where it does work, as Terry would put it: "This is not Belgium, Germany, Estonia, Iceland, Norway, Canada, Luxembourg or France". And if I'm not mistaken these countries also allow civilians to possess guns far more readily than Ireland does thus leading to easier aquisition of guns for the criminal elements too.
thelastangryman wrote: Em, they already have all the supplies thy need? The only difference will be that the guns are stolen from here rather than bought abroad.
tech77 wrote: Also if arming the cops isn't a solution what is the solution. Nobody has really touched on this in the thread TBH.
farohar wrote: I am suprised that I don't think one person has suggested Taser pistols (as opposed to the ones requiring pushing a handheld device into the person, for obvious reasons), if nothing else at least they are not lethal, instead people keep insisting that the general gardaí should be entrusted with lethal firearms.
Satan Polaroid wrote: For the life of me I can't understand why the Gardaí don't have pepper spray though. It is very effective, and has little to no long term effects on the victim.
Manic Moran wrote: From the numbers of people killed by pepper spray, I remain unconvinced that it's really any safer than a Taser. NTM
DaveMcG wrote: How many people is that?
In April 1998, Dr. Ronald H. Levine, then State Health Director, and Harry Payne, the Commissioner of Labor, sent an advisory letter outlining the health and legal concerns associated with the use of OC spray, and recommending that exposure during training be discontinued
Many law enforcement and corrections agencies now prohibit the practice of spraying trainees directly in the face with OC. Based on reports of ocular damage, bronchospasm, pulmonary edema, laryngospasm, respiratory arrest, and death following OC exposure, it is reasonable to conclude that exposure during training, particularly repetitive, direct facial spraying of individuals at increased risk, may cause serious adverse effects and possibly even death. Occupational exposure during training is not advised, and those organizations that continue to use OC spray should avoid direct exposure and screen out and exempt entirely all employees at increased risk for adverse effects (those with pre-existing allergies to peppers, with corneal disease, hypertension, heart disease, respiratory infections, bronchitis, asthma or a history of airway reactivity following irritant exposures, and cigarette smokers).