Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭scuba8

They really should teach English properly in US schools. They still have no concept of irony.

IMG_1254.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭growleaves

Irish people/"boardsies" are very weak when it comes to objecting to surveillance. Usually linking financial privacy to criminality.

How can anyone seriously defend all money transactions going through banks digitally, vaccine IDs, needing a smartphone for air travel etc., etc. and then be surprised when the US president wants to roll out domestic surveillance?

Mass surveillance is coming in piece-meal, with Irish people mostly defending it and ridiculing anyone who objects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Bocadilloo

US embassy bombed in Oslo this morning. Apparently deliberate. Hopefully the US sees more of this closer to home, might finally wake them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 959 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Europe will suffer more than the US from this. They have oil and an ocean between them and the upcoming refugee crisis that they have themselves caused once again. I hope this is contained but US fecking about in the Middle East always brings trouble to Europes shores and this will be no different and I think we can expect an uptick in terrorism, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

it will be random staff who have nothing to do with the war that are injured/killed. The actual decision makers/sociopaths causing death and misery around the world will face no consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,098 ✭✭✭growleaves

British bases in Cyprus were bombed so it's already spilled over to Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,597 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

The U.S. could help in that regard by not having their ambassadors and members of their administration running around the world as well as at home shouting their mouths off insulting other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,691 ✭✭✭yagan

2025 was a landmark year for the EU in that solar and wind produced more energy than fossil fuels.

As for refugees we're probably more in danger from our crims who fled to the middle east regimes to evade prosecution here.

Israel is the real refugee makers right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,547 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Oh look, more war crimes from the chuckle brothers bombing public infrastructure (desalination plants and oil reserves) in Iran. It is now raining oil in Tehran. Both countries can have no complaints with what will come in return, let’s just hope everyone else in the world doesn’t have to suffer to cover up for these kiddy fiddlers.
    *eagerly awaits denial or obfuscation of said war crimes 🙂

I still can't chime with that. A third of all eligible US voters voted twice for Trump and then a third time when they knew he was a convicted sex offender.

When you see three US tourists on your street, one didn't vote out of apathy or whatever, one voted against Trump, and one voted for Trump, probably three times and would probably vote to make him dictator despite his wars of mass distraction eroding their purchasing power.

I can only muster sympathy for the one in three that actually voted against Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,338 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Has the warmonger version of Trump helped him past the tiff between him and the NRA over his casual comments a few weeks back about the citizens 2nd amendment rights being under review by his administration?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Agreed. That's not a Nazi salute. Just someone on Twitter looking for likes.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,227 ✭✭✭Field east

even if it was a Nazi salute I would not think any ‘worse’ of the ‘turd’ - he is gone soooooooo far down the ‘rabbit hole’ that it does not really matter. Him , with all of his utterances, opinions , scurrilous remarks, body language , hair style , the way he struts, etc, etc, etc, etc, etc, etc, . PH is such a ‘waste of space’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,305 ✭✭✭✭looksee

It looks to me like a gesture that he hopes will be interpreted as a Nazi salute by the faithful, but not sufficiently for everyone else to get seriously upset about.

Some interesting snippets from an interview with Der Speigal with self described neoconservative historian Robert Kagan. I read his history of the Pelopennesian wars which pretty much exhausted the Greek world to the point where the Macedonian Philip and heir Alexander swept down from the north and had little trouble defeating what was left.

Kagan: The crazy thing about Trump and his behavior is that we somehow seem to be getting used to the absurd. We are all now suffering from battered-family member syndrome: Was daddy nice today instead of delivering the usual abuse? Thank God! We end up cynically even being glad that he didn't invade Greenland this time. But the reality was: Trump was willing to commit an act of military force. And he probably still is. The notion that he's forgotten about Greenland is foolish.

On the mid terms:

DER SPIEGEL: What do you think he might do?

Kagan: It's reasonable to assume that the ICE deployment was part of a larger plan with the ultimate goal of subverting the congressional elections.

DER SPIEGEL: How could Trump concretely usurp the election?

Kagan: Imagine California: A few weeks before the election, Trump floods the state with ICE thugs who are encouraged to behave as brutally and drastically as possible. They harass citizens, shoot somebody – and trigger massive protests. Which in turn are supposed to escalate so that Trump can invoke the Insurrection Act of 1807 and thus send in the National Guard and the military – of course only to supposedly "protect" the elections. At the same time, allegations of supposed election fraud will be made. The FBI seizes the ballot boxes, and they are "counted" at the Justice Department.

On the presidency.

DER SPIEGEL: You are considered one of the most influential neoconservative intellectuals in the United States. When you think about what laid the groundwork for the rise of Trumpism, what errors do you think you made?

Kagan: I don't see how the Iraq War or the neocons paved the way for Trump. In the larger historical context, however – and here the critics of the Cold War and perhaps also of the war on terror have a point – we created an overly powerful presidency. And now we're experiencing the consequences.

Post Trump?

DER SPIEGEL: Could the country be rebuilt after Trump?

Kagan: In the highly optimistic scenario of a change of government in 2028, you would have to not only fire practically every employee in the federal government but also prosecute many of them. After the Civil War in the 19th century, they initially reacted the same way: We will prosecute these people and give their property to the freed Blacks. But there was a counter-movement, and in the end, it was: Just come back, we'll forget the whole thing. That was a mistake.

Personally my view is that a heavily armed civilian population like the US is like a bonfire awaiting a match, and Trump is an arsonist.

Archive shot of article here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭CajunSurprise

Watching the likes of Hegseth and Leavitt getting aroused during their podium press speeches about the war in Iran really brings out their psychopathic sides.

Pure evil war mongers who are committing war crimes along with every member of the cabinet and every member of the US military who is just following orders!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,283 ✭✭✭✭walshb

that’s the most sickening part in this assault/attack on Iran. Those in power and driving it can’t even discuss it and debate it and justify it with even an ounce of decorum or professionalism. Weird bastids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭somenergy

Starmer is a fcuking idiot he has gone against public opinion caved to the right wing media, Blair twat and the most evil US president ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭rogber

It's absolutely disgusting. Make no mistake, this US regime is on a par with Putin and his psychopathic circle or Israel and Iran themselves.

Two questions: why isn't the EU condemning this?

And why aren't US citizens protesting in huge numbers? Do most of them just not care either?

It is a historical disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,617 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

They fear Trump and his power - he's the equivalent of the main schoolyard bully. But many observers have pointed out that European leaders are overly fearful of him and are way too deferential. Look at how Starmer has been casually tossed aside, despite doing everything for the last year to butter him up i.e. playing the role of the servile supplicant with Trump gets you nowhere in the long run.

And surely it must be evident to EU leaders that the terrorist state of Israel is no 'friend' or 'ally'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - this is the Trump thread,.the Kinehans and immigration in Ireland are irrelevant to the topic. Some posts deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,543 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Lindsey Graham: "If we get in a fight, I want to win it quick. I'm in Miami. You see this hat? 'Free Cuba.' Stay tuned. The liberation of Cuba is upon us. We're marching through the world. We're clearing out the bad guys. Cuba is next."

He must have gotten his dates wrong. He's in Miami one month early for the parade.

Anyway, MAGA continuing to ratchet up the war machine...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,543 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

"Fox & Friends this morning used *old footage of a previous dignified transfer* to mislead their audience about the fact that Trump wore a baseball cap during the one yesterday"

They were caught out and were pulled up on it.

"We want to acknowledge a mistake made earlier on our program. During our coverage of yesterday's dignified transfer, we inadvertently aired video from an older dignified transfer instead of the ceremony that took place yesterday. We deeply regret the error."

I'm old enough to remember when Obama's latte salute was a f**king international incident for weeks on Fox

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Spanish Prime Minister, Pedro Sanchez, has given Starmer lessons in how to address Trump and his antics, would have thought Starmer would have been more precise and surgical, given his background.

Just heard from a relative in the US who made sure that their grand children born there got their Irish passports and she says if Trump reinstates the draft she's moving the lot back to Ireland. At least she still has a house here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,098 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Starmer has been a bit of a disappointment on this so far IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Sanchez like Trump was born with a silver spoon in his mouth and never worked a real day in his life.

Two con men on opposing sides of the same coin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,617 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

You could throw that accusation at Trump himself - he was effectively a millionaire (in today's money) by the age of 8.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Make no mistake, this US regime is on a par with Putin and his psychopathic circle or Israel and Iran themselves.

No it isn't. There may not be much moral restitution from being on a slightly higher rung of hell, but the distinction remains. For now at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing