Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Not yet. Trump is 79. He may not have enough time to make his policies stick.

If he attacks a NATO member though then yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭bog master

2nd Amendment supporters where are you?

Border Patrol Commander-at-Large Gregory Bovino said Sunday that Second Amendment protections do not apply when federal officers believe they are being obstructed or assaulted, even as he offered no evidence that Alex Pretti engaged in such conduct before he was shot and killed in Minneapolis on Saturday

https://us.cnn.com/us/live-news/minneapolis-shooting-ice-protests-01-25-26?post-id=cmktu90zl00053b6qleh6xakk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,029 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Minneapolis: Bash presses Gregory Bovino on Alex Pretti shooting

This interview is infuriating. Bovino is the US Border Patrol Commander-at-Large, and the lies he comes out with are shocking. He's another one of Trump's high profile appointees who have disgraced themselves with statements in the past 24 or so since the killing of Alex Pretti. Others include Stephen Miller, Kristi Noem, Kash Patel and Todd Blanche.

Bovino, lies throughout the interview and sidesteps clear and simple questions. I'll transcribe a few of his early lies. Bovino says:

"In fact I believe that the fantastic training that our law enforcement partners have, the fact that they're highly trained, prevented any specific shootings of law enforcement. So good job for our law enforcement in taking him down before he was able to do that."

"He(Pretti) was there in the scene actively impeding and assaulting our law enforcement."

"And here's a good point, Dana, is the fact that de-escalation techniques were utilized during this action."

"Officers always try to use the minimum amount of force necessary."

"The victim? The victims here are the border control control agents. I'm not blaming the border control agents."

And he repeats that last quote several times. "De-escalation techniques" were not used. Quite the exact opposite, it went from 0 to Pretti being shot dead in the space of a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,202 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

I don’t own a gun but if I did I wouldn't bring it to a situation like this. However, Pretti was a licensed gun owner and legally within his rights to have a gun there which he did not unholster at any time during the event. It would appear that after one officer removed Pretti’s gun another thought Pretti was brandishing the weapon and shouted “gun”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Think it's time we stopped thinking in "left" and "right" and started thinking in "decent people" and "assholes".

Trump and his cronies are definitely a shower of assholes.

That country is going to crumble under him.

Alito is simply a Trump operative these days. The law is ransacked to find a pretext for the next MAGA objective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭relax carry on

So for the Americans/Trumpists or "concerned" posters on the thread; how are those wonderful checks and balances working at moment as the slide towards an authoritarian state picks up pace? They might want to kick in soon while you still have something to save. Or much like the 2nd amendment; do the checks and balances only work in Trump/MAGAs favor?

Sending you thoughts and prayers at this difficult time as is traditional in the US, anytime the chaotic house of cards your society is built on is exposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,253 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 91 ✭✭Nightwing1862

I think the catch with deferring it is that it's unlikely that we'd get it back down the road. Very few countries of our size get the sort of access to the US that we do. Even if old world order is dead, in the long term the US is always going to be a major trading market for us. As galling as it is to have to pander to Trump, he won't be around forever and we need to look at the bigger picture with regards to the shamrock ceremony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,968 ✭✭✭✭briany

They don't want mass immigration from some of the poorest countries. Is there a single first world country on the planet where the majority of the citizens actually want that? We certainly don't in Ireland. It doesn't enrich a nation.

If you think Americas a **** hole I can only imagine what you think of the countries further down the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭midlander12

I didn't come across that article, but it wouldn't surprise me. The most sickening thing I heard this week, and boy was there a lot of competition, was the sheer glee in the UK media, even on the likes of LBC, at Trump's non-apology yesterday over what he said about supposedly frontline-averse NATO troops, clarifying that the Brits at least were 'great warriors'. This was seen as a major feather in Starmer's cap, instead of a humiliating pat on the back from a teacher to a pupil who he just flogged the s..t out the previous day. And never mind that he made no such 'clarification' about the Danes, Poles and others who had death rates per capita almost as high as the US in Afghanistan.

The UK is so deeply obsessed with its alleged 'special relationship' with the US that it cannot forbear jumping on crumbs from the table of what is becoming an openly fascist regime, aggressively hostile to everything European democracy stands for. And I'm afraid we're seeing a similar phenomenon here with Micheal Martin refusing to completely reject Trump's Board of Thugs, unlike every other Western European country and (Blair aside) even the UK, I think, and the forelock-tugging we're likely to see on Patrick's Day and at the Irish Open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,597 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

They probably should have done the same for the murder of Renee Good but probably thought that all the forensics and evidence had been tampered with which I have no doubts it was. Even so it seems this federal administration could not even do that as the original FBI investigator at the scene has resigned due to the finding of that supposed inquiry where she was being pressured to find the victim at fault.

The fruit hasn`t fallen far from the tree here with a few, no matter how much they try denying it, when it comes to attempting to do the same and blame the victim.

I liked both Blair and Cameron at first. Shows my political acumen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,750 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

America is for the most part, not very nice.

The best description I hear was it’s the nicest third world country in the world.

U.S. Rep. Thomas Massie, R-Kentucky, also blasted Essayli's comments, writing on X: "Carrying a firearm is not a death sentence, it’s a Constitutionally protected God-given right, and if you don’t understand this you have no business in law enforcement or government."

Must say I’m beginning to like libertarians. While they are on the loopy side of things they do seem to live by a consistent set of beliefs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Watching this Bovino guy on Sky News....what a nutjob. Even sounds and speaks like Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,597 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Some are even incapable of seeing how their own posts make a mockery of the point they are making.

Three of those presidents deported much greater numbers without resorting to paying $19 Billion a year employing scum to purposely cause social unrest in areas where the majority of the population did not politically support this scums masters, who have been given carte blanche by the same masters to commit murder with the assurance they will not face any consequences.

Hint : if you still cannot figure out which president that is, it`s the one on the bottom right. Even though replacing his picture with one of Hitler would have made no difference, other than Hitler never being president of Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,279 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

ICE are associated with multiple deaths in last few weeks and you're sole goal appears to be downplaying it. You seem to show no concern over the fact an ICU nurse was effectively executed. No concern that the regime justifies it. Instead you continue to bitch about mass immigration. ICE are terrorisong the civilian population.

If this was happening in Iran or Saudi Arabia I suspect your commentary would be very different. If the Gardai were behaving like this and the government was backing it, our government would collapse. So you are acting as an apologist for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,189 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

A supervisor in the FBI’s Minneapolis field office who unsuccessfully attempted to investigate the Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) agent who fatally shot Renee Nicole Good in the city on 7 January has resigned, according to multiple reports.

News of agent Tracee Mergen’s resignation surfaced shortly before federal agents fatally shot Alex Pretti in Minneapolis on Saturday. Pretti and Good were both 37-year-old US citizens.

Mergen resigned following pressure from the bureau in Washington DC to discontinue an inquiry into ICE officer Jonathan Ross, who shot Good to death as videos showed her trying to drive away from a confrontation, according to the New York Times and NBC News.

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2026/jan/25/fbi-tracee-mergen-resigns-ice-renee-good-investigation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

25 minutes into the press conference video below, ICE shows photos of people they claim were convicted criminals and one who bit off an ICE members finger. Calls them criminal illegal aliens.

Doesnt seem the man who was shot dead was one of them. But they accuse him of interfering with an arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

It would be great to see British journalist get a chance to grill the Trump administration and their representatives more often. American journalists just seem ineffective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,337 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Looking at what happened to the FBI investigator on the Renee Good case, instructed to change the status of the killing from investigating Agent Ross for the shooting to investigating Renee and her wife for an assault on Ross, there isn't much way one can have trust in law enforcement investigations when DHS, at the behest of those in charge at Trump level down, can scupper the chance of bringing the perpetrator to book. The agent resigned from the FBI instead.

The number of applications to working and holiday visa applications including from Ireland tells it's own tale. The reviews I hear from lads returning from new York, Boston etc are far better then Toronto and Vancouver for example. It's a Very attractive destination.

I don't need to apologise on behalf of a political party I can't vote for but wouldn't actually vote for if I had the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,279 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

She is well trained by the Israelis - even down to the name check in the middle of lying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,653 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Nobody is asking you to. You are absolutely dodging the rather serious systemic issues that are being encouraged from the very top. You've ranted about immigration while civilians are being murdered.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,084 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I would pay to see Jeremy Paxman interview Trump and not hold back.