Mass shooting on Bondi Beach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

So it’s “virtually ceased” apart from the Islamic terrorist stabbing attack the occurred in our capital only a few months ago. Right.

I also didn’t say anything about immigration from Muslim countries nor did I say anything about the migration status of the killer yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,462 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

There are 45m Muslims in Europe - the numbers actively involved in terrorism would be 0.000001% or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭volchitsa

I’ve explained several times. I grew up in NI in the 70s so I know the difference between targeted assassination where they’re trying to get YOU and just being in the wrong place at the wrong time. And I know what both feel like (because loyalists in the 70s attacked random catholics because they were catholic, but most bombs were aimed at the security forces.) The former was a bit like being Jewish these days I guess except that there were enough of us to have relatively safe area to live in.

What we (mostly) didn’t have were attacks that deliberately tried to maximise civilian deaths so as to make normal life impossible. That’s what I’m referring to.

No idea what you’re trying to prove here but you seem to want to project something else so off you go.

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,472 ✭✭✭✭Necro

Yeah… benefit of hindsight and all that but it seems to be a massive oversight by them surely given they were aware of the son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,008 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I do believe it, to reman quiet is to remain complacent. The Irish distant ourselves from the IRA, Jews need to speak up against the atrocities been committed in their name, likewise other groups need to to the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,148 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

What they are saying is there are enough Muslims in each generation who clearly hate the west

There’s an obvious course of action to encourage more in each generation to think like that. It’s literally played out multiple times over history, globally.

As somebody who grew up in NI in the 70s, you should probably make that connection I’m alluding to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,008 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Even we northerners weren’t attacked in the way Israelis have been, so condemning the IRA is easy. And even then plenty of people still can’t do it. Apparently “there was no other option.🙄

Moreover, attacking Jews in Australia would be like attacking a St Patrick’s day parade in Chicago because of the IRA. Why should they have to apologise for the IRA?

But even if Australian Jews did that - and many have - what difference would that make? You don’t really think the two killers checked to see if any of the Jews present had ever protested Netanyahu do you?

"If a woman cannot stand in a public space and say, without fear of consequences, that men cannot be women, then women have no rights at all." Helen Joyce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

if those countries decided there was excessive threat from Irish people and wished to ban them then that is their right.

Those are actions of individual scumbags without an over arching ideology or motive behind them, which is different from the attack in Bondi and various other attacks across the world by Islamic nuts.

Fact is the Islamic ideology/religion has in no way been beneficial to the west so why does it need to be imported here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

They do.

They did it in Israel to the point where Bibi was trying to get Shin Bet to give him details of those posting criticism of him and the conflict online. It was one of the reasons Ronen Bar stepped down from leading that organisation.

I'd argue the same about Muslims. Where are the Million Muslim Marches for peace across the West and Arab world after these atrocities? Where were those Marches and Protests after October 7th?

Try me. What’s the solution that will allow Israel to exist in peace with its neighbours?

And that wouldn’t prevent ISIS or Al Qaeda or Boko Haram etc etc anyway.

So please. Do tell us what the answer is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭Cordell

No, dead are 15 innocent people. And countless others at the hands of islamic terrorism.

And many more could have been dead, the link I sent you which obviously you haven't bother to read describes a failed concert bomb attack planned by IS. Same IS that you claim is dead.

Islamic terrorism will never be dead, the recent events just reminded everyone of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,999 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What about the future ? How do you reduce the hatred or risk of radicalisation? Kids these days seem less and less influenced by religion (I regard them all as a nonsense and I am in my 50s).

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

Why not, if the crime figures showed that the Irish were a significantly higher risk than the locals? Do you think there’s some law that prevents a country from doing that?

The main risk is if you want your country to keep doing business with Ireland, then banning Irish visitors doesn’t help much. I don’t think we’d need to worry about our exports to Somalia or Pakistan though.

Risk of terrorism to the general public in Europe is very, very small, whether from Islamists or anyone else.

Even our far right racist friends have been banging on for the last few years about immigrants from Muslim countries being potential sex offenders or criminals, not terrorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭greyday

….

Post edited by greyday on

Oh no the good old "muslim terrorists kill only a few europeans" trope again being used as argument.

It's very hard and involves un-washing their brains. As a prerequisite this will require designating islam as dangerous ideology, and stripping it of any protection given by freedom of religion. All, of course, with a good bit of re-migration.

But we both know nothing will be done.

I presume you're taking that latter number out of your proverbial, but in any case it still demonstrates your ignorance of how terrorists and guerilla warfare works: there has to be a much bigger "pond" of people who tolerate the extremist "fish" for them to survive. For every one who actually acts, there are dozens who are complicit to some degree.

Again I'm going to compare it to NI: we all "knew" stuff that nobody went to the police about. As a teenager I knew guys who were in the INLA or the IRA - that was just how it was. "The dogs in the street knew" as they said. And "Whatever you say, say nothing" - all that. It would never have occurred to me to inform on them. Not even when abuse that was not political at all happened, such as one guy I knew, not in the IRA himself but reputed to be "connected" got someone else kneecapped for "stealing" his girlfriend. We all thought it was disgusting but nobody complained because it's all kept "inhouse".

And I would put money on the fact of Muslim communities being more closed to outsiders again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,447 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Is your reading comprehension really that bad? Where did I mention prevent preventing ISUS, Al Queda or Boko Haram?

I asked a really simple question to a poster. A reiterated, almost rhetorically to you. Are you expecting me to now spoonfeed you,

If hypothetical, we wanted society if make that problem worse. What should we do?

Ah so that's grand then. Only Jews are actually targeted so who cares? Well except when other people are targeted starting with Salman Rushdie or the teacher in Batley, but let's not talk about them. After all there are only a few of them. The rest of us just need to be careful not to go to Christmas markets in Germany, and to watch out at concerts.

And of course "women get raped anyway, so what are a few more rapes" is an argument I hear regularly in another context so I expect it applies here too.

Well you were replying to me. You said this:

There’s an obvious course of action to encourage more in each generation to think like that. It’s literally played out multiple times over history, globally.

As somebody who grew up in NI in the 70s, you should probably make that connection I’m alluding to

And no I'm not prepared to guess as to what you're alluding to. Why don't you just say?

But now there's this:

If hypothetical, we wanted society if make that problem worse. What should we do?

I've read that sentence three times and I must really have poor comprehension alright because I've no idea what it says.

A poster was talking about the minority Muslim hating the west. (I think you said similar).
    I agreed that’s a problem. I simply asked, hypothetically, how could be make that worse. To encourage more Muslims to hate the rest.

You shouldn’t need to guess. It’s not a trick question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,544 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I don't blame all Christians for perverted priests, i do though blame the hierarchy who covered it up and those of the flock who try to minimise their crimes. I also don't blame all muslims when a terrorist attack is committed. In the same way i don't hold jews in Australia, or wherever they maybe , to be collectively responsible for the actions of the current Israeli government. I accept the argument that having a prudent immigration system is wise and logical, but as you likely know well there is a difference between that and Islamophobia which assumes all muslims are either backward jihadists or potential ones. How do non muslims fare in Saudi Arabia and Indonesia by the way? Also if nermal is correct, shouldn't the likes of ISIS have millions of would be suicide bombers instead of the actual numbers they do have.

Post edited by nacho libre on

how could be make that worse. To encourage more Muslims to hate the rest.

How could WE make it worse?? Why is it our problem? If they don't like it here they shouldn't come. That's nothing like treating people fairly, which IMO we do (look at how many Muslims are visible at all levels of British society - Ireland hasn't had enough immigrants for long enough for that to be the case yet but we've had an Indian Taoiseach and a Chinese mayor of Dublin so I don't think we have a lot to prove in that respect.)

However things like having small girls in veils is incompatible with our society. Or it bloody should be. And complaints about there being ham in other children's sandwiches in schools is just taking the P. I've worked with Jews and I never heard of any of them complaining about there being pork at the work canteen. They just didn't eat it that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,370 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,261 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

terrible attack in Australia

Huge amount of media attention

Someone said to me it is striking the difference in how the media covers when Jews are attacked compared to when Palestinian Muslims are attacked.

45 million Muslims in Europe - virtually zero Islamist terrorist attacks anywhere in Europe in the 2020s. What point are you trying to make about the Muslim population?