Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭somenergy

Nah he's a grand lad have him around for dinner and a sing song after

He would be the main course though

Post edited by somenergy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭ruwithme

I hear he's getting the " noble peace prize " .

The Jews lobbied for him to take her home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭bog master

https://us.cnn.com/2025/10/07/politics/johnson-adelita-grijalva-swearing-in

Great little democracy they have there. Looks more and more there is massive fear of the "Epstein Files".

Hollywood take note, could be a great series, contact David Duchovny & Gillian Anderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭Field east

Yes, you are right. It must be the Noble Peace Prize because the closing date for the NOBEL Peace Prize nominations was months ago !!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,366 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Whatever happened to the idea that states should make their own decisions? Shouldn't that power be vested in the states themselves, rather than in Washington, D.C.? Wasn't that the line regarding abortion?

But now Trump and Miller are telling everyone that ' actual state wishes are not important at all and POTUS has plenary power to do whatever he wishes.

As with everything else on the right, its the hypocrisy that is the most galling.

And on a side note, the complete embarrassment of Miller 'pretending' to freeze during the interview when he realised that he said the quiet part out loud. He just stood there and pretended that the world didn't exist. These are the guys in charge of running the greatest county in the world, and he literally froze live on air.

Imagine him in a real crisis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,368 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

Poor old Steve, he had a technical difficulty with his voice last night after he said Trump had "plenary authority" over the U.S military. He wasn't able to communicate further with the person interviewing him after that point. Struck dumb is the best to describe the effect of his words on those listening, including himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,361 ✭✭✭✭looksee

https://www.trumpactiontracker.info/?

This site may be of interest, its concentrated Trump actions, divided into different aspects of threat to American Democracy. Discussed by a UK academic in the UK and presumably less subject to interference than US based information. Sorry, you will have to c/p into browser as it didn't open properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭randd1

How very Republican.

I'm convinced the only reason the Republicans want to re-ban homosexuality is so when it's illegal they can feel even dirtier when they're with their gay lovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

https://www.irishtimes.com/world/us/2025/10/08/youre-a-failed-lawyer-key-takeaways-from-pam-bondis-combative-senate-hearing/

"Kennedy asked Bondi about those claims, and whether anyone at the FBI or the justice department had interviewed Lutnick.No-one had, she said. Pressed further by Kennedy, Bondi said that if Lutnick “wants to speak to the FBI,” and if Kash Patel, the bureau’s director, wants him interviewed, that would “absolutely” happen."

Nothing fazes Bondi anymore, she has an answer in stock for everything and switches quickly to attack mode.

Gotta think Trump/Miller will push her too hard/far, then attack her personally leading to her resigning or being sacked, become a very dangerous enemy - a scorned woman.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,123 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Senate GOP changed the rules and confirmed 107 Trump nominees. Previously they would have to have given time for debate on each one. Among those confirmed is the new head of the NOOA. The person confirmed for that was involved in the "Sharpiegate" scandal in Trumps first term, where Trump mistakenly claimed that Hurricane Dorian was headed to Alabama. The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) later issued an unusual statement siding with Trump’s claim — contradicting its own Birmingham office. The reference to "sharpies" comes from Trump then holding up a map, with the path of the hurricane redrawn to include Alabama.

A subsequent Inspector General report (2020) found that NOAA leadership acted “inappropriately” under pressure from the White House.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,568 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

But they're not confirming Adelita Grijalva in the House, because she'd have the deciding 218th signature to force the release of the Epstein files…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭MICKEYG

Fully agree with your post except for the "greatest" word.

I go to the US a lot and I like it there. The people I meet and interact with are all wonderful and friendly. But other than their military I can't see how anyone can say they are the greatest. I am not sure they lead the world on any other metric but I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭MICKEYG

Yep, should be shown again and again. No country is the greatest in the world. Some excel in certain areas and can be examples for others on best practice.

Saying your are the best instills arrogance and laziness and suspicion of others

Jasmine Crockett is taking the Trump/Miller combo head on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,423 ✭✭✭✭elperello

It's here and thanks for pointing it out.

Just scroll down in this link.

Essential viewing.

Stephen Miller has said Donald Trump has plenary authority but what does that actually mean? - ABC News https://share.google/PwhLvowGCLYPYH53f

Yep he clearly said it and has not publicly retracted, Miller ain't known for retracts or apologies.

technically, as you probably know, plenary means complete, full, absolute…

so that the angle the psychopath is going for, Trump has absolute authority.

Democrats got themselves into this, how will they get out of it.

How will the Military react to orders given with no congress approval, or whatever band of yoyos they work off.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

The US consists of multiple separate legal jurisdictions, one of which geographically overlaps most of the others. The state cannot affect Federal activity within Federal jurisdiction within the State's borders, and the Feds cannot directly force the State to conduct federal requirements (though coercion is legal. eg "Enforce this minimum drinking age or lose federal dollars"). It is this principle which allows 'sanctuary cities/states' to operate.

If the State chooses to allow the federal government assistance in State and local matters, that's the State's choice (eg Tennessee), if the State chooses to object to it, then the federal government is limited purely to federal functions (eg Illinois, California). Within those federal functions, however, the State has no say.

So, for example, California has long had a policy of selectively supporting DEA: If there is a drug operation which California objects to and wants federal assistance, it will reach out to the Feds and conduct a joint operation. However, California cannot object to the DEA enforcing federal law within California even if California doesn't want that random marijuana dispensary raided. Generally speaking, DEA has left those smaller places alone by policy (bigger fish to fry with the manpower), but it is not a legal prohibition.

The difference between this and the abortion example is that the abortion example compelled the states to undertake a particular course of conduct. The Federal Government moving Title 10 troops around does not affect States, the State can continue to act as it wishes within its own jurisdiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,366 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Thank you for that detailed, and no doubt very accurate and nuanced, response Manic. I appreciate it.

And while I fully accept the position that you have outlined, and given me more information, I would say that I really doubt that many of the 2nd Amd advocates, those that walk around in combat fatigues and openly carry AR-15 into coffee shops, as well as those that claim that school shootings are a regrettabe, but inevitable and acceptable, cost of having the abiilty to stand up to the federal government are that deeply ingrained into the details of the law.

The fact is, they run around crying that they need the guns to protect themselves against the possibility of a tyrannical governmen,t and when confronted with that exact issue, they have not had a single word to say, or tried organising a march in solidarity with the state governors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

it’s only tyrannical when they don’t agree. The reality is they just like guns and hide behind tyranny as it suits their fetish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,204 ✭✭✭eire4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,448 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

In other words, everything conservatives say is disposable.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,735 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

My personal opinions of such persons aside (I have never followed "the tyrannical government" hypothesis as the basis for 2A, though I do see it as a beneficial side-effect), what are they supposed to protest? The state/federal distinction is long-standing, the fine details are working their way through the court system (Despite conflicting outcomes at the District level), and the courts are being obeyed. Governor Pritzker has no more authority to object to the federal government sending troops to protect federal facilities than the Taoiseach has to tell #10 not to move troops from Aldershot to Glasgow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭scuba8

The problem with that is they are not just protecting federal buildings. They can’t just attack peaceful protesters. They are trying to incite violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,361 ✭✭✭✭looksee

@Brief_Lives

Democrats got themselves into this, how will they get out of it.

Got themselves into what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,631 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

1000080111.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭scuba8

We could do this all day. I can assure you that you would run out of material long before I would.

IMG_0326.jpeg