Thought last week would be feeding silage because of lack of grass growth, pit opened too buffer to keep dm intakes up
fecking winter day here. was hoping to cut silage at weekend but that promised weather has disappeared now .
Problem with these extremes is that it forgets to stop when it starts.
Pulled the plug on it Wednesday evening. Myself and the young lad were looking at the forecast,there was a 48-60ish window with the threat of showers Friday afternoon. Got it cut at 6pm, Thurs was a great day on it, there was a spit of rain Friday lunch time and we got it rowed at 3pm and started baling about 6.30pm. Cut a strong grazing field,as well. It was baled by a Kverneland baler 1t was good and dry, nearly 180 bales off 26/27 acres. Slurry went out today its was raining as it was spread. Will go with 60 units of N in 7-10 days time
WTF
how long was it growing ?
It was grazed during March probably earliest closing was 10th March latest 1-2 April. It all got slurry at that stage. Because it was so dry part of it did not get urea until 10-12 April. Strong paddock was about 18 bakes off 5 acres.
kept buffering here …won’t be stopping either …keeps cows very content no matter the weather and cows have bombed it
Are you using maize?
Set grass seed this morning. Spattery/misty kind of day. Set dry and started to roll, but even though loads of dust flying, it just got a little bit sticky and pulled the pin. Rained heavier in the afternoon and looks like it could be Thursday before we can get back in that field....Is that too late for rolling?
yes and splash of meal 😜….. crows are abstracts. Tho but pulling net down over face of pit….throw salt across it as well tobsrayvfresh
No not if you need to roll in stones if it's to firm the seed bed there will be no need as the rain will do your job for you
Random one for the type fans here.
If you were given a straw of Goldwyn for free would you use him today?
Context: I was driving across Wales yesterday and a sign for Goldwyn Farms Popped up. Then I though how beef breeders are paying big money for old straws today and then remembered how Goldwyn straws were €500 a pop back in the day
yes please. do you want my eircode
https://www.stgen.com/sire-directory/dairy-bull-usa.aspx?code=200HO03205&language=english&title=braedale-goldwyn
Is that him, what was the attraction with him
yes. breed great stock with good power and longevity. Axn and Pirolo wyman were bulls by him.
He has great "dairy form" and really long teats. Feck all milk though. 🤣
https://www.thebullvine.com/sire-spotlight/braedale-goldwyn-greatest-type-sire-ever/
You'd be hard pushed to find a american holstein bull that hasn't got goldwyn our shottle in their back pedigree, usually they where used together, one of the current stock bulls here is a Doorman son and goldwyn is in his back pedigree
Last years rds winner was a doorman daughter
I see dairygold appointed a farm succession manager. All Co-ops should be on this with multiple positions.
There are people in my area that are after renting a couple of herds that the farmer's sons have no interest in. Fair play to them but going forward Co-ops will need to be employing these people directly, as the next 10 years are a cliff edge
Your not going to achieve a generational mind-set change this late in the day...
The dye is cast bigger outfits with sons/daughters looking to farm will swallow up suitable farms like your above examples and the rest will slowly slip of into the night and exit dairying when health old age beats them...
Seems that if you have the work for a group of forigen labourers they stay around are alot easier managed regards accommodation and retention, then as a single package
How's yer milk holding up? I forced my cows to clean out a stemmy paddock and they dropped to 25 litres. Going into better grass tomorrow so I expect them to improve. I have 23% heifers which doesn't help. The cold put a hunger on them too.
holding very steady here …dropping alright but steady slow drop which you’d expect …I started calving 12 janurary and am 9ver 7 weeks into breeding ….still onn7 kg meal …still buffering …try and keep things steady ….ive had to do bit of topping over last 2 weeks but better option than forcing cows to eat stressed stem…plus side I’m now in savage covers of grass ….my butterfat has fell away a bit tho last 2 weeks back to 3.70/3.80s but protein holding well 3.53/3.59
Topping is better alright. Not a nice job for me though. Another year or two and the lads might do it. Must reseed that field in the autumn anyway. It's always annoying me.
Last cow calved here today. Had 170ish calved for the 1st week of March. The last couple dozen have taken almost 3 months to calve. Never again to have a cow calving in May on this farm. Not keeping any friesian heifer replacements calves this year that were born any later than March 3rd… strangely enough went the entire calving season and didn’t get 1 set of twins, had a lot of people reporting the same thing with no twins
cows pushing on here no drop in yield yet- still have about 10 to calve- so that will be an extra 900 litres every second day
Was buffer feeding every second day but have changed to every day due to rain- working really well just extra work- feeding 9kg meal on average with straw and brewers also in the diet- have 39% heifers milking and yield is just under 34 litres with autumn calvers included- dropped below 4% protein last collection but will avarage 3.6 protein for may(lowest by far this year) grass really destroys solid percentages
ordered some bruijito straws today
serious question. What do you do with all the money you’re bringing in ?
They're hardly eating mich grass on top of all the in parlour and buffer feeding.
I'd say you're not doing too bad yourself this year! And in a low price year you're probably doing better than Stan
we do okay. Always a project here for money
ought a new car
id we’ll believe it too. What about concrete around the yard or farm infrastructure?