If you see a job that needs doing..
If someone told me they were going on a fag run in Lanzorote.…
I would assume it had nothing to do with cigarettes.....
How old are you?
The wrist band thing has a qr code this is scanned before and after bloods are taken. They check the wrist band before medication each time. Last time we were in casualty I was given out to for bringing meds in so I didn't bring them this time. They told me I should have brought them this time.
Michael Gaine investigation upgraded to homicide
Do they still make Hamlets, our postman when I was a child chain smoked them. I suppose smoking in a work vehicle is against the rules nowadays too.
yes strictly against company policy to smoke ina company vehicle. Nit sure if it’s the law or not.
I got an uber home from the hospital recently and the driver had been smoking, it was lashing rain and couldn't open a window, was disgusting
For the times that’s in it we watched the 2019 movie “the two popes”, Anthony Hopkins plays a blinder in it. Not what I’d usually watch but was good all the same.
Imagine if it was a sex change operation. 😎
Conclave is well worth a watch too, Ralph Fiennes is fantastic in it.
I've a problem with one of my hips from birth, the ball and socket joint where the femur articulates in the pelvis isn't properly formed and is wearing faster than normal. I've always had a bit of a limp and pain on and off but it's never stopped me doing anything so far. A hip replacement is the most likely outcome and if it started to become more of an issue then I could see about getting one.
I get called to a consultant periodically to see how I'm getting on and whether I want to pursue surgery ect. A quick examination and a chat about how I'm doing and if it's impacting my life, they outline possible courses of action ect. As part of the exam the doctor measures both legs to see how the wear and tear on the bad hip is in comparison to the other side. I'm lying flat on my back on the table looking up at the lights and he's taking the measurements. After a second I hear him muttering to himself that this no good and how can I work with this it's useless. I'm now a bit worried as I'm thinking as to what's wrong with me, how haven't I noticed and where do we go from here. I chance a look down towards my feet and see that the tape measure he's trying to use is about 6 inches too short. I was greatly relieved.
Add angels and demons to the list to. That’s a good one
Can't do right for doing wrong sometimes. We have to deal with a lot of people in the health field with our daughter. I'm not going to say I'm rude, but I'm pretty blunt at times when met with conflicting attitudes and opinions like your example. I'm not going to carry that for them. I do wonder at times, particularly in hospital, whether the insane working hours some of them have to contend with isn't half that problem.
Is there a thread for this case on boards?
If not - why not?
It is such bizzare case....it appears that alot of locals know what happened?
I see Sheep Shepard mentioned Michael Gaine on their video 2 days ago (28/3/25).
Seen FAS lads spraying this morning, the disposable Covid mask has many uses.
It's being talked about here
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058257098/unsolved-irish-mysteries#latest
Nice win there for louth against meath in the u20 Leinster football final
Iwas a very bad asthmatic in my 30s and 40s and my brother in law insisted on smoking in my presence. I used to just walk away from him when he started. Himself and his father would light up after a meal out somewhere and I'd happily head for the bar. 😁😁😁😁
However he's paying the price for all the smoking now , I've never seen anyone as sick in old age without having cancer or something. He's always on steroids and antibiotics and getting his face smashed in falls. His picture could be used effectively on an antismoking ad
On the antibiotics and steroids myself here. For about 10 days I was under the weather but functioning. Sleep was shocking though each night. Usually I'd soldier on and over time get myself sorted and fight off whatever was at me. But this one improved, then didn't and I was getting worse and not better. Seeing as I've no GP and none anywhere near me are taking on patients, I headed to the walk in doctors in Mullingar. The doctor there shone a torch at me from 5 feet and told me I'd a red throat, had a temperature but never checked and said I was wheezing (didn't think I was but I'll take her word). Gave me a prescription and sent me on my way. 2 mins I was in with her. Seemed like a cod but I guess if the pills work, all good. Though I absolutely hate taking any sort of medication if some time will sort things.
Take anything you get. I had a viral infection. It's the sickest I've been without being sent into hospital. Saw a doctor who I had difficulty getting solpadeine out of, needed something for the pain at night as I'd slept 1.5 hours in three nights. Had to go to another doctor a week later who gave me steroids and an inhaler. Have had to work all through it as I'm lambing. Because of that I'm at about 20% of where I should be with energy and ability. Had to put a scope on a rifle, a 15 minute job sitting at a desk, had to change my tshirt afterwards as the sweat was gone through it. Into my 5th week of this sh1t now and don't feel like I'm improving at all energy wise.
I thought that the new building in Kilbeggan would mean a bigger capacity for patients, but that's not the case .OH tells me that they have taken on no new doctors, There's 5000 patients on their list and they're all getting older and needing more care. There seems to be very few new practises and difficult to even get staff for the present practises
@wrangler They also have a rather large list of immigrants or asylum seekers that they have to take on. This leaves little or no capacity to take on other patients.
It's always the immigrants….
The bigger issue is training & retention of Irish doctors/nurses etc. but nobody wants to grab that nettle.
Just look at the people smoking outside the gates of any hospital, very few of them are a picture of health
Are you still in denial... you increase the population by 100s of 000s, give them medical cards, then expect the same system to cope.. wake up will you
I’m not in final about anything. But simply blaming all our problems on immigrants at every turn is not going to lead to anything close to the truth
Have ye been in casualty/hospital/ doctors recently. Only for the foreign medical staff we'd be fecked.
Give me our own any day, private in a public hospital.
There was a significant generation reared with everyone smoking; when doctors/priests/teachers were normalising it when they were seen as the pinnacle of educated, then it got normalised at home etc.
It's so addictive, neither tax nor pictures of black lungs will stop it.