This is weak.
I can be sure that I have much more than you that can go into this scam but will go into my green recycle bin as they did before this scam.
Some this things don't make sense when we have green bins already.
Re-Chit-Ching.
I saw part of a discussion on it on RTÉ yesterday (The Today Show). Neither of the two panellists in the studio had engaged with the 'scheme' so far, over a year into it, and one of them, journalist Liz Dunphy, once ran for the Green Party in the Local Elections! You'd think she'd at least make the effort.
Pretty poor that that wasn't followed up on as to why…
They were getting deliveries?
They couldn't be bothered claiming the deposit?
They make an effort to avoid using plastic bottles and cans?
It’s possible that they don’t use cans or plastic bottles. Personally, I haven’t used any bottles or cans since the scheme started. However, our household has, so I have used the machines.
One of them said that he had been keeping them, meaning to bring them to the machines to get his deposits back but eventually got fed up and just put them in the domestic recycling.
The ex-Green Party candidate said that she doesn't use plastics that much, but of what she has used, just never got around to returning.
Daithí Ó Sé, being the mean cute Kerryman that he is, went mad at them, asking how they could throw away their money. 😂
Well we saw Foley tripping over himself saying the wrong things on Newstalk when asked a few half decent questions. Back to RTE now for the sweetheart interviews.
I don't think it's possible to completely cut cans or plastic bottles out of most peoples lives but I've certainly reduced my use of them. For example I now largely buy bottled instead of canned beer
TRust Pat to make something that other European countries have no problem with...I to a problem
Get you cans and bottles pay your levy and return them when empty
What could be more straightforward???
Greed. Pure and simple.
And what do you do if you get online deliveries?
And what do you do if you've limited mobility and the machine isn't accessible from a wheelchair?
Why can't you get a refund into your bank account instead of having to go into a shop? As is done in other European countries.
Why did Ireland give a much larger exemption to shops - compared to other European countries - so they don't have to take returns?
Yep. Trust Ireland to create a scheme with obvious predictable flaws despite having the example of other European countries to follow.
Or maybe those are deliberate to ensure Re-turn gets a huge amount of unclaimed deposits / put all the hassle onto the consumer and cave in to vested interests.
The problems are largely down to stores not emptying the machines when they're full. That's not some kind of master plan from Re-Turn to make additional money.
Regarding the infirm and elderly, this is a new scheme to Ireland. There will be teething problems and some of these should have been though out in advance. But this scheme works in other countries, so instead of saying that it's some kind of scam that should be abandoned, how about we push for better options instead?
Many people assume ReScam was brought in half heartedly, due to a direction from Brussels. Not fully thought out, poorly implemented, "ah twill be grand" kind of attitude.
I think it was expertly orchestrated. Designed and implemented perfectly to benefit the board and executives. They are a not for profit so the 54 million will be reinvested in the scheme/scam. No one has asked what happens to the interest. With current interest rates, on a deposit of 54 million, that gives interest of 1.4 million. Where does that go?
Presumably the profit and the interest goes to the clever people. The one with the initiative and gumption to get up and do things, rather than spending their time whining and moaning on various social media outlets. More power to them, whoever they are.
The "teething problems" were built in and it's not like there's no precedent to follow in other countries.
Had Re-Turn wished, they absolutely could have made things easier for the punter to reclaim their money without having to go through a ridiculous rigmarole.
More than likely, it's this.
I'd say that they just don't bother because what's a few cent to them, or a couple of euro even?
This was, no doubt, factored into the business case that Re-Turn modelled for themselves. But I'd say they never figured on banking 50 odd million in one year.
Agreed. There's nothing accidental about all of this. Anyone with even half a functioning brain could have foreseen the obvious issues regarding the implementation of this nonsense.
And as long as some Irish people continue to make excuses on behalf of Re-Turn and blame all and sundry except the company responsible for this farce, Re-Turn will continue to fleece them.
They may have overshot the mark and gone full gombeen. Never go full gombeen… might start attracting too much attention.
You are referring to the people who came up with and run this scheme.
whining and moaning on various social media outlets. More power to them, whoever they are.
Says a person whining on social media.
If the figures aren't reliable, why exactly have this scheme?
For example I now largely buy bottled instead of canned beer
Bottled beer is exponentially worse for the environment.
Pretty much sums up this scam.
I'm helping! Well you're not.
I hope the bad effect on the environment has not been exponential. Bottled beer has been around for a long time.
No one suggested it hasn't.
But the OP claims they have moved from canned beer to bottled beer which is worse for the environment.
This is about the environment isn't it?
Isn't it?
What is the exponential growth of the bad effect? If it doubles every decade, that would be a disaster.
The OP has completely replaced cans with glass bottles.
You can't really get more rapid or exponential.
The bit I read does not say that. It is too vague to quantify.
"I don't think it's possible to completely cut cans or plastic bottles out of most peoples lives but I've certainly reduced my use of them. For example I now largely buy bottled instead of canned beer".
Bit to go so.
So largely less environmental.
But at least people can pretend they are helping and that is all that matters.
Good for them.
At present, Ireland could not abandon any of PET, aluminium or glass in the drinks supply chain. The best outcome is for people to use bottle banks and the return machines. Some bottle banks have bins for aluminium cans.
This was brought in under a Single Use Plastic Directive.
Aluminium cans were only added to line the pockets of the interests involved. Which in turn added more costs to the consumer.
So the best outcome at the very least would be to remove aluminium from the scam, the worst outcome is for the consume to replace the aluminium with a product with a far higher carbon footprint.
The knock on effect of that is people then may reduce their dependency on plastic, again though this would depend on the producer actually having to do something.
But in this era Feelings > Facts.
So good for everyone who has got the fuzzies because they believe they are helping.