Replacing previous thread which has continuing page count issues.
Previous Thread
Previous Original Thread:
Threabanned posters:
brickstser69
slay55
mulbot
Internet is forever. Man, that won't age well...
No surprise if Trump asks for Russia to mediate in talks between the US and Iran to try and sort that out and calm the middle east down.
Ukraine is also on the ropes, and closer to being knocked out, in particular if US funding is removed.
So Trump has of course been played by Putin.No denying Putin's smarts and Trump's lack of same
So sorry for Ukraine, parts of their country is likely to be genocided now unless European help arrives which due to populist governments it won't
Xi of course will take this as a green light for Taiwan but a least with all their tech fabs the US billionaires may have something to say about that to the Orange dementior.
I can see Ukraine fighting as long as it can still, but many many lives lost for nothing. Quite depressing.
And so it all comes down to this....
Ukraine thrown under the bus...they will have to suck it up and forget about Crimea and all the territory they have lost in the previous 3 years...
Trump will be hailed as a peacemaker and Putin will be seen as a hero in Russia....
Not if the EU gets serious with aid. Trump can't tell Ukraine to accept the unacceptable i.e. surrender.
Don't think the US ever wanted to calm down the middle east, very much the opposite.
Actually along with donkeys I won't be surprised if Russia actually starts pulling 19th century steamrollers out of museums for the three day war.
He can remove US funding. That won't be pretty.
Said it years ago on here but the Russian defeats in the Kharkiv region and around Kherson were the turning point in this war. That was the point when Putin realised that there was a real chance that Russia could be defeated and he was forced into drastic action.
It was then that he vastly ramped up mobilization, put Russia into a war economy, ratcheted up internal war production, constructed a vast multi-echeloned defence network, got substantial military assistance from Iran and North Korean. On the other hand, everything on the West/Ukrainian side was delayed and insufficient. Western armoured vehicles and tanks, ammunition, jets, air defences, etc. Zelensky himself got a few things wrong as well, he delayed mobilization when it was clearly needed well over a year before it was finally authorised. The construction of defensive belts within Ukraine was insufficient and delayed.
Ultimately it all boils down to both the West and Ukraine (to a minor extent) not taking the Russian threat seriously enough.
Mark Rutte said a couple of weeks ago that Russia are producing 3 times more military production than entire NATO combined. EU alone would probably make it 15 times more and nothing will change for years.
It won't but if the EU steps in it might not be fatal.
And if not then what does that show? That they are more than willing to see a neighbour steam rolled, along with having North Korean troops mobilised next door. Not a good look.
Western weapons are better numbers count but only so much. Of course the EU needs to step up now and go on a war footing. Otherwise it is just kicking the can down the road.
Throw in Alaska for good measure.
My starting offer to Putin would be to let him have Crimea, and assurances that Ukraine would not join NATO for the next 20 years, and he can have Kursk territory back.
In order to keep Zelensky happy, the west would assist in helping them build defensive fortifications and a network of anti missile systems to protect against a future invasion.
In all likelihood, they Ukraine would have to also cede Eastern territory to get the deal done.
Have been hearing this for 3 years now, and yet, Russia hasn’t made that much progress compared to what they predicted. What was it? A complete takeover in weeks?
So, basically let Russia have what territories it barely controls.
I can imagine the citizens of Kherson being ecstatic.
If I was part of the group that liberated Kherson, I’d think what was the point even bothering.
End the war, no problem. But what does Ukraine get out of it? They seem to be the biggest losers here.
It has positive implications for Ireland's security because with the kick up the hole from the Americans (which has been coming since long before the end of the Cold War) European countries are now under the cosh and the patience from them while they beef up their militaries urgently towards countries like Ireland leaving gaping holes in European defence and pretending they can stay aloof is just not going to be there anymore.
We'll have to pull our weight with everyone else.
The problem with letting Putin keep anything from the 2022 invasion is that he will take it as a green flag for later incursions in the Baltics. It's inevitable.
Ultimately though it's constantly overlooked that when the USSR invaded Afghanistan the forces of Ukraine and Russia were equal in those ranks. Ukraine has a military pedigree that is evolving while Russia is reduced to Lada's and donkeys.
Ukraine gets the war ending, men, women and children not dying. They get to begin rebuilding their country.
That's why it's important to fortify defenses in the basics and increase military budgets.
This is pretty tiresome. Ukraine was attacking donbas. Massive ceasefire violations
Russia decided to intervene not just for that but a variety of reasons including Ukraine siding with its greatest enemies.
What do you think would happen if we said we were going to side with the Russians and started attacking Northern Ireland?
That's what happened. Then the Russians didn't get their way when NATO interfered with the Istanbul agreement and they decided to go full on war against Ukraine backed by NATO.
The logical thing for the West to do would be to say lads, clam the **** down. Instead we said, Ukraine here's loads of weapons.
We've completely different opinions. I consider both Russia and Ukraine as two fuckin eejits with Ukraine the stupider of the two. You don't get involved, you separate, mediate which is what Sabine Higgins suggested early.
I'm from Dublin, the family tree goes back to 1500 and I'm regularly called a Russian because my opinion is different. It's ridiculous.
Looks like good news, Trump talking with Putin.
Diplomacy at last. And from Trump? Just shows what a bunch of crazed zealots the democrats are.
But what does Ukraine get out of it? They seem to be the biggest losers here.
That's what comes from having no leverage with The Don…
@engineerws "Ukraine was attacking donbas. Massive ceasefire violations"
That was the Russians with their false flags. An old trick. Even Hitler did it to start WW2.
This has to be satire, surely?
Trump will just cave like he does in every negotiation, Putin will play him like a fiddle.
Zelensky not mentioning victory today but winning 'peace'
Any peace deal without handing over war criminals would be stomach churning.
I know plenty Americans who can’t stand Trump. Imagine seeing Putin being treated as a VIP in the White House, just sickening
A couple of the maddest takes I have yet read are on this page.
Trump has disgraced the USA today, he is siding with a dictator/war criminal who has conducted an unjust war.
It is a seminal moment for Europe. It must reinforce Ukraine, any other option will be a long term disaster.
Of course Ireland needs to get real about defence, but we are showing no signs of it.