New thread for the League of Ireland.
Previous one is currently behind itself but may return another day. Old thread:
We gave them a game! In fairness, I'd expect most Rovers fans to admit that they had to work for the points.
I think that tonight has blown the slim chance that we had of catching Bohs so I'd expect Kev not to risk any players next weekend.
It's in your hands and that's all that you can ask for. If you look back in this thread, I said, weeks ago, that I still expect Shels to win the league.
I still do.
I would like to see you stay up for sure. It’s the closest trip for me barring Shels and Bohs. I would have liked it a little bit more if you’d done us a favour against Rovers earlier, mind.
I absolutely agree and I certainly don't expect Kevin Doherty to underestimate any team.
You can't legislate for a red card though!
I remember going into the playoff in the Covid year, thinking we'd be far too good for First Division opposition. First half red card later and we were on our way down and Longford celebrating promotion. Drogheda certainly a better team than any of those 4, but anything can happen on the day etc.
It is, of course, possible.
But, on the basis of results in the cup and the second half of the season, I would hope that we stay up.
Hope Drogs stay up, have a soft spot for them
Unfortunately you may still get that derby. Although I would fancy Drogs in any playoff.
I know you can question the quality of this league but it's great entertainment
Would you prefer if it was us (Drogheda), Bohs, Waterford etc?
If we lose the play-off, I can't see too many people feeling sorry for us.
It's football.
That said, I like to see the two Louth clubs in the PD. You can't have a rivalry without a rival.
The reins of the club were handed over to a shower of chancers in the last number of years and charlatans who took from the club after promising to invest in it and we'll be lucky to survive. I personally cannot see us surviving. It seems that people can take over without having to prove that they actually can afford to run it. The FAI are not entirely blameless either. They should have insisted on seeing proof that those taking over can actually afford to.
Just back from Tolka , that was a well deserved 3 points from Shels. Thought we looked very nervy probably until the penalty and we came out of our shell.
I felt we’d been playing better since end of Pats game and rovers game and as we grew into game it started to show. Boyd is a hero, whatever is going on he just keeps going, took his goals well.
Kearns save was absolutely massive at 2-1, really was as good as a goal. Would of been harsh has shels not won that but it was nice to finish a game with a 2 goal lead.
Enjoying standing in the riverside since it opened. Also I’d convinced a friend to buy final 3 match home tickets for him and his son and they are loving it; so hopefully shels have two more fans for good.
On a side note , did anybody see what I presume was a high quality drone just to the side above the ground ? Was there from the start when I was going in all the way to the end. Surely not the guards as Waterford fans were never gonna be any trouble ? Wouldn’t be tv station maybe ?
1 down, 2 to go… Come on Shels..
I don't think the Premier "needs" any club. Louth is represented by drogheda. And to replace Dundalk we have a Cork team, which is arguably better for the league, considering the spread of teams now.
I'm looking forward to renewing the rivalry with Foras tbh, always decent
Ah somebody had to, and there’s no UCD this year that nobody really cares much about.
On a separate note, sad night to see Dundalk go down. A tragedy considering where the club once was.
Hopefully they will be still afloat to compete next season, and a speedy return as the Premier Division needs them.
Who would have thought I’d be spending my Saturday night hoping Bohs can assure their safety
We have been comfortably the worst team outside of Dundalk and at times rivalling them tbh in the last 3 months tbh so it's just expected at this stage.
Yeah I'd agree with that, I never felt we'd lose in the second half but it was difficult for us to find an opening against them, they were content to sit back and do nothing at all.
Burt's goal was magic all the same. Proper release of tension.
We were the better team overall, but it didn’t necessarily feel like the goal was coming when it came
Agree on Keena, he'd a very good game. Didn't turn up the last time we played ye but he looked a different player tonight.
In fairness to Doyle i thought he had a good game too. Let the game flow and the foul on Keohane late on was the only thing he missed all night.
FOr a while there I was getting excited.
Then it all went to pieces.
Massive game next week. Need 3pts or league is gone.
Fair review. I thought once Galway scored the equaliser which was an excellent strike, we got a shock and kicked on and were in control for most of the rest of the match until the very last few minutes when Galway threw everything at us. First half was very tight and a quality pass by Forrester which set up Keena for our first was the only difference between the two sides. Forrester and Keena were excellent tonight, both involved in the goals and Keena was excellent as the lone front man. Our defence was really good for the most part also. Galway weren't bad it has to be said and Hickey is a very difficult player to stop as he's both good in the air and skilful with the ball.
Other results didn't go our way for the title shot but it's still crucial to guarantee European football as much as possible. Huge match next week against Derry particularly as Mulraney and Elbouzedi both went off injured.
We deserved that win, Waterford offered nothing in the second half really.
2pts clear with 2 games left is a nice position, especially with 2 in the pack playing next week and us playing a hopefully disinterested Drogs, who we haven't beaten all season.
Really good game in United Park.
Rovers, as you would expect, were the better team but we gave them a really good game and it took a worldy to win it.
Looking at the teams, I think only DJT from our squad would make their bench but we matched them for effort throughout.
Catching Bohs is gone now and that might suit Shels next week as we're missing players and I wouldn't be risking more with the cup final and play-off to come.
Really enjoyable game in Inchicore, even on the losing side. We played well, pushed Pats all the way but just lacked quality at the vital times. Forrester was superb, made the two goals but we shouldn't have given him so much space. Pats played some lovely football, even when taking risks from the back.
Our goal was a screamer too, worth a watch.
Pats lost Elbouzedi first half and Mulraney second half so that might come back to hurt them yet. Leavy did very well replacing Elbouzedi.
Pats Derry draw next week please
As you were.
Derry Shels could be a title decider on the last day yet!
If you're talking about the handball claim then shtopppp. There was a foul on Keohane in the following attack not given but that's one of those things.
Ref keeping Pats in the hunt here….
How has the ref allowed those last two corners be taken like that. Ball about half a meter away from the area.
Cracker for Shams too