Please use this thread to continue discussing the war in Ukraine.
All mod instructions from the previous thread remain in force here
Original thread:
StormShadow doesn't have the range for strike like that. Neither does Atacms.
Just like they were going to get F16s by the end of 2023? This was announced months ago. Hopefully the training of pilots has begun but it could be late 2025 or even 2026 before we see any fruits of it.
I also wondered that.
If the depot is so heavily reinforced, can drones really cause that kind of damage ?
I see Vlad has casually put the date back 2 weeks already.
"The Kremlin aimed for a 5-to-1 troop ratio for its counteroffensive in the Kursk region, but this goal might not be met yet. Currently, around 37,000 Russian troops are in the area. The objective is to expel Ukrainian troops from the Kursk region by October 15 and establish a buffer zone along the border with Russia by October 30."
https://www.rbc.ua/rus/news/mirniy-plan-i-kinets-viyni-chi-shtovhae-zahid-1726693009.html
A more obvious strategy would be to wait for the onset of autumn/early winter ,the dirt tracks become muddy and logistics become more difficult for the Ukr troops and then continue to attrit from there knowing your opponent is at a disadvantage, drones, reduced cover, bad weather etc. , in military term being in a salient has certain implications
A side/semi-related point but a recurring thought for me is that the Irish mind us living on an Island where everywhere is within a days cycle ride must find it difficult to appreciate the vast distances involved or the vagaries in geography
Ukraine have Sudzha but Russia have many similar sized towns nearby to resupply From. However most of them require pontoon bridges to resupply. It will be hard for anyone to attack through the mud and winter season. But maybe if Russian soldiers are sent on one way tickets we just 2 or 3 days worth of supplies it will suit Russia.
Another hit on Russian troops training in the open and update on likely losses (dead and injured) now on both sides (Ukraine maybe 200k, Russia 700k+). War is brutal, one mistake and you're gone:
some of us have been known to make it to the mainland 🙂.
Bugger off with your Mainland 🤔😁,
actually which mainland? Europe ?
( I used to enjoy winding my co-workers up when I lived over ,- we're all English - ahem , you know I mean British - ahem , UK ? Ahem ahem , well the queen.. ahem ahem ..
often someone would throw mainland into the conversation..
Phone exploding in Moscow now, this week just keeps on getting better
Does that mean it's likely that there are pilots in training in France?
I can't imagine too many non Ukrainian pilots volunteering for combat missions at the front line , - out gunned and likely out-radared , hopefully those Swedish mini-awacs will arrive and make a big difference soon, but even then there's only 2 of them , and not really any extra-long range Air to Air missiles to keep the su35s at bay
Phone?
Spectacular!!
Anyone know if any from Ireland abstained/voted against ?
Yes, the Europe mainland. Not Blighty-mainland 🙂
EU announces 160 million euros in frozen Russian assets to be given to Ukraine, and Germany pledges additional 400 million euros in military aid. Not bad at a time when Germany's coalition is getting hammered in regional elections in part over its support for Ukraine by pro Russian loons in the East of the country
The results will be here later.
https://www.europarl.europa.eu/plenary/en/votes.html?tab=votes
Although the Mick and Claire show is no more thankfully, I'd assume that Ming the Bong abstained because NATO is the root of all evil.
Haven't thought of these yokes in months.
Herself still refers to herself as an MEP. (not updated, but you know… you'd think you'd get the finger out).
https://claredaly.ie/
Oh, ditto the bould Mick
https://mickwallace.net/
Maybe "donations" still incoming from those not so up to date.
Link to the claim Germany is sending 400m?
Only 400 million mentioned today is from interest on Russian 300bn seized assets which Germany refuses to give to Ukraine
edit; found it now, fair play to them looks like they are digging into their pockets for 397 million
Tho if they stop blocking transfer of Russian assets this war would end faster AND be a massive boost to German economy
Here you go, this seems to be a separate pledge:
Yes it's a good move and pleasant surprise.
Europe needs to double down. We've too much invested in Ukrainians winning this that letting it fall to Putin.
Early Satellite photos of the results of the blast. Devastating is am understatement for Russia
This could win the medal for strike of the year award.
T'is barely a scratch, the next shipment from North Korea will more than replenish it and they will be back to winning in no time.
Say North Korea are absolutely delighted.
Kim: ooohhhh noooooo. All those weapons were destroyed, before you could use them??? Here I can sell you more!
More funds for Kim's cheese collection!
Imagine if they were playing both sides; selling weapons and ammo to russia but attaching a GPS tracker to all containers and selling the info to Ukraine
Id actually laugh at the ingenuity of that if it were actually true! Lol
True enough, didn’t realise how far from the border Tver was (approx. 800km. way, way, beyond Storm Shadow or ATACMs range)
So, what was it? If it really was one of those new jet powered drones, what an introduction 👏👏👏
One ?
Story is upwards of one hundred !!
Theres an uptick in Ukrainian drone attacks for sure while seems most Russian drone waves gets stopped, and missile waves are farther apart, this is where “Russia is big” is a problem for Russia
They have been in France since circa January…. part of it under the guise of pre-jet training for the F-16 program. But, a lot of aviation enthusiasts noticed training facilities used in Mirage/Rafale training ramping up over the last while (bigger than just basic training ops before jet type rating)…. that along with the deployment of Mirages to the Ukrainian/Belarus/Russian boarder patrols (they would usually send Rafale's)… painted the picture Mirages would be sent a some point.
If training has been following similar to the line of F-16 training, end of 2024 sounds about right for an accelerated program.